Summer Reading B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores

Customer Comments

stoutout has commented on (7) products.

Speak You Also: A Survivor's Reckoning by Paul Steinberg
Speak You Also: A Survivor's Reckoning

stoutout, January 3, 2007

Instead of the graphic litany of atrocities that characterizes much Holocaust literature, Paul Steinberg?s exquisitely written memoir of survival at Auschwitz focuses on the lingering effects of having survived?the fifty-plus years of sleeplessness, strained relationships and brutal self-recriminations that haunted him until his death in 1999. An unapologetic rejoinder to fellow prisoner Primo Levi?who later recast Steinberg as ?Henri,? the ultimate survivor, in If This Is a Man?Speak You Also dares ask the question: Is it so wrong to survive? The answers tormented Steinberg all his life, and yet there is peace amid the turbulence of this astonishing little book. ?A delivery,? Steinberg writes, ?no matter how long overdue, is still a deliverance.?
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(7 of 11 readers found this comment helpful)



The Zero by Jess Walter
The Zero

stoutout, September 22, 2006

What Catch-22 did for Joseph Heller, and Slaughterhouse-Five did for Kurt Vonnegut, I suspect The Zero will do for Jess Walter. In an act of post-9/11 literary hubris (?The Zero? refers to Ground Zero in New York City), Walter has written a novel of darkly comic genius that is?gasp!?plot-driven, suspenseful, heavy on the dialogue (for which Walter has a remarkable ear), and above all, funny. Sadness, astonishment, absurdity and an exhilirating gallows humor easily coexist in The Zero, all of it rendered in prose that, at times, will take your breath away.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(16 of 25 readers found this comment helpful)



The Russian Debutante's Handbook by Gary Shteyngart
The Russian Debutante's Handbook

stoutout, September 15, 2006

Fans of Michael Chabon, Jonathan Lethem and Jeffrey Eugenides?not to mention Philip Roth and Saul Bellow?will find much to admire in Gary Shteyngart?s hyperactive debut novel. Simply put, Shteyngart is a natural, with a rambunctious prose style that alone is worth the price of admission. Add to that a hilarious story and one of the most appealing protagonists to come along in years?Vladimir Girshkin, ?part P.T. Barnum, part V.I. Lenin, the man who would conquer half of Europe (albeit the wrong half)??and the result is one exhilirating read. Sentence for sentence, Shteyngart is one of the best prose stylists working today.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(30 of 50 readers found this comment helpful)



Disappointment Artist : Essays (05 Edition) by Jonathan Lethem
Disappointment Artist : Essays (05 Edition)

stoutout, September 15, 2006

We all have a friend like Jonathan Lethem?the charmingly obsessive pop culture aficionado who?s forever compiling, ordering and re-ordering personal top ten lists of favorite books, films and recordings (think Rob Fleming from Nick Hornby?s High Fidelity, only smarter and even more obsessive). From comic books and the novels of Philip K. Dick to Star Wars and Stanley Kubrick?s 2001 (both of which he saw 21 times in their original theatrical release), Lethem chronicles the ways in which his youthful obsessions continue even now to define him. The result is both hilarious and deeply moving.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(8 of 21 readers found this comment helpful)



Last Night by James Salter
Last Night

stoutout, September 15, 2006

Every once in a while a book comes along that changes everything about the way I read and appreciate short fiction. Last Night is one of those books?a stunning collection of stories by a writer whose supple, understated prose is among the finest I know. These are masterful stories about men and women, memory and loss; but above all they are stories about desire?how unfulfilled longing defines and dismantles us. Believe me, open to the first story and read. I?m confident you?ll be unable to forget it.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(4 of 9 readers found this comment helpful)



1-5 of 7next
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.