The Good, the Bad, and the Hungry Sale
 
 

Find Books


Read the City


Win Free Books!


PowellsBooks.news


The Powell's Playlist | June 18, 2014

Daniel H. Wilson: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Daniel H. Wilson



Like many writers, I'm constantly haunting coffee shops with a laptop out and my headphones on. I listen to a lot of music while I write, and songs... Continue »

spacer

Customer Comments

moiraethefatesbookreview has commented on (170) products.

Ask Me by Kimberly Pauley
Ask Me

moiraethefatesbookreview, April 8, 2014


Hardcover: 304 pages
Publisher: Soho Teen (April 8, 2014)
ISBN-10: 1616953837
Author: Kimberly Pauley
Cover art: I love it!
Obtained: Via the publisher in exchange for an honest review for the tour.
Overall rating: **** out of 5 stars


Ask Me by Kimberly Pauley
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews

Ask Aria Morse anything, and she must answer with the truth. Yet she rarely understands the cryptic words she‘s compelled to utter. Blessed�"or cursed�"with the power of an Oracle who cannot decipher her own predictions, she does her best to avoid anyone and everyone.

But Aria can no longer hide when Jade, one of the few girls at school who ever showed her any kindness, disappears. Any time Aria overhears a question about Jade, she inadvertently reveals something new, a clue or hint as to why Jade vanished. But like stray pieces from different puzzles, her words never present a clear picture.

Then there’s Alex, damaged and dangerous, but the first person other than Jade to stand up for her. And Will, who offers a bond that seems impossible for a girl who’s always been alone. Both were involved with Jade. Aria may be the only one who can find out what happened, but the closer she gets to solving the crime, the more she becomes a target. Not everyone wants the truth to come out.(Synopsis provided by goodreads.)

When I was first asked to be apart of this tour, I had no idea what the book was about. After reading the synopsis I knew I had to be apart of the tour and that I would love the book.
I was right.

This was the first book I have read by Pauley and I really enjoyed it! Aria had me hooked from page one.

It's no secret that I love Greek Mythology. The fact that Aria is an Oracle is just awesome to me. I have never heard of or read another book with an Oracle. The way Aria is forced to answer any question she hears even if it is not directed at her is super cool.

The murder mystery aspect of it was a nice touch. Like most readers, I figured out who the murderer was pretty quickly. However, for me, it didn't take away from my enjoyment of the book. Which is saying a lot. I think what I like the most about Aria's gift as it is called is how she answers. The answers come out in a very cryptic fashion not a black and white fashion.

One other part of the book that I liked was how at the top of each chapter there was a line from a song, which I kinda took as Aria listening to and I would listen to it as well. After all Aria constantly has her music playing so she doesn't hear all the questions around her thus saving her from answering and being a target for comments and mockery.

The one thing that I wasn't a huge fan of with this book was the love triangle. It had it's reasons for being in the story of course but, I wish it would have been a little different.
Even with that, I loved Aria, she wasn't a Mary-Sue but she also wasn't a character who always whines about everything is weak. She wasn't and I loved that.

If you like Greek mythology, I highly recommend this book!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No



Royally Lost by Angie Stanton

moiraethefatesbookreview, March 25, 2014

Paperback: 336 pages
Publisher: HarperTeen (May 6, 2014)
Language: English
Author: Angie Stanton
Cover art: Love it! However, the girl's legs are darker then her hand and that looked weird to me.
Overall rating: ***** out of 5 stars
Obtained: Sent to me from HarperTeen in exchange for an honest review.


Royally Lost by Angie Stanton
Reviewed by Moirae the Fates book reviews.

Dragged on a family trip to Europe’s ancient cities, Becca wants nothing more than to go home. Trapped with her emotionally distant father, over-eager stepmother, and a brother who only wants to hook up with European hotties, Becca is miserable. That is until she meets Nikolai, a guy as mysterious as he is handsome. And she unknowingly finds herself with a runaway prince.

Nikolai has everything a guy could ask for-he's crown prince, heir to the throne, and girls adore him. But the one thing he doesn't have...is freedom. Staging a coup, he flees his kingdom and goes undercover on his own European tour.

When Nikolai and Becca meet, it’s their differences that draw them together. Sparks fly as they share a whirlwind of adventures, all the while dodging his royal guard. But Becca's family vacation ends in a matter of days. Will Nikolai and Becca be forced to say goodbye forever, will his destiny catch up to him, or will they change history forever? (Synopsis provided by goodreads)

I loved this book. I had so much fun reading it. I felt like I was on the streets of Europe with Becca and Nikolai. I loved the humor that Stanton provided in this novel. Nikolai is funny and the type of guy that I would love to tour Europe with.

I really liked how we get to see Becca grow and the different dynamics in her relationship with her stepmother. I know Becca doesn't want the reader to like her stepmother, but I couldn't help but like her. I felt sorry for her at times and I could really sympathize with her.

Becca's brother was one that I liked at times and other times he really bugged me. But in the end I think that actually added to his character.

Becca was far from a Mary-sue. She has her faults but nothing that makes me dislike her.

One thing we didn't get in the book that I wished we had was more information on Nikolai's sister. She was a lot of fun and I would love to see more of her. It would be cool if we got another book and could see more of her, or even a spin off book with her as the main character.

The descriptions of the cities they visit are very rich and they make you feel as if you are there. I could feel the warm breeze and smell the food.

