Poetry Madness

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores

Edgar Award

Page 3 of 3 (1955-1964)

The Edgar Award, in honor of Edgar Allan Poe, is given by The Mystery Writers of America to the best in mystery fiction and nonfiction produced the previous year. Listed below are the winners for Best Novel in the fiction category. The first Edgar was awarded in 1954.

  1. 1964

    The Light of Day
    New Trade Paper $14.00
  2. 1961

    The Progress of a Crime New Mass Market $13.50
  3. 1955

    The Long Goodbye
    Used Trade Paper $7.50

«prev 1 3

  • back to top


Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.