This is the International Mystery Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | April 6, 2015

    Mary Norris: IMG Voracious



    In the summer of 2012, I got a contract for a book about language, based on my experiences of more than 30 years as a copy editor at The New Yorker.... Continue »
    1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.50
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Children's Picture Books- General

This title in other editions

Rolie Polie Olie

by

Rolie Polie Olie Cover

ISBN13: 9780060271633
ISBN10: 0060271639
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: None
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $4.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Here Mr.Joyce talks about his collection of children's books, his influences in creating them, and even the Rolie Polie family!

Q: What's new and different about "Rolie Polie Olie?
A: Everything in "Rolie Polie Olie is a robot or a machine. Beds, cars, kitchen appliances, and even the toilet have a personality. But rather than it seeming cold and remote, as computer animation can often feel, I wanted to see if we could make a robot world that felt warm and kind; an almost old-fashioned version of what the future could be. I wanted to take the cutting edge of cybertechnology and create something that felt as though it was done in the 1930s. It's sort of like "Leave It to Beaver meets "The Matrixx or "Blade Runner.

Q: How does the Emmy Award-winning animated TV show "Rolie Polie Olie relate to the book?
A: I had been working on a book about robots when I was approached to do a computer-animated television series. Previously, I had worked on "Toy Story, which was an amazing experience, so I decided to merge my robot paintings with the computer — to paint with the computer.
I had never collaborated on anything visual before, but with the help of 300 artists and technicians on 3 different continents, I was able to realize this vision. I was able to create an entire 3-D robot universe without ever leaving my desk in Shreveport, Louisiana. My sketches, stories, and songs traveled from my home to Toronto, Paris, and Ho Chi Minh City. I would design every antenna, tree, and doorknob, and the computer would then render my drawings. We didn't know if it would work, but here we are with an Emmy Award-winning television show on the Disney channel and two beautiful picturebooks.

Q: What was your inspiration for "Rolie Polie Olie?
A: The Rolie Polie family is a caricature of my own family, even down to the family dog!
I wanted to evoke the blithe, optimistic feeling of an old Mickey Mouse cartoon or The Little Rascals. Some kind of "Once upon a time" Americana in the robot world, or a "future that never was." The Polie family harks back to what we all wanted as kids; everything is uncomplicated and magically naive. This is a bright and shiny sun-drenched world, moving and swaying to its own catchy oom-pa-pa beat. Everything is round, everything is alive, everyone does the rumba dance.

Q: In your latest picture book, "Snowie Rolie, you bring a winter wonderland to Robot Land. Tell us about your new character, Mr. Snowie.
A: I thought that it would be great if a snowman could really come to life . . . and on this robot planet where everything is living, naturally a snowman would have to be alive too!
When you make a snowman, you put so much effort and personality into something that is going to melt. It is a very poignant process, for no matter what you do, soon you will still have to let go and say good-bye. In "Snowie Rolie, I wanted to actually save a snowman.

Q: What is the theme of "Snowie Rolie?
A: Snowie Rolie is about how your life can change in a single day. Olie and Zowie wish for snow in the beginning of the book, but in the end they have gained a friend. They have learned so much about friendship and farewells, all in the course of one miraculous, snowy day.

Q: Now another one of your classic picture books, George Shrinks, has a new animated TV series on PBS. Where did the idea for "George come from?
A:Ever since I was a little kid, I have loved stories about people who were the wrong size. King Kong was too big for everything, and Stuart Little was way too small. One day I found some of my old toys in a box. Mixed up with all the dinosaurs and army men was a little airplane that had a tiny pilot, and that got me thinking.
What if a boy named George shrank one day while his parents were away? What would he do? Would it be fun? Would it be scary? What would he eat?
So that's what I made "George Shrinks about — how neat it would be if, just for one day, you were the same size as your toys. And of course I had George fly in that toy airplane.

Q: What influences you as an artist and author?
A: I'm a first-generation TV brat. My brain was welded to the solid-state circuitry of our RCA Viewmaster black-and-white television set. Every day and night I saw all the past, present, and future pulp the tube had to offer. Plus there were comic strips, my family, and other illustrators.
"George Shrinks is "King Kong in reverse. "Nicholas Cricket is "Casablanca with bugs. In "The Leaf Men and "Bently & egg the characters are as dashing and heroic as "Robin Hood. In "Santa Calls there are elements of "The Wizard of Oz, Davy Crockett, The Lone Ranger, Rin-Tin-Tin, Little Orphan Annie, Jules Verne, and the Warner Brothers cartoons. For "Dinosaur Bob I thought about "Paul Bunyan and "Casey at the Bat. Not only does a dinosaur become the family pet, but he also plays baseball and the trumpet, and dances the hokey-pokey. "A Day With Wilbur Robinson is a combination of "Dr. Doolittle, "The Absent-Minded Professor, "Invaders from Mars, and an exaggerated version of my own childhood.

