25 Books to Read Before You Die
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | August 20, 2014

Julie Schumacher: IMG Dear Professor Fitger



Saint Paul, August 2014 Dear Professor Fitger, I've been asked to say a few words about you for Powells.com. Having dreamed you up with a ball-point... Continue »
  1. $16.07 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Dear Committee Members

    Julie Schumacher 9780385538138

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$17.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Burnside Literature- A to Z

Mad World: Evelyn Waugh and the Secrets of Brideshead

by

Mad World: Evelyn Waugh and the Secrets of Brideshead Cover

ISBN13: 9780060881306
ISBN10: 0060881305
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $17.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Evelyn Waugh was already famous when Brideshead Revisited was published in 1945. Written at the height of the war, the novel was, he admitted, of no "immediate propaganda value." Instead, it was the story of a household, a family and a journey of religious faith—an elegy for a vanishing world and a testimony to a family he had fallen in love with a decade earlier.

The Lygons of Madresfield were every bit as glamourous, eccentric and compelling as their counterparts in Brideshead Revisited. William Lygon, Earl Beauchamp, was a warmhearted, generous and unconventional father whose seven children adored him. When he was forced to flee the country by his scheming brother-in-law, his traumatised children stood firmly by him, defying not only the mores of the day but also their deeply religious mother.

In this engrossing biography, Paula Byrne takes an innovative approach to her subject, setting out to capture Waugh through the friendships that mattered most to him. She uncovers a man who, far from the snobbish misanthrope of popular caricature, was as loving and as complex as the family that inspired him. This brilliantly original biography unlocks for the first time the extent to which Waugh's great novel encoded and transformed his own experiences. In so doing, it illuminates the loves and obsessions that shaped his life, and brings us inevitably to the secret that dared not speak its name.

Review:

"The identity of the aristocratic family that inspired Brideshead Revisited has long been known to Waugh biographers: Byrne's (Perdita: The Literary, Theatrical, Scandalous Life of Mary Robinson) considerable contribution to literary history details Waugh's close relationship with Earl and Countess Beauchamp; their son, Hugh Lygon (the prototype for Sebastian Flyte); and the psychological circumstances through which Waugh transformed his experiences into a novel that mirrored his lifelong quest for an ideal family and the spiritual haven of Roman Catholicism. Waugh, the product of an obscure public school, suffered at Oxford until he was accepted as a comrade by a group of brilliant, gay former Etonians whose college years were characterized by decadence, drinking, and debauchery. Hugh Lygon, while intellectually mediocre, belonged to the circle by dint of his charm and lineage. The tragic history of Madresfield, from Earl Beauchamp's exile from England to Hugh's early death, are thinly disguised in Brideshead. Byrne obtained access to previously unseen documents — including revelation of the royal family's possible role in the earl's exile — and includes enough gossipy asides to intrigue readers. With its brisk narrative pace, this book will be valuable to admirers of Waugh's oeuvre and those interested in the behavior of English upper-class society between the wars. 16 pages of color photos." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

A terrifically engaging and original biography of one of Englands greatest novelists, Evelyn Waugh, and the glamorous, eccentric, debauched, and ultimately tragic family that provided him with the most significant friendships of his life and inspired his masterpiece, Brideshead Revisited. Fans of The Mitfords, D.J. Taylors Bright Young People, and Alexander Waughs Fathers and Sons, as well as Anglophiles in general, will find much to savor in Paula Byrnes wonderful Mad World.

About the Author

Paula Byrne is the author of Perdita, a highly acclaimed biography of eighteenth-century celebrity Mary Robinson. A regular contributor to the Times Literary Supplement and other publications, she lives in Warwickshire, England, with her three children and her husband, the critic and biographer Jonathan Bate.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Danielle M, June 21, 2010 (view all comments by Danielle M)
No matter how interesting the subject, I often find biographies to be dull. Not so with Mad World, which perfectly captures the wit and passion of Evelyn Waugh, whose life was just as intense and interesting as the lives of the Bright Young Things he befriended and wrote about.

In Paula Byrne's book we, like Waugh, are ushered into the inner circle of the aristocracy and, especially, into the lives of the Lygon family, upon whom Brideshead Revisited is based. Like Waugh, we fall in love with the Lygons in spite (or maybe because) of their extravagant lifestyle, their humor in the face of scandal, and, ultimately, their fragility.

Whether you are a rabid reader of Waugh's work or simply a fan of the Jeremy Irons 1981 mini-series of Brideshead, you will find this book to be deeply engaging and, by the end, will be inspired to read (or re-read) Waugh's work with a new perspective on this great literary figure.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(7 of 14 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780060881306
Subtitle:
Evelyn Waugh and the Secrets of Brideshead
Author:
Byrne, Paula
Publisher:
Harper
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Biography-Literary
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Publication Date:
20100330
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
384
Dimensions:
9 x 6 x 1.21 in 19.92 oz

Other books you might like

  1. Eddie Signwriter
    Used Hardcover $4.50
  2. The Imperfectionists
    Used Hardcover $4.95
  3. Land of Little Rain Used Trade Paper $5.50
  4. The Publisher: Henry Luce and His... Used Hardcover $17.50
  5. Christianity: The First Three... Used Hardcover $21.00

Related Subjects

Biography » Literary
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
History and Social Science » Europe » Great Britain » 20th Century

Mad World: Evelyn Waugh and the Secrets of Brideshead Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$17.95 In Stock
Product details 384 pages Harper - English 9780060881306 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "The identity of the aristocratic family that inspired Brideshead Revisited has long been known to Waugh biographers: Byrne's (Perdita: The Literary, Theatrical, Scandalous Life of Mary Robinson) considerable contribution to literary history details Waugh's close relationship with Earl and Countess Beauchamp; their son, Hugh Lygon (the prototype for Sebastian Flyte); and the psychological circumstances through which Waugh transformed his experiences into a novel that mirrored his lifelong quest for an ideal family and the spiritual haven of Roman Catholicism. Waugh, the product of an obscure public school, suffered at Oxford until he was accepted as a comrade by a group of brilliant, gay former Etonians whose college years were characterized by decadence, drinking, and debauchery. Hugh Lygon, while intellectually mediocre, belonged to the circle by dint of his charm and lineage. The tragic history of Madresfield, from Earl Beauchamp's exile from England to Hugh's early death, are thinly disguised in Brideshead. Byrne obtained access to previously unseen documents — including revelation of the royal family's possible role in the earl's exile — and includes enough gossipy asides to intrigue readers. With its brisk narrative pace, this book will be valuable to admirers of Waugh's oeuvre and those interested in the behavior of English upper-class society between the wars. 16 pages of color photos." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by , A terrifically engaging and original biography of one of Englands greatest novelists, Evelyn Waugh, and the glamorous, eccentric, debauched, and ultimately tragic family that provided him with the most significant friendships of his life and inspired his masterpiece, Brideshead Revisited. Fans of The Mitfords, D.J. Taylors Bright Young People, and Alexander Waughs Fathers and Sons, as well as Anglophiles in general, will find much to savor in Paula Byrnes wonderful Mad World.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.