Signed Edition Sweepstakes
 
 

Find Books


Read the City


Win Free Books!


PowellsBooks.news


Original Essays | September 17, 2014

Merritt Tierce: IMG Has My Husband Read It?



My first novel, Love Me Back, was published on September 16. Writing the book took seven years, and along the way three chapters were published in... Continue »

spacer

Customer Comments

Yonathan has commented on (22) products.

The Adventures of Robin Hood (Classic Starts) by Howard Pyle and Lucy Corvino
The Adventures of Robin Hood (Classic Starts)

Yonathan, June 6, 2009

This book is a must have for any parent. My kids love the way the story just flows. They give it the best compliment, "It is better than the cartoon." This is with out a doubt the best version I have ever read.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(15 of 25 readers found this comment helpful)



The Ascent of George Washington: The Hidden Political Genius of an American Icon by John Ferling
The Ascent of George Washington: The Hidden Political Genius of an American Icon

Yonathan, June 5, 2009

Even through the prism of modern skepticism, George Washington typically escapes unscathed as an American diety, and certainly no politician. John Ferling is not out to destroy this icon's name, but he does take great pains to humanize the man. Focusing on G.W.'s political game, especially with his 20/20 vision to seek out scapegoats, Ferling follows the first U.S. president from his youth as a hot-headed, glory-thirsting soldier through his somewhat "seat of the pants" run as a revolutionary general on to his calculated role as elder statesman and president. While Ferling does air out a little dirty laundry, this book manages to paint G.W. as an all-too-human figure who attained legendary status through a mixture of propulsive willpower and a bit of blind luck. The book makes for pretty riveting reading all the way through the American Revolution, while the presidential years is a touch slower going (although still stocked with great factoids). There are certainly enough unique angles here to appeal to the history buff.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(12 of 22 readers found this comment helpful)



The Chief Executives the Chief Executives by Isadore Barmash
The Chief Executives the Chief Executives

Yonathan, May 4, 2009

I have been a fan of Kevin O'Brien's books since "The Actors" and "Only Son" where he has provided non-stop suspense and entertainment.

With "Final Breath" Mr. O'Brien should no longer be considered a good author but now an excellent author. While I enjoyed all his other novels, this is his best work to date. He has written a thriller that will keep your interest throughout while trying to guess who and what's next. Much like his other books, you won't want to put it down until is's finished. It's a keeper
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(13 of 25 readers found this comment helpful)



Kitchen Mysteries: Revealing the Science of Cooking by Hervé This
Kitchen Mysteries: Revealing the Science of Cooking

Yonathan, May 1, 2009

This is not about making cookies or cooking a thanksgiving turkey in time. This book is about the chemical subtleties that make a good dish a great dish. The chemistry is fairly easy while the cooking is a lot harder here.
It isn't about healthy foods (even if there are some good healthy cooking hints) and it isn't about quick cooking (even if there are some interesting suggestions about how, for example, render the microwaved food better tasting).
The two biggest shortcomings in my opinion are a truly lame index and too much quoting from the old masters. Even if I prefer Italian cooking, I can forgive his French cooking slant.
I consider the shortcomings negligible, and thus I stick to 5 stars.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(12 of 23 readers found this comment helpful)



Halting State by Charles Stross
Halting State

Yonathan, April 29, 2009

I encountered to this book in the course of an hour-long hunt through cross-references ("people who bought this book also bought..."), best-seller lists, etc. looking for something new and good in the vein of William Gibson, Neal Stephenson, etc. - a work by an author who really gets how the present works and the near future is likely to work, and can be truly, literarily creative with it. I ordered it expecting something decent, and found that I had received a real gem. Not only is the tech background super-solid (it helps if you're a sysadmin, but if not, no worries), but the writing is great - the dialog and internal monologues are as sardonic and humorous as, say, Elmore Leonard, Carl Hiaason, or John Sandford. Finally, dear God, it's set in Scotland and reads like Ian Rankin tartan noir. What's not to like?
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(15 of 28 readers found this comment helpful)



1-5 of 22next
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.