Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | July 22, 2014

Nick Harkaway: IMG The Florist-Assassins



The three men lit up in my mind's eye, with footnotes. They were converging on me — and on the object I was carrying — in a way that had... Continue »
  1. $18.87 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Tigerman

    Nick Harkaway 9780385352413

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$9.95
List price: $26.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Local Warehouse Great Britain- Tudor to Stuart Period

More copies of this ISBN

This title in other editions

Court Lady and Country Wife: Two Noble Sisters in Seventeenth-Century England

by

Court Lady and Country Wife: Two Noble Sisters in Seventeenth-Century England Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The lives of two dazzling aristocratic sisters, Lucy and Dorothy Percy, present a perfect window into the world of political unrest and social intrigue in seventeenth-century English society. The sisters' breeding, beauty, and cunning made them among the most influential women of their time.

Born during the reign of Elizabeth I, the Percy sisters came to prominence at the court of Charles I in the 1630s. Lucy, the Countess of Carlisle — the "court lady" — dominated the royal scene thanks to her position at the center of power. Her beauty, captured in magnificent Van Dyck portraits, and her political skills attracted prominent lovers, and her charm and talent as a gossiper ensured her inclusion in the queen's inner circle. Then her machinations during the English Civil War led to her imprisonment in the Tower of London.

Her sister, Dorothy, Countess of Leicester — the "country wife" — had twelve surviving children and managed the family estates while her husband traveled abroad or immersed himself in books. She was brilliant as a diplomat's wife, with a keen eye and special purview of European politics. This early ancestor of Princess Diana's family was also a shrewish wife who bossed her mate for more than thirty-seven years before he rebelled publicly, causing a scandal.

In Court Lady and Country Wife, Lita-Rose Betcherman shines a spotlight on the position of upper-class women in seventeenth-century Britain and illuminates the major events and figures of a grand and turbulent era.

Review:

"The lives of Dorothy and Lucy Percy, daughters of the early 17th-century earl of Northumberland, reflect striking contrasts in early modern marriage. Lucy married a much older rising star of the Jacobean court, later Lord Carlisle, and had only one short-lived child; centering her life on the royal court, she became mistress of the duke of Buckingham and a confidante of Queen Henrietta Maria. Dorothy married the later earl of Leicester, raising 12 children in the relative obscurity of the countryside, where she managed estates and campaigned for her husband's career. Both sisters were involved in the politics of the Civil War, when each precariously balanced family, finances and loyalties in order to survive. Canadian historian Betcherman dwells particularly on Lucy's charms, as sources praising her are abundant. The author is less generous to Dorothy, trusting too much in the sometimes bitter assessments of her husband and offering no hint of whether his taking loans with interest from his wife was unusual. Still, personalities, fashion, intrigue and even parliamentary and military history blend to provide a multifaceted entry into a period not always accessible to general readers of history. 8 pages of color illus. not seen by PW. Agent, Beverly Slopen. (On sale Oct. 4)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Book News Annotation:

Canadian historian Betcherman contrasts the lives of the two daughters of Henry Percy, Ninth Earl of Northumberland. Lucy, Countess of Carlisle, dominate the royal court and was part of the queen's inner circle. Dorothy, Countess of Leicester, had 12 surviving children and managed the family estates while her diplomat husband was traveling abroad or immersed in books.
Annotation 2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

Book News Annotation:

Canadian historian Betcherman contrasts the lives of the two daughters of Henry Percy, Ninth Earl of Northumberland. Lucy, Countess of Carlisle, dominate the royal court and was part of the queen's inner circle. Dorothy, Countess of Leicester, had 12 surviving children and managed the family estates while her diplomat husband was traveling abroad or immersed in books. Annotation ©2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

Synopsis:

For fans of "Elizabeth, Galileo's Daughter" and "A History of the Wife" comes this compelling biography of two dazzling aristocratic sisters and the world of political unrest and social intrigue they inhabit. 8-page color insert. Family tree.

About the Author

Lita-Rose Betcherman received a doctorate in Tudor and Stuart history from the University of Toronto and was the Women's Bureau director for the province of Ontario. She is the author of three books on Canadian history and lives in Toronto.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780060762889
Subtitle:
Two Noble Sisters in Seventeenth-Century England
Author:
Betcherman, Lita Ros
Author:
Betcherman, Lita-Rose
Publisher:
William Morrow
Subject:
General
Subject:
Women
Subject:
Historical - British
Subject:
Sisters
Subject:
Europe - Great Britain - General
Subject:
Women's Studies - General
Subject:
General History
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Publication Date:
20051004
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
400
Dimensions:
9 x 6 x 1.25 in 13.68 oz

Other books you might like

  1. Mrs. Keppel and Her Daughter Used Trade Paper $4.50
  2. Victoria's Daughters Used Trade Paper $8.50
  3. Dangerous Muse: The Life of Lady... Used Hardcover $11.95
  4. Saving Stuff: How to Care for and...
    Used Trade Paper $6.95
  5. Vegetable Soups from Deborah... Sale Trade Paper $9.98
  6. Princesses: The Six Daughters of... Used Hardcover $7.95

Related Subjects

History and Social Science » Europe » Great Britain » General History
History and Social Science » Europe » Great Britain » Tudor to Stuart Period

Court Lady and Country Wife: Two Noble Sisters in Seventeenth-Century England Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$9.95 In Stock
Product details 400 pages William Morrow & Company - English 9780060762889 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "The lives of Dorothy and Lucy Percy, daughters of the early 17th-century earl of Northumberland, reflect striking contrasts in early modern marriage. Lucy married a much older rising star of the Jacobean court, later Lord Carlisle, and had only one short-lived child; centering her life on the royal court, she became mistress of the duke of Buckingham and a confidante of Queen Henrietta Maria. Dorothy married the later earl of Leicester, raising 12 children in the relative obscurity of the countryside, where she managed estates and campaigned for her husband's career. Both sisters were involved in the politics of the Civil War, when each precariously balanced family, finances and loyalties in order to survive. Canadian historian Betcherman dwells particularly on Lucy's charms, as sources praising her are abundant. The author is less generous to Dorothy, trusting too much in the sometimes bitter assessments of her husband and offering no hint of whether his taking loans with interest from his wife was unusual. Still, personalities, fashion, intrigue and even parliamentary and military history blend to provide a multifaceted entry into a period not always accessible to general readers of history. 8 pages of color illus. not seen by PW. Agent, Beverly Slopen. (On sale Oct. 4)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by , For fans of "Elizabeth, Galileo's Daughter" and "A History of the Wife" comes this compelling biography of two dazzling aristocratic sisters and the world of political unrest and social intrigue they inhabit. 8-page color insert. Family tree.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.