Dreadfully Ever After Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 18, 2014

Lin Enger: IMG Knowing vs. Knowing



On a hot July evening years ago, my Toyota Tercel overheated on a flat stretch of highway north of Cedar Rapids, Iowa. A steam geyser shot up from... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$27.00
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
25 Remote Warehouse Literature- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

Bending Heaven: Stories

by

Bending Heaven: Stories Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Set in the United States and London, this debut collection introduces us to a cast of characters, some anguished in their pursuit of impractical dreams, others struggling to make sense of their failures. A mathematician who has forsaken everything in order to prove a theory; an older woman author achieving fame late in life; a guilt-ridden mother struggling to impress her teenage daughter; an unhappy lawyer attempting to survive a corporate retreat with dignity — all are ambitious and passionate, but to their dismay find themselves at odds with the pattern of their lives. Attempting to make a new beginning or heal a hurt, they are thwarted by embarrassing impulsiveness or a sudden lack of faith.

Review:

"Kane's style is direct yet nuanced, and all her characters feel authentic; this is an impressive debut." Publishers Weekly

Review:

"This exquisite collection of stories examines ordinary people trying to explain their failures to themselves or others....Kane's writing style is extremely realistic and down to earth." Library Journal

Review:

"Characters...give voice to the ceaseless yearnings that — so Kane's volume suggests — preoccupy us almost from the cradle to...grave." Kirkus Reviews

Review:

"Kane's debut collection is achingly, pitch-perfectly sad, detailing painful adult awkwardness and the lost respect of beloved children." U.S. News & World Report

Review:

"Kane write(s) in the tradition of Alice Munro or Russell Banks stories that are small windows onto ordinary, troubled lives." Newsday

Review:

"Kane's sparse but poignant writing satisfies...(these) heartrending stories will convince even the optimist that some sad stories need telling." San Francisco Chronicle

Product Details

ISBN:
9781582432069
Author:
Kane, Jessica Francis
Publisher:
Counterpoint LLC
Location:
Washington, D.C.
Subject:
General
Subject:
Social life and customs
Subject:
United states
Subject:
London
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
United States Social life and customs.
Subject:
London (England) Social life and customs.
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Edition Description:
Trade Cloth
Series Volume:
046
Publication Date:
20020731
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Language:
English
Pages:
208
Dimensions:
8.5 x 5.5 in 19.2 oz

Other books you might like

  1. Meshugah Used Trade Paper $1.48
  2. The Road to Wigan Pier
  3. Angle of Repose Used Mass Market $4.50
  4. Fierce Dispute Used Mass Market $5.95
  5. The Varieties of Romantic Experience Used Trade Paper $7.50

Related Subjects

Children's » General
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

Bending Heaven: Stories New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$27.00 In Stock
Product details 208 pages Counterpoint Press - English 9781582432069 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Kane's style is direct yet nuanced, and all her characters feel authentic; this is an impressive debut."
"Review" by , "This exquisite collection of stories examines ordinary people trying to explain their failures to themselves or others....Kane's writing style is extremely realistic and down to earth."
"Review" by , "Characters...give voice to the ceaseless yearnings that — so Kane's volume suggests — preoccupy us almost from the cradle to...grave."
"Review" by , "Kane's debut collection is achingly, pitch-perfectly sad, detailing painful adult awkwardness and the lost respect of beloved children."
"Review" by , "Kane write(s) in the tradition of Alice Munro or Russell Banks stories that are small windows onto ordinary, troubled lives."
"Review" by , "Kane's sparse but poignant writing satisfies...(these) heartrending stories will convince even the optimist that some sad stories need telling."
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.