The Fictioning Horror Sale

Find Books

Read the City

Win Free Books!

Original Essays | September 4, 2014

Edward E. Baptist: IMG The Two Bodies of The Half Has Never Been Told: Slavery and the Making of American Capitalism

My new book, The Half Has Never Been Told: Slavery and the Making of American Capitalism, is the story of two bodies. The first body was the new... Continue »
  1. $24.50 Sale Hardcover add to wish list


Customer Comments

Cherry has commented on (1) product.

First Lord's Fury: Codex Alera #06 by Jim Butcher
First Lord's Fury: Codex Alera #06

Cherry, January 3, 2010

I like the way this book answers some mysteries in the previous books. Like the way it explained the Alerans are actually not native to Alera but migrants from somewhere else. And adopted to Alera's environment, including the use of "furies".

This book also revealed the identity of the mystery man in Book 1 who witnessed the Marat pre-war orgy before the Second Calderon. I had to stop for a minute there to recall that mystery man and that I did wonder who it was but promptly forgot all about it after.

It seems that the name "Marok" is a favourite alpha canine word for authors. Jim used it in this book to name the head of the Canim spiritualist. Patricia Briggs used the name Marok as the title for her head of werewolf in the Mercy Thompson series. Or am I just reading too many fantasy books?

By the way, can anyone tell me what is the difference between an earthcrafter and a Knight's Terra? Because they awfully sound the same to me but for some reason each word is applied as if there is a difference. The difference of these terms seems to be similar to the difference between an earthcrafter and a watercrafter...

I also like the way this book bring the stories of all six books in the Codex Alera series together to a close. In the book, is mentioned bits and pieces from all six books and nicely blended them together. It also answered a question I had when I reviewed The Furies of Calderon (Book 1 of the Codex Alera) which is: Why is this series called Codex Alera? As I understood it, it is because the six books is suppose to be a chronicling of Gaius Octavian's rise to power. The Codex Alera. What do you think?

The only major complaint I have about this book is that this is the final book of the Codex Alera series. That means there won't be anymore! But, I want more! *sigh*
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

  • back to top
Follow us on...

Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at