Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Interviews | September 2, 2014

    Jill Owens: IMG David Mitchell: The Powells.com Interview



    David Mitchell's newest mind-bending, time-skipping novel may be his most accomplished work yet. Written in six sections, one per decade, The Bone... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$7.50
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Burnside Psychology- Mood Disorders and Depression

More copies of this ISBN

Manic: A Memoir

by

Manic: A Memoir Cover

ISBN13: 9780061430237
ISBN10: 0061430234
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $7.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

"I didn't tell anyone that I was going to Santa Fe to kill myself."

On the outside, Terri Cheney was a highly successful, attractive Beverly Hills entertainment lawyer. But behind her seemingly flawless façade lay a dangerous secret — for the better part of her life Cheney had been battling debilitating bipolar disorder and concealing a pharmacy's worth of prescriptions meant to stabilize her moods and make her "normal."

In bursts of prose that mirror the devastating highs and extreme lows of her illness, Cheney describes her roller-coaster life with shocking honesty — from glamorous parties to a night in jail; from flying fourteen kites off the edge of a cliff in a thunderstorm to crying beneath her office desk; from electroshock therapy to a suicide attempt fueled by tequila and prescription painkillers.

With Manic, Cheney gives voice to the unarticulated madness she endured. The clinical terms used to describe her illness were so inadequate that she chose to focus instead on her own experience, in her words, "on what bipolar disorder felt like inside my own body." Here the events unfold episodically, from mood to mood, the way she lived and remembers life. In this way the reader is able to viscerally experience the incredible speeding highs of mania and the crushing blows of depression, just as Cheney did. Manic does not simply explain bipolar disorder — it takes us in its grasp and does not let go.

In the tradition of Darkness Visible and An Unquiet Mind, Manic is Girl, Interrupted with the girl all grown up. This harrowing yet hopeful book is more than just a searing insider's account of what it's really like to live with bipolar disorder. It is a testament to the sharp beauty of a life lived in extremes.

Review:

"Cheney, a former L.A. entertainment lawyer, pointedly dispels expectations of a 'safe ride' through this turbulent account of bipolar disorder. With evocative imagery — time-shuffled recollections meant to mirror her disorienting extremes of mood — Cheney conjures life at the mercy of a brain chemistry that yanks her from 'soul-starving' despair to raucous exuberance, impetuous pursuits to paralyzing lethargy. Caught in a riptide of febrile impulse, she caroms from seductions to suicide attempts while flirting recklessly with men, danger and death, only to find more hazards in the drastic side effects of treatment. More than a train-wreck tearjerker, the memoir draws strength from salient observations that expose the frustrations of bipolar disorder, from its brutal sabotage of romance and friendship to the challenge it poses to the simplest emotions, such as 'the terrors of being happy' that augur mania's onset. Though she sustains an ominous mood and relays horrifying incidents with icy candor, Cheney lightens up at times, as when she marvels at the ease of masking her condition at an office that brings out everyone's manic side. But the narrative hopscotch frustrates readers' need for grounding and context that might clear up Cheney's muddled history and satisfy readers' urge to learn the fallout of her impulse-driven episodes. Her startlingly lucid descriptions of illness merit a more concise chronology." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Review:

"Cheney's remarkable chronicle of her painful odyssey is as eloquent as it is brave. It is also profoundly necessary." Providence Journal

Review:

"[Cheney] depicts with startling clarity her naked immersion in freezing ocean waves at midnight...[and] rivets us with her recollection of awakening in restraints in a padded room." Booklist

Review:

"Cheney shows us bipolar behavior and its effects. Her descriptions of mania are especially strong and visual." Los Angeles Times

Video

About the Author

Terri Cheney specialized in intellectual property and entertainment law at several prominent Los Angeles firms, where, over the course of her sixteen-year career, she represented such celebrity clients as Michael Jackson and Quincy Jones, as well as major motion picture studios, including Universal Studios and Columbia Pictures. She now devotes her talents to the cause of mental illness. She was named a member of the Community Advisory Board of the UCLA Mood Disorders Research Program, and founded a weekly community support group at UCLA's Neuropsychiatric Institute. She lives in Los Angeles.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

