Summer Reading B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores

Customer Comments

Amanda Rott has commented on (5) products.

Jackaby by William Ritter
Jackaby

Amanda Rott, October 22, 2014

What can possibly be better than Sherlock Holmes with a supernatural flair? Jackaby is a very unique mixture of faery story, mystery and adventure with instantly lovable characters and a good dose of humor on the side. This is the best book I have read so far this year. I am very much looking forward to seeing what Willian Ritter will come up with next after this amazing debut. Jackaby is now definitely one of my favorite characters!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No



Under the Eagle: A Tale of Military Adventure and Reckless Heroism with the Roman Legions by Simon Scarrow
Under the Eagle: A Tale of Military Adventure and Reckless Heroism with the Roman Legions

Amanda Rott, October 24, 2012

A classic military adventure novel in the tradition of C.S Forester and Bernard Corwnwell with likable heroes, exciting plot, political intrigue, and a dash of wit. Simon Scarrow balances historical fiction and easy reading adventure well in stories that you will find hard to put down once you have begun them. It is my deepest hope that Macro and Cato will march for many many years to come!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No



Bloodline by Katy Moran
Bloodline

Amanda Rott, October 19, 2012

I enjoyed this book a lot! I liked the setting, of course, I can't pass up much having to do with ancient Britain, I loved the characters, and the overall story was well crafted and believable. I did a faith buy on this book (because I couldn't get it from the library) under recommendation from a friend and I'm glad I did because I ended up liking it even more than I thought I would. The first couple chapters are a little slower but it's necessary to get to know Essa and the other characters and after that the book picks up into a really great, suspenseful story.

Essa, of course, is a great protagonist. You feel for his position and his abandonment by his father, Cai. Now Cai is a rather interesting character because you can dislike him for how he treats Essa, but you can also understand his reasons behind it and since he isn't completely terrible you can maybe forgive him a little bit. It also probably stands to reason that I loved Wulf and the brotherly relationship that forms between him and Essa because I just love that kind of thing, and Wulf also had a great sense of humor. I also liked the girl characters too. Lark, I knew I would like right off, and Anwen, I was afraid at first that she would be annoying, but she surprised me and turned out to be a really awesome character as well.

The writing style was good, it fit the time period well, and the author clearly did her research as she stated in the author's note. I also liked how it was third person from Essa's point of view. It was the kind of book that you couldn't really be in anyone else's head. It could have been first person, but I think it was fine the way it was.

Conclusion: 5 stars. I found as I read the last half of this book that I really enjoyed it immensely. I think it was just a mixture of the characters and story, but I loved it. The ending surprised me a bit, but after a few minutes I decided I kind of liked it, even though it was abrupt. I'm excited to get to the sequel to see if it is just as good. I'd safely say that fans of Rosemary Sutcliff would enjoy this book.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No



The Eagle by Rosemary Sutcliff
The Eagle

Amanda Rott, August 22, 2012

This is just the kind of book I love to read. Of course, you know that when you pick up a Rosemary Sutcliff book it will be no less than amazing. Not only was the story-line and history intriguing, but Marcus and Esca as main characters are so wonderful. I can never resist what I term "Brother's in Arms" stories, whether they actually be about blood brothers, or just two lads who seem like brothers to each other. And the fact that Marcus is out to regain the honor of his father's regiment only completes the circle for me and makes this into my favorite kind of book to read or write. Nothing to complain about here, five stars rightly earned. Rosemary Sutcliff is the best British writer of the modern era. My hat off to her.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No



The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater
The Scorpio Races

Amanda Rott, August 4, 2012

I thought this book was probably the best YA novel that came out in the last year. Maggie Stiefvater is an amazing author and she does so well with the Irish legends, making them into stories that fit the modern times. I just simply loved the characters and the whole setting of this book. It was something different that had not been done before and I am always eager to see fresh books enter the writing community, especially in the YA genre. Five stars!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No



spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.