This book is perfect for summer and would be a lot of fun on the beach or at the river. May 6th you should go out and pick up your copy!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No



The Almost Truth by Eileen Cook
The Almost Truth

moiraethefatesbookreview, February 16, 2014

* Hardcover: 256 pages
* Publisher: Simon Pulse (December 4, 2012)
* ISBN-10: 1442440198
* Author: Eileen Cook
* Cover art: Super cute!
* Overall rating: **** out of 5 stars
* Obtained: My personal bookshelf



The Almost Truth by Eileen Cook

Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews



Teen con artist Sadie might be over her head. To escape her backwards small town, delusional mom, jailbird dad, and the tiny trailer where she was raised, she also must leave Brendan. Sadie wants a better life, and she has been working steadily toward it, one con at a time, until her mother wipes out her savings.

Brendan helps devise ultimate con. But the more lies Sadie spins, the more she starts falling for her own hoax, and perhaps for the wrong boy. Sadie wanted to change her life, but she wasn't prepared to have it flipped upside down by her own deception. With her future at stake and her heart on the line, she suddenly has more than just money to lose. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)



This synopsis is different then one I remember originally reading before the book was published. I am glad they changed it though. It makes it a tad less predictable. (Until you start to read it that is.)


I found this title to be predictable, however, Cook made some slight plot twists that I didn't see coming to get to the final conclusion. I had the conclusion right, I just was wrong on a few details.


Even though it was predictable it didn't make it any less enjoyable. It was a fun read, rather quick. One that could easily be read on a lazy afternoon. Or even on the beach, I think this would be a great beach read or summer read!


I really liked Sadie's character, she wasn't the weak heroin that we see so much of in a lot of YA, she didn't need a man to save her and she wasn't falling for the bad boy. Her mother really bothered me though. Very thoughtless in a lot of ways. She was also very good at lying to herself, Sadie brings this point up multiple times in the book and she's right.


We don't see much of her Dad and to be honest, he comes across as a sympathetic "bad guy" but he's not really a bad guy even though we are meant to feel that way. He reminds me of Draco Malfoy in that way. You are meant to see him as the bad guy, but he really isn't. It's the circumstances he often finds himself him that make him appear as if he is the bad guy.


The dialog was good and it got right to the point. Cook didn't use a lot of filler which was great, she knew her story and she got right to it and told us the story quickly and clearly.

I really enjoyed this one.




Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No



The Lightning Thief: Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book One by Rick Riordan
The Lightning Thief: Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book One

moiraethefatesbookreview, February 8, 2014

* Paperback: 416 pages
* Publisher: Disney-Hyperion; 1 edition (March 21, 2006)
* ISBN-10: 0786838655
* Author: Rick Riordan
* Cover art: Love it!
* Overall rating: **** out of 5 stars
* Obtained: My personal bookshelf.



The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews



QUICK REVIEW



Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school... again. And that's the least of his troubles. Lately, mythological monsters and the gods of Mount Olympus seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy's Greek mythology textbook and into his life. And worse, he's angered a few of them. Zeus' master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect.

Now Percy and his friends have just ten days to find and return Zeus' stolen property and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. But to succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)


This was a re-read. I really liked this, I forgot how good of a story it was. In someways the movie is close to the book, but for the most part it's very different. You can enjoy each as their own separate thing.


I really like how Riordan weaves his stories. Yes, the book has elements of Greek Mythology, but it's not Greek Mythology. I love the idea of camp half-blood! I also loved the interaction between Percy, Grover and Annabeth. The dialog was great and the character development was fantastic.


If you have a hard time reading books and find yourself feeling bored this is the series for you, it moves very fast and there is always more action around the corner.

It's such a fun and fast read, people of all ages can really enjoy it.


I really liked the descriptions of the camp and each of the cabins. In short, if you love Greek Myths and want a fun fast paced read, then pick up Percy Jackson today!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(3 of 5 readers found this comment helpful)



Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy by Ally Carter
Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy

moiraethefatesbookreview, January 24, 2014

* Paperback: 256 pages
* Publisher: Disney-Hyperion; Reprint edition (December 23, 2008)
* ISBN-10: 1423100069
* Author: Ally Carter
* Cover art: Super fun.
* Overall rating: **** out of 5 stars.
* Obtained: My local library.



Cross my heart and hope to spy by Ally Carter

Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews


Cammie Morgan is back, and it's clear that her life hasn't calmed down since the events of I'd Tell You I Love You, But Then I'd Have to Kill You. At first, giddy anticipation is in the air. Gallagher Academy, Cammie's elite spy school, is hosting a visit from a covert training center for boys. Soon after the boys' arrival, though, everything goes dangerously awry when a series of security breaches are discovered at the academy. Worse yet, teenage agent-in-training Cammie is being blamed for the penetration. With the school's top-secret status at risk, the Gallagher Girls have to work quickly to save their beloved school. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)


Just like the first book, this one was action-packed and also was full of laughs. This isn't a series I read in public due to the hilarity, I would end up disrupting those around me by bursting into laughter all the time.


We meet some new characters in this one. Zach is from Blackthorn the spy school for boys. I loved how unsettling he can be. I really felt bad for Cammie when she first meets him, without spoiling anything it was a lot of fun.


Liz, Bex and Macey are back with Cam in the same fun way that they were in the first book. (As well as the 3rd.) Cam's mom drove me nuts though. I really wanted her to answer some of Cam's questions. There is one big question I really want to know the answer to, but I have a feeling it will not be answered until the last book.


The characters were developed a lot more in this one then they were in the first one. The dialog was just as good though, I have no idea how Carter can come up with all the jokes she does, she must laugh all the time while writing her books. I love being able to pick up the GG books knowing that I'm in for a fun and funny read.


These books are good for all ages, from 10 year olds up. I'm in my late 20's and this is one of my favorite series. If you have not met Cammie and the gang yet, you should pick up a copy and met them today you will be glad you did!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No



1-5 of 170next
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.