Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | June 18, 2014

Daniel H. Wilson: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Daniel H. Wilson



Like many writers, I'm constantly haunting coffee shops with a laptop out and my headphones on. I listen to a lot of music while I write, and songs... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$7.98
Sale Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Military- Terrorism Mercenaries and Guerrillas

This title in other editions

Talking to the Enemy: Faith, Brotherhood, and the (Un)Making of Terrorists

by

Talking to the Enemy: Faith, Brotherhood, and the (Un)Making of Terrorists Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Terrorists don't kill and die just for a cause.

They kill and die for each other.

In this rigorous and challenging work that combines the penetrating insight of The Looming Tower and the historical sweep and scope of Guns, Germs, and Steel, renowned social scientist Scott Atran traces terrorism's root causes in human evolution and history, touching on the nature of faith, the origins of society, the limits of reason, and the power of moral values.

Atran interviews and investigates Al Qaeda associates and acolytes, including Jemaah Islamiyah, Lashkar-e-Tayibah, and the Madrid train bombers, as well as other non-Qaeda groups, such as Hamas and the Taliban, and their sponsoring communities, from the jungles of Southeast Asia and the political wastelands of the Middle East to New York, London, and Madrid. His conclusions are startling, important, and sure to be controversial.

Terrorists, he reminds us, are social beings, influenced by social connections and values familiar to us all, as members of school clubs, sports teams, or community organizations. When notions of the homeland, a family of friends, and a band of brothers are combined with the zeal of belief, amazing things—both good and bad—are possible: the passage of civil rights legislation, the U.S. Olympic hockey team's victory in 1980, the destruction of 9/11 and the attacks on the London Underground in July 2005.

Atran corrects misconceptions about suicide bombers and radical Islam, explaining how our tolerance for faith enables extremists to flourish, and shows why atheism and science education have little effect. Going beyond analysis, he offers practical solutions that can help us identify terrorists today, prevent the creation of future terrorists, and ultimately make the world a safer place for everyone.

Synopsis:

“Atran explores the way terrorists think of themselves and teaches us, at last, intelligent ways to think about terrorists.”
—Christopher Dickey, Newsweek Middle East Editor and author of Securing the City

 

Talking to the Enemy by Scott Atran is an eye-opening and important book that offers readers a startling look deep inside terror groups. Based on the authors unprecedented access to and in-depth interviews with terrorists and jihadis—including Al Qaeda, Hamas, and Taliban extremists, as well as members of other radical Islamic terror organizations—Talking to the Enemy provides fresh insight and unexpected answers to why there are people in this world willing to kill and die for a cause. A riveting, compelling work in the tradition of The Looming Tower and Terror in the Name of God, Talking to the Enemy is required reading for anyone interested in making the world a safer, more secure place for everyone.

About the Author

Scott Atran is a director of research in anthropology at the National Center for Scientific Research in Paris, France. He is also a research associate and visiting professor in psychology and public policy at the University of Michigan, a Presidential Scholar in sociology at John Jay College of Criminal Justice, and cofounder of ARTIS Research and Risk Modeling. His books include In Gods We Trust: The Evolutionary Landscape of Religion.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780061344909
Subtitle:
Faith, Brotherhood, and the (Un)Making of Terrorists
Author:
Atran, Scott
Publisher:
Ecco
Subject:
Political Freedom & Security - Terrorism
Subject:
Psychology of Religion
Subject:
General Political Science
Subject:
Politics - General
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Publication Date:
20101019
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
576
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in 4.08 oz

Other books you might like

  1. Good Muslim, Bad Muslim: America,... Used Trade Paper $6.50

Related Subjects


Featured Titles » History and Social Science
History and Social Science » Military » Terrorism Mercenaries and Guerrillas
History and Social Science » Politics » Covert Government and Conspiracy Theory
History and Social Science » Politics » General
History and Social Science » Politics » International Studies
Religion » Western Religions » Social and Political Issues

Talking to the Enemy: Faith, Brotherhood, and the (Un)Making of Terrorists Sale Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$7.98 In Stock
Product details 576 pages Ecco - English 9780061344909 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,

“Atran explores the way terrorists think of themselves and teaches us, at last, intelligent ways to think about terrorists.”
—Christopher Dickey, Newsweek Middle East Editor and author of Securing the City

 

Talking to the Enemy by Scott Atran is an eye-opening and important book that offers readers a startling look deep inside terror groups. Based on the authors unprecedented access to and in-depth interviews with terrorists and jihadis—including Al Qaeda, Hamas, and Taliban extremists, as well as members of other radical Islamic terror organizations—Talking to the Enemy provides fresh insight and unexpected answers to why there are people in this world willing to kill and die for a cause. A riveting, compelling work in the tradition of The Looming Tower and Terror in the Name of God, Talking to the Enemy is required reading for anyone interested in making the world a safer, more secure place for everyone.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.