The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 17, 2014

Merritt Tierce: IMG Has My Husband Read It?



My first novel, Love Me Back, was published on September 16. Writing the book took seven years, and along the way three chapters were published in... Continue »
  1. $16.77 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Love Me Back

    Merritt Tierce 9780385538077

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$8.50
List price: $16.99
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Children's- Newbery Award Winners
1 Burnside Children's- Newbery Award Winners

Other titles in the Sarah, Plain and Tall Saga series:

Sarah, Plain and Tall (Sarah, Plain and Tall Saga)

by

Sarah, Plain and Tall (Sarah, Plain and Tall Saga) Cover

ISBN13: 9780060241018
ISBN10: 0060241012
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $8.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

"Did Mama sing every day?" Caleb asks his sister Anna.

"Every-single-day," she answers. "Papa sang, too."

This Newbery Medal-winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family. Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?

This children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

Synopsis:

<P>Did Mama sing every day? Caleb asks his sister Anna.Every-single-day, she answers. Papa too.</P>

Synopsis:

"Did Mama sing every day?" Caleb asks his sister Anna."Every-single-day," she answers. "Papa too."

About the Author

Patricia MacLachlan is the celebrated author of many timeless books for young readers, including Sarah, Plain and Tall, winner of the Newbery Medal. Her novels for young readers include Arthur, For the Very First Time; The Facts and Fictions of Minna Pratt; Skylark; Caleb's Story; More Perfect Than the Moon; Grandfather's Dance; Word After Word After Word; and Kindred Souls. She is also the author of many much-loved picture books, including Three Names; All the Places to Love; What You Know First; Painting the Wind; Bittle; Who Loves Me?; Once I Ate a Pie; I Didn't Do It; Before You Came; and Cat Talk&#8212;several of which she cowrote with her daughter, Emily. She lives with her husband and two border terriers in Williamsburg, Massachusetts.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

akasugabear, May 9, 2006 (view all comments by akasugabear)
hi,i am a 13 years old and i just read sarah,plain and tall.i loved it well i will let you go bye bye!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(15 of 32 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780060241018
Author:
MacLachlan, Patricia
Publisher:
HarperCollins
Author:
MacLachlan, Patricia
Author:
by Patricia MacLachlan
Location:
New York :
Subject:
Fiction
Subject:
Children's fiction
Subject:
Family - General
Subject:
Classics
Subject:
Family life
Subject:
Historical - General
Subject:
Frontier and pioneer life
Subject:
Children's 9-12 - Fiction - Historical
Subject:
Children's stories, American
Subject:
Stepmothers
Subject:
Family - Stepfamilies
Subject:
Social Issues - New Experience
Subject:
Witting family (Fictitious characters)
Subject:
Childrens classics
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Series:
Sarah, Plain and Tall Saga (Hardcover)
Series Volume:
Heft 9
Publication Date:
19850425
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
from 3 to 5
Language:
English
Pages:
64
Dimensions:
8.35x5.63x.50 in. .57 lbs.
Age Level:
09-12

Other books you might like

  1. Stone Fox Used Mass Market $1.95
  2. Holes
    Used Trade Paper $2.95
  3. Island of the Blue Dolphins
    Used Mass Market $2.95
  4. Charlotte's Web (Trophy Newbery)
    Used Trade Paper $3.50
  5. A Gathering of Days Used Trade Paper $2.50
  6. Number the Stars (Yearling Newbery)
    Used Trade Paper $3.50

Related Subjects

» Children's » Awards » Newbery Award Winners
» Children's » Classics » General
» Children's » General
» Young Adult » Fiction » Newbery Award Winners
» Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » New Experience

Sarah, Plain and Tall (Sarah, Plain and Tall Saga) Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$8.50 In Stock
Product details 64 pages HarperCollins Publishers - English 9780060241018 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , <P>Did Mama sing every day? Caleb asks his sister Anna.Every-single-day, she answers. Papa too.</P>
"Synopsis" by , "Did Mama sing every day?" Caleb asks his sister Anna."Every-single-day," she answers. "Papa too."
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.