Shoshana, December 29, 2009 (view all comments by Shoshana)
Cheney tells her story of being bipolar as a series of non-chronological vignettes because that's what having the disorder is like for her--episodic experiences that are vivid but not always easily related. In the tradition of Jamison's An Unquiet Mind: A Memoir of Moods and Madness, Cheney's account is not only frenetic at times, but also self-reflective and insightful. A sensitive and well-delivered account of how pervasively bipolar disorder can affect one's life.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)
crowyhead, January 18, 2008 (view all comments by crowyhead)
This is a very fast read, and Cheney offers incredibly vivid descriptions of what it is like to be in both manic and depressed states. Readers will quickly be swept up in the horror and confusion of Cheney's experiences, but overall the book lacks a certain amount of cohesion and organization. Cheney's intention in offering her experiences out of chronology and in an almost stream-of-consciousness manner seems to be to keep the reader as unbalanced as she is. This works, but unfortunately it also keeps the reader from gaining much in the way of understanding the practical fallout of the experiences she describes. For example, she describes in great detail how, under the influence of a delicious mania, she seduced her best friend's boyfriend -- but the reader doesn't get much in terms of the long-term consquences. We're left to assume that it ruined the friendship, but this is never stated outright. Similarly, I found myself repeatedly wondering how exactly Cheney supported herself after apparently going on many manic shopping sprees, enduring repeated hospitalizations, and losing (or quitting) several high-powered legal jobs. Ultimately, there is a slight impression that Cheney's life is now more under control than it once was, but there are very few details explaining how this finally came to be.

Overall, I recommend it as an excellent read for someone who wants to know what it feels like to be manic-depressive, but I would not recommend it as essential reading for someone who is coping with the disease, nor would I recommend it as an informational resource.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(6 of 6 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780061430237
Subtitle:
A Memoir
Author:
Cheney, Terri
Author:
by Terri Cheney
Author:
by Terri Cheney
Publisher:
William Morrow
Subject:
Personal Memoirs
Subject:
Manic-depressive persons
Subject:
United states
Subject:
Specific Groups - Special Needs
Subject:
Psychopathology - Manic Depressive Illness
Subject:
Psychopathology - Bipolar Disorder
Subject:
Mental health
Subject:
Cheney, Terri - Mental health
Subject:
Manic-depressive persons - United States
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Publication Date:
20080205
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
256
Dimensions:
8.58x5.89x.97 in. .83 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Scattershot: My Bipolar Family
    Used Hardcover $2.95
  2. Crazy: A Father's Search Through... Used Trade Paper $7.50
  3. Thank You, Mr. Falker Sale Hardcover $7.98
  4. The Dead of Summer Used Hardcover $3.50
  5. The Outsiders
    Used Mass Market $3.95
  6. Epossumondas
    Used Hardcover $7.50

Related Subjects

Biography » General
Health and Self-Help » Psychology » General Disorders
Health and Self-Help » Psychology » Mood Disorders and Depression
Health and Self-Help » Psychology » Personality Disorders

Manic: A Memoir Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$7.50 In Stock
Product details 256 pages Libri - English 9780061430237 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Cheney, a former L.A. entertainment lawyer, pointedly dispels expectations of a 'safe ride' through this turbulent account of bipolar disorder. With evocative imagery — time-shuffled recollections meant to mirror her disorienting extremes of mood — Cheney conjures life at the mercy of a brain chemistry that yanks her from 'soul-starving' despair to raucous exuberance, impetuous pursuits to paralyzing lethargy. Caught in a riptide of febrile impulse, she caroms from seductions to suicide attempts while flirting recklessly with men, danger and death, only to find more hazards in the drastic side effects of treatment. More than a train-wreck tearjerker, the memoir draws strength from salient observations that expose the frustrations of bipolar disorder, from its brutal sabotage of romance and friendship to the challenge it poses to the simplest emotions, such as 'the terrors of being happy' that augur mania's onset. Though she sustains an ominous mood and relays horrifying incidents with icy candor, Cheney lightens up at times, as when she marvels at the ease of masking her condition at an office that brings out everyone's manic side. But the narrative hopscotch frustrates readers' need for grounding and context that might clear up Cheney's muddled history and satisfy readers' urge to learn the fallout of her impulse-driven episodes. Her startlingly lucid descriptions of illness merit a more concise chronology." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review" by , "Cheney's remarkable chronicle of her painful odyssey is as eloquent as it is brave. It is also profoundly necessary."
"Review" by , "[Cheney] depicts with startling clarity her naked immersion in freezing ocean waves at midnight...[and] rivets us with her recollection of awakening in restraints in a padded room."
"Review" by , "Cheney shows us bipolar behavior and its effects. Her descriptions of mania are especially strong and visual."
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.