Warriors B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores

Customer Comments

Robert G McFarland has commented on (1) product.

The Kindly Ones by Jonathan Littell
The Kindly Ones

Robert G McFarland, January 1, 2010

Mostly dismissed as insignificant by American reviewers (I haven't seen it on any year-end Best Of lists), this translation of the French recipient of the Prix Goncourt kept me mesmerized from beginning to end. Controversial, disturbing, revelatory, provocative: Everything great literature should be. The brutality and senselessness of slaughter during wartime is graphically represented. The amorality of the protagonist is reinforced by his blinding adherence to an ideological and racial purity. A novel that truly reveals the horror of World War Two. I believe this novel is destined to be a classic in the vein of Tolstoy's War and Peace.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)



spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.