Star Wars Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN!

Weekly drawing for $100 credit. Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

More at Powell's


Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | June 20, 2014

Lauren Owen: IMG The Other Vampire



It's a wild and thundery night. Inside a ramshackle old manor house, a beautiful young girl lies asleep in bed. At the window, a figure watches... Continue »
  1. $18.90 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Quick

    Lauren Owen 9780812993271

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$16.99
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Great Britain- Pre Tudor
12 Local Warehouse Biography- Royalty
5 Remote Warehouse World History- England General

This title in other editions

She-Wolves: The Women Who Ruled England Before Elizabeth

by

She-Wolves: The Women Who Ruled England Before Elizabeth Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

When Edward VI died in 1553, the extraordinary fact was that there was no one left to claim the title of king of England. For the first time, England would have a reigning queen—but the question was which one: Katherine of Aragon's daughter, Mary; Anne Boleyn's daughter, Elizabeth; or one of their cousins, Lady Jane Grey or Mary, Queen of Scots.

But female rule in England also had a past. Four hundred years before Edward's death, Matilda, daughter of Henry I and granddaughter of William the Conqueror, came tantalizingly close to securing the crown for herself. And between the twelfth and fifteenth centuries three more exceptional women—Eleanor of Aquitaine, Isabella of France, and Margaret of Anjou—discovered how much was possible if pre-sumptions of male rule were not confronted so explicitly—and just how quickly they might be vilified as "she-wolves" for their pains.

The stories of these women, told here in all their vivid detail, expose the paradox that female heirs to the Tudor throne had no choice but to negotiate. Man was the head of woman, and the king was the head of all. How, then, could royal power lie in female hands?

Synopsis:

“Helen Castor has an exhilarating narrative gift. . . . Readers will love this book, finding it wholly absorbing and rewarding.” —Hilary Mantel, Booker Prize-winning author of Wolf Hall 

In the tradition of Antonia Fraser, David Starkey, and Alison Weir, prize-winning historian Helen Castor delivers a compelling, eye-opening examination of women and power in England, witnessed through the lives of six women who exercised power against all odds—and one who never got the chance. Exploring the narratives of the Empress Matilda, Eleanor of Aquitaine, Isabella of France, Margaret of Anjou, and other “she-wolves,” as well as that of the Nine Days' Queen, Lady Jane Grey, Castor invokes a magisterial discussion of how much—and how little—has changed through the centuries. 

Synopsis:

With the death of Edward VI in 1553, England, for the first time, would have a reigning queen. The question was: Who?

Four women stood upon the crest of history: Katherine of Aragons daughter, Mary; Anne Boleyns daughter, Elizabeth; Mary, Queen of Scots; and Lady Jane Grey. But over the centuries, other exceptional women had struggled to push the boundaries of their authority and influence—and been vilified as “she-wolves” for their ambitions. Revealed in vivid detail, the stories of Eleanor of Aquitaine, Isabella of France, Margaret of Anjou, and the Empress Matilda expose the paradox that Englands next female leaders would confront as the Tudor throne lay before them—man ruled woman, but these women sought to rule a nation.

About the Author

Helen Castor is a historian of medieval England and a fellow of Sidney Sussex College, Cambridge. Her last book, Blood and Roses, a biography of the fifteenth-century Paston family, was long-listed for the Samuel Johnson Prize in 2005 and won the English Association's Beatrice White Prize in 2006. She lives in London with her husband and son.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780061430770
Subtitle:
The Women Who Ruled England Before Elizabeth
Author:
Castor, Helen
Publisher:
Harper Perennial
Subject:
Great Britain Kings and rulers.
Subject:
Elizabeth
Subject:
General
Subject:
Europe - General
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Subject:
Biography-Royalty
Edition Description:
Trade PB
Publication Date:
20120131
Binding:
Paperback
Language:
English
Pages:
496
Dimensions:
9 x 6 x 1.24 in 17.78 oz

Other books you might like

  1. The Running Dream Sale Trade Paper $4.98
  2. Exposed Used Hardcover $5.95
  3. Bunheads Sale Trade Paper $4.98
  4. People Who Eat Darkness: The True...
    Used Trade Paper $7.95
  5. Ben-Hur: A Tale of the Christ... Used Mass Market $4.95

Related Subjects

Biography » Historical
Biography » Royalty
Featured Titles » Biography
Featured Titles » General
History and Social Science » Europe » Great Britain » General History
History and Social Science » Europe » Great Britain » Pre Tudor
History and Social Science » World History » England » General
History and Social Science » World History » England » Royalty
History and Social Science » World History » General

She-Wolves: The Women Who Ruled England Before Elizabeth New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$16.99 In Stock
Product details 496 pages Harper Perennial - English 9780061430770 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , “Helen Castor has an exhilarating narrative gift. . . . Readers will love this book, finding it wholly absorbing and rewarding.” —Hilary Mantel, Booker Prize-winning author of Wolf Hall 

In the tradition of Antonia Fraser, David Starkey, and Alison Weir, prize-winning historian Helen Castor delivers a compelling, eye-opening examination of women and power in England, witnessed through the lives of six women who exercised power against all odds—and one who never got the chance. Exploring the narratives of the Empress Matilda, Eleanor of Aquitaine, Isabella of France, Margaret of Anjou, and other “she-wolves,” as well as that of the Nine Days' Queen, Lady Jane Grey, Castