Poetry Madness
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Q&A | February 27, 2014

Rene Denfeld: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Rene Denfeld



Describe your latest book. The Enchanted is a story narrated by a man on death row. The novel was inspired by my work as a death penalty... Continue »
  1. $18.19 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Enchanted

    Rene Denfeld 9780062285508

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Literature- A to Z

Everybody into the Pool: True Tales

by

Everybody into the Pool: True Tales Cover

ISBN13: 9780060778774
ISBN10: 0060778776
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $4.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Beth Lisick's memoir takes a side-splittingly hilarious look back at her journey from suburban goody two-shoes to San Francisco Alterna-mom.

Beth Lisick was a cheerleader, a homecoming princess, and a star athlete with a Crisco-aided tan and a bad perm. And then everything changed. How exactly did this suburban girl-next-door end up as one of San Francisco's foremost chroniclers of alternative culture, touring as the only straight woman with a band of punk rock lesbian poets and living in illegal warehouses? All while managing to get married, buy a house and have a baby? Lisick explains it all in her hilarious, irreverent memoir, Everybody into the Pool.

Review:

"Lisick offers bright, funny takes on her square upbringing....Exaggeration in the interest of a good story is no sin, and Lisick is above all an accomplished storyteller. Light, flippant and savvy." Kirkus Reviews

Review:

"Readers who like their memoirs with loose ends neatly tied will not necessarily appreciate Lisick's breezy style; a number of one-time references are left unexplained....Still, these stories most definitely entertain." Library Journal

Review:

"Fizzy and delightful... The tales veer from razor sharp to hilarious, and it's a voice — both offbeat and upbeat, wised-up yet curiously wholesome — that you're going to want to hear a lot more of. A." Jennifer Reese, Entertainment Weekly

Synopsis:

Lisick's memoir takes a sidesplittingly hilarious look back at her journey from suburban goody two shoes to San Francisco "Alterna-mom."

Synopsis:

Beth Lisick started out as a homecoming princess with a Crisco-aided tan and a bad perm. And then everything changed. How exactly did this suburban girl next door end up as one of San Francisco's foremost chroniclers of alternative culture, touring as the only straight woman with a band of punk rock lesbian poets and living in illegal warehouses — all while managing to get married, buy a house, and have a baby? Lisick explains it all in her hilarious, irreverent memoir Everybody into the Pool.

Plunging headlong into America's deepest subcultures, while keeping both feet firmly planted in her parents' Leave It to Beaver values, Lisick makes her adult home on the fringe of mainstream culture and finds it rich with paradox and humor. On one hand, she lives in "Brokeley" with drug dealers and street gangs; on the other, she drives a station wagon with a car seat in the back, makes her own chicken stock, and attends ladies' luncheons.

Among Lisick's true tales are "My Way or the Bi-Way," in which a series of girl-on-girl fiascos from UC Santa Cruz confirm her suspicions that she's just a straight girl with a positive attitude who'd give anything the old college try; "The Lowly Hustle," in which she takes on a litany of odd jobs to make ends meet ("I was like a college student designing my own major, except I was thirty-five and designing my own minimum-wage job"); and the endearing story of her "courtship" with her now husband Eli, who impresses her with a spastic rendition of a song called "The Wack-Ass Caucasian Two Step Chicken" and invites her to his Mission District warehouse space — a world of feral raccoons and exploding sewage pipes. (It's clear to Lisick that he's "The One.")

Fans of David Sedaris and Sarah Vowell will relish Lisick's scathingly funny, smart, and very real take on the effluvia of daily living. No matter what community she's exposing to the light, Lisick's hilarious perspective always hits the right chord.

About the Author

Beth Lisick, author of the New York Times bestseller Everybody into the Pool, is also a performer and an odd-jobs enthusiast. She has contributed to public radio's This American Life and is the cofounder of the monthly Porchlight storytelling series in San Francisco.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Julia Callahan, January 27, 2008 (view all comments by Julia Callahan)
God I love this book. Beth just says it like no one else can. She's funny, yet so full of humanity it's hard to resist her. This collection of stories about growing up in the Bay Area deserves to be read and cherished multiple times over. No subject is taboo with Beth. Whether talking about infamous ladies lunches or abortion, her prose is razor sharp and right on. She's the kind of author you want to join for a night of drinking.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(3 of 4 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780060778774
Subtitle:
True Tales
Author:
Lisick, Beth
Publisher:
William Morrow
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Women
Subject:
San Francisco (Calif.)
Subject:
Popular Culture - Counter Culture
Subject:
Authors, American
Subject:
Personal Memoirs
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Publication Date:
July 1, 2005
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
240
Dimensions:
8 x 6 x 0.85 in 14.24 oz

Other books you might like

  1. Nora Jane: A Life in Stories Used Trade Paper $4.50
  2. White Teeth (Vintage International)
    Used Trade Paper $3.50
  3. Cloud Atlas
    Used Trade Paper $8.00
  4. Interpreter of Maladies
    Used Trade Paper $3.50
  5. Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife: Pride and...
    Used Trade Paper $3.95
  6. Platform Used Trade Paper $9.95

Related Subjects


Biography » Women
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

Everybody into the Pool: True Tales Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.95 In Stock
Product details 240 pages ReganBooks - English 9780060778774 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Lisick offers bright, funny takes on her square upbringing....Exaggeration in the interest of a good story is no sin, and Lisick is above all an accomplished storyteller. Light, flippant and savvy."
"Review" by , "Readers who like their memoirs with loose ends neatly tied will not necessarily appreciate Lisick's breezy style; a number of one-time references are left unexplained....Still, these stories most definitely entertain."
"Review" by , "Fizzy and delightful... The tales veer from razor sharp to hilarious, and it's a voice — both offbeat and upbeat, wised-up yet curiously wholesome — that you're going to want to hear a lot more of. A."
"Synopsis" by , Lisick's memoir takes a sidesplittingly hilarious look back at her journey from suburban goody two shoes to San Francisco "Alterna-mom."
"Synopsis" by , Beth Lisick started out as a homecoming princess with a Crisco-aided tan and a bad perm. And then everything changed. How exactly did this suburban girl next door end up as one of San Francisco's foremost chroniclers of alternative culture, touring as the only straight woman with a band of punk rock lesbian poets and living in illegal warehouses — all while managing to get married, buy a house, and have a baby? Lisick explains it all in her hilarious, irreverent memoir Everybody into the Pool.

Plunging headlong into America's deepest subcultures, while keeping both feet firmly planted in her parents' Leave It to Beaver values, Lisick makes her adult home on the fringe of mainstream culture and finds it rich with paradox and humor. On one hand, she lives in "Brokeley" with drug dealers and street gangs; on the other, she drives a station wagon with a car seat in the back, makes her own chicken stock, and attends ladies' luncheons.

Among Lisick's true tales are "My Way or the Bi-Way," in which a series of girl-on-girl fiascos from UC Santa Cruz confirm her suspicions that she's just a straight girl with a positive attitude who'd give anything the old college try; "The Lowly Hustle," in which she takes on a litany of odd jobs to make ends meet ("I was like a college student designing my own major, except I was thirty-five and designing my own minimum-wage job"); and the endearing story of her "courtship" with her now husband Eli, who impresses her with a spastic rendition of a song called "The Wack-Ass Caucasian Two Step Chicken" and invites her to his Mission District warehouse space — a world of feral raccoons and exploding sewage pipes. (It's clear to Lisick that he's "The One.")

Fans of David Sedaris and Sarah Vowell will relish Lisick's scathingly funny, smart, and very real take on the effluvia of daily living. No matter what community she's exposing to the light, Lisick's hilarious perspective always hits the right chord.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.