We Need Diverse Ya Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores

Customer Comments

zac has commented on (9) products.

The Interestings by Meg Wolitzer
The Interestings

zac, April 30, 2013

I just finished the galley of this book and if I could give it 100 stars, I would. I tell people it reminds me a little of The Corrections meets The Amazing Adventures of Cavalier and Clay but, truthfully, it's better than both. The story begins with six friends who meet at a summer camp for the arts in the mid-seventies and follows them throughout most of their lives. It touches on pretty much every important issue of the decades it covers-from drugs and the folk revolution to the AIDS crisis to 9/11 to the political landscapes of our times....all without feeling contrived or info-dumping. You care about these characters, and you're frustrated by them, and you pity them and root for them. It's seriously an astonishing book. Worth everyone of the many minutes it'll take you to read it. (Because, yes, it's long. And I was happy that it was!)
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No



The Interestings by Meg Wolitzer
The Interestings

zac, April 30, 2013

I just finished the galley of this book and if I could give it 100 stars, I would. I tell people it reminds me a little of The Corrections meets The Amazing Adventures of Cavalier and Clay but, truthfully, it's better than both. The story begins with six friends who meet at a summer camp for the arts in the mid-seventies and follows them throughout most of their lives. It touches on pretty much every important issue of the decades it covers-from drugs and the folk revolution to the AIDS crisis to 9/11 to the political landscapes of our times....all without feeling contrived or info-dumping. You care about these characters, and you're frustrated by them, and you pity them and root for them. It's seriously an astonishing book. Worth everyone of the many minutes it'll take you to read it. (Because, yes, it's long. And I was happy that it was!)
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No



Dandelion Hunter: Foraging the Urban Wilderness by Rebecca Lerner
Dandelion Hunter: Foraging the Urban Wilderness

zac, April 30, 2013

I got hooked right away with the endearing cast of characters. The stories are entertaining, but also impart lots of info and food for thought. Although Dandelion Hunter is non-fiction, it is good story telling while also sharing lots of interesting ponderable points. I wasn't really sure what to expect, but it was a great, fast read. Lately I havent been able to stay focused with a book but this one was a very easy read.
It has shades of "A Walk in the Woods" by Bryson- meets Silent Spring or Onmivores Dilemma. .
I just finished it and I think it gave me quite a bit to think about.

It was a very good read, thoroughly entertaining with substance.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)



Deep Down by Deborah Coates
Deep Down

zac, April 30, 2013

This is a series that you don’t want to miss and Urban Fantasy that will have you on the edge of you seat until the very last word. Fans of Patricia Briggs’ Mercy Thompson series and Kim Harrisons’ The Hollows series will want to get their hands on this second installment Deep Down by Deborah Coates.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No



previous6-9 of 9
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.