25 Books to Read Before You Die
 
 

Find Books


Read the City


Win Free Books!


PowellsBooks.news


Original Essays | August 20, 2014

Julie Schumacher: IMG Dear Professor Fitger



Saint Paul, August 2014 Dear Professor Fitger, I've been asked to say a few words about you for Powells.com. Having dreamed you up with a ball-point... Continue »
  1. $16.07 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Dear Committee Members

    Julie Schumacher 9780385538138

spacer

Customer Comments

Love_J has commented on (5) products.

Bumped by Megan Mccafferty
Bumped

Love_J, April 4, 2012

When I first stumbled upon this book I honestly didn't know what to think. I pegged Bumped for some weird story that seemed so out there that I thought "What the heck." After finishing the book I think McCafferty did a wonderful job on keeping her readers hooked and allowing us to develop a connection with both Harmony and Melody. Bumped is more than just some 16 And Pregnant MTV show turned into a novel it gives whole new meaning to the word "preggo." Harmony, adopted by a family in Goodside, a religious town that doesn't wear dressed above the ankle, wears gloves, and a veil to protect their modesty. This is a town where the moment Harmony began her "blooming" she was to be betrothed to a boy of the councils choosing, until she asked too many questions. At 16 she discovers that she has an identical twin sister named Melody who was raised by her adoptive parents who have been preparing her for a platinum surrogate contract to "bump" but, she's not so sure that's what she wants anymore. I really enjoyed Bumped and I can't wait to read the next installment: Bumped and Thumped.

The only downside the lingo was so intense half the time I couldn't figure out what they were talking about and I found myself rereading conversations just to understand.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No



Bumped by Megan Mccafferty
Bumped

Love_J, April 4, 2012

When I first stumbled upon this book I honestly didn't know what to think. I pegged Bumped for some weird story that seemed so out there that I thought "What the heck." After finishing the book I think McCafferty did a wonderful job on keeping her readers hooked and allowing us to develop a connection with both Harmony and Melody. Bumped is more than just some 16 And Pregnant MTV show turned into a novel it gives whole new meaning to the word "preggo." Harmony, adopted by a family in Goodside, a religious town that doesn't wear dressed above the ankle, wears gloves, and a veil to protect their modesty. This is a town where the moment Harmony began her "blooming" she was to be betrothed to a boy of the councils choosing, until she asked too many questions. At 16 she discovers that she has an identical twin sister named Melody who was raised by her adoptive parents who have been preparing her for a platinum surrogate contract to "bump" but, she's not so sure that's what she wants anymore. I really enjoyed Bumped and I can't wait to read the next installment: Bumped and Thumped.

The only downside the lingo was so intense half the time I couldn't figure out what they were talking about and I found myself rereading conversations just to understand.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No



Bumped by Megan Mccafferty
Bumped

Love_J, April 4, 2012

When I first stumbled upon this book I honestly didn't know what to think. I pegged Bumped for some weird story that seemed so out there that I thought "What the heck." After finishing the book I think McCafferty did a wonderful job on keeping her readers hooked and allowing us to develop a connection with both Harmony and Melody. Bumped is more than just some 16 And Pregnant MTV show turned into a novel it gives whole new meaning to the word "preggo." Harmony, adopted by a family in Goodside, a religious town that doesn't wear dressed above the ankle, wears gloves, and a veil to protect their modesty. This is a town where the moment Harmony began her "blooming" she was to be betrothed to a boy of the councils choosing, until she asked too many questions. At 16 she discovers that she has an identical twin sister named Melody who was raised by her adoptive parents who have been preparing her for a platinum surrogate contract to "bump" but, she's not so sure that's what she wants anymore. I really enjoyed Bumped and I can't wait to read the next installment: Bumped and Thumped.

The only downside the lingo was so intense half the time I couldn't figure out what they were talking about and I found myself rereading conversations just to understand.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No



Delirium (Delirium) by Lauren Oliver
Delirium (Delirium)

Love_J, April 3, 2012

There are not enough adjectives to describe how incredibly swept away I was with Delirium. It was amazing, fantastic, beautiful, intense, all consuming, and more. I can't hardly believe it has taken me this long to read it! I've seen it in bookstores and never once picked it up to check the summary, which I am ashamed to admit. Delirium was absolutely everything I hoped it would be and more. I was immediately sucked into the story line and couldn't put it down. Lena was easy to relate to and Alex became my favorite from the moment Lena spotted him.

Lena, the main character, living in a time when "love" has no place in society. She longs for the cure that will save her from the same fate her mother suffered, the deliria. Lena just wants to be happy, and on her eighteenth birthday when she receives the cure that is exactly what she thinks she will be: happy. It isn't until Alex comes along that she truly understands the world she lives in isn't the safe place she once thought it was.

If you liked The Hunger Games, Uglies, or Matched then you will love this!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No



Crossed (Matched #2) by Ally Condie
Crossed (Matched #2)

Love_J, January 6, 2012

The Matched series has quickly become one of my favorites from the moment I spotted Matched on a bookshelf in San Francisco begging me to pick it up! It was EPIC, and left me anxiously waiting for what Condie would spin out in the sequel (Crossed) and it was just as incredible as the first. Crossed did not disappoint. For fans of The Hunger Games or Dystopian books I highly encourage you to pick up Ally Condie's Matched series.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(0 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)



spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.