Nonficionado Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores

Customer Comments

brianar76 has commented on (1) product.

The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valente and Ana Juan
The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making

brianar76, January 2, 2012

A fabulous fantasy, strongly rooted in the tradition of Baum's Oz books, Barrie's Peter Pan, and Lewis's Narnia, this book deserves a place on the shelves next to them and those more recent fantasies like Wrede's Enchanted Forest Chronicles.

A great, likable heroine who doesn't succumb to the silliness that some other fantasy heroes do, September knows these tropes and avoids them -- when she gets trapped in fairyland, it is because she is stuck, not because she behaves stupidly. Like in many such books, she is joined by new friends with parallel quests; they help her, but caring about others is also a liability when the Marquess of Fairyland is so ruthless.

This book is elevated by the cleverness of the language and the twist at the end. Loose ends are tied up in ways that leave the reader with a great sense of satisfaction, but the book also doesn't shy away from the bittersweet truths that are at the heart of the best fantasies.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No



spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.