Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | August 8, 2014

Peter Mendelsund: IMG The Powell's Playlist: Water Music by Peter Mendelsund



We "see" when we read, and we "see" when we listen. There are many ways in which music can create the cross-sensory experience of this seeing...... Continue »
  1. $11.87 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

This title in other editions

Big Sur and the Canyon

by

Big Sur and the Canyon Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Big Sur and the Canyon, set on California's Central Coast, is a thrilling, at times humorous tale of perhaps the most magnificent terrain in America's national forests. High adventure mix with poetic and vivid descriptions of life in the backcountry-the interior of the Ventana Wilderness. Forest fires, camping, backpacking, near death experiences, along with the spiritual intensity of what Livingstone calls his 'cathedral of the forest' dot these pages in the midst of the great freedom hikers and horsemen know in the wild and beautiful interior: redwood canyons, streams and waterfalls, to the high open dry country along the Coast Ridge a mile above the vast blue Pacific. Steinbeck referred to these mountains as 'Eden', and as the 'dark and mysterious Santa Lucias', in his great novel, East of Eden. In this book with its many descriptions, the Ventana is the Garden of Eden. An arduous and sometimes dangerous teacher, but truly free.

What they say about Best Selling Author Harrison Edward Livingstone's novels and non-fiction:

'A triumph!'-The New York Times about David Johnson Passed Through Here, under the pen name of John Fairfield.

About The Wild Rose: 'A foursquare sea novel in the tradition of Herman Melville'-Prof. William Alfred, Harvard University.

'Very good writing'-Publisher's Weekly

'Monumental Investigation!'-The Guardian

Product Details

ISBN:
9780595815548
Publisher:
iUniverse, Inc.
Subject:
Nature-General
Author:
Livingstone, Harrison
Subject:
Nature-Mountains
Subject:
Sports & Recreation-Hiking
Subject:
Nature : Mountains
Subject:
Nature : General
Subject:
Sports & Recreation : Hiking
Subject:
Nature : Ecosystems & Habitats - Mountains
Publication Date:
October 2005
Binding:
eBooks
Language:
English

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Contemporary Thrillers
Science and Mathematics » Environmental Studies » General
Science and Mathematics » Nature Studies » Biology
Sports and Outdoors » Outdoors » Camping and Hiking » General

Big Sur and the Canyon
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details pages iUniverse, Inc. - English 9780595815548 Reviews:
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.