Q: How does your childhood show up in your picture books?
A: I was raised by a congenial horde of southern screwballs. We had artists, bongo players, photographers, opera singers, actors, and geologists in our family. Everyone over fifty had dentures, which were always being mixed up or misplaced. We sometimes played shuffleboard with them. My grandfather had the added bonus of a glass eye that he swore could see even when outside his head. I had an uncle who convinced me he was from another planet. With a household like that, writing and illustrating came easily to me.

Synopsis:

For fans of Todd Parr and Oliver Jeffers comes this debut picture book about a boy and his robot friend from the creator of the popular crowd-sourced comic blog, explodingdog.com

For a little boy whos always dreamed of having his own robot, actually getting one isnt what he expected at all. The robot cant fly, or swim, or even talk. All he does is beep beep beep like a toy. But his robot does have some hidden talents—and one of them is being a great friend.

In this unexpectedly poignant story about adjusting expectations, Sam Brown shows that while no one is perfect, a good friend sure comes close.

Synopsis:

Way up high in the Rolie Polie Sky is a little round planet of a really swell guy.<P>Here's Rolie Polie Olie! Here's his mom . . . and pop . . . Here's his sister, Zowie . . .

About the Author

William Joyce lives in Shreveport, Louisiana, with his lovely wife, Elizabeth, and their children, Mary Katherine and Jack. They also have a dachshund named Rose and something else named Rex. Mr. Joyce has produced two animated television shows based on his books: Rolie Polie Olieand George Shrinks. He also produced and designed the animated feature film Robots. Every once in a while he does a cover for The New Yorker. His alarmingly optimistic picture books include Dinosaur Bob and His Adventures with the Family Lazardo, Santa Calls, The Leaf Men and the Brave Good Bugs,and Bently &Egg.He is currently futzing around on several books and stories that embrace the alleged healing power of heroically scaled silliness.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780060271633
Author:
Joyce, William
Author:
Joyce, William
Author:
by William Joyce
Author:
Brown, Sam
Publisher:
Dial
Subject:
Family - General
Subject:
Children's 4-8 - Picturebooks
Subject:
Humorous Stories
Subject:
Science & Technology
Subject:
Stories in rhyme
Subject:
Robots
Subject:
Movie or Television Tie-In
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardback
Series:
Rolie Polie Olie
Publication Date:
20131017
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
from PreS to K
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
32
Dimensions:
9 x 9 in 1 lb
Children's Book Type:
Picture / Wordless
Age Level:
02-08

Other books you might like

  1. Mama Cat Has Three Kittens Used Pamphlet $1.95
  2. Squids Will Be Squids: Fresh Morals... Used Hardcover $9.95
  3. Drawing Lessons from a Bear Used Hardcover $3.95
  4. Princess Prunella and the Purple Peanut Used Hardcover $8.95
  5. Who Is the Beast? Used Hardcover $6.50
  6. Edwurd Fudwupper Fibbed Big Used Hardcover $4.50

Related Subjects

Children's » General
Children's » Picture Books » A to Z
Children's » Picture Books » General

Rolie Polie Olie Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.50 In Stock
Product details 32 pages Laura Geringer Book - English 9780060271633 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
For fans of Todd Parr and Oliver Jeffers comes this debut picture book about a boy and his robot friend from the creator of the popular crowd-sourced comic blog, explodingdog.com

For a little boy whos always dreamed of having his own robot, actually getting one isnt what he expected at all. The robot cant fly, or swim, or even talk. All he does is beep beep beep like a toy. But his robot does have some hidden talents—and one of them is being a great friend.

In this unexpectedly poignant story about adjusting expectations, Sam Brown shows that while no one is perfect, a good friend sure comes close.

"Synopsis" by , Way up high in the Rolie Polie Sky is a little round planet of a really swell guy.<P>Here's Rolie Polie Olie! Here's his mom . . . and pop . . . Here's his sister, Zowie . . .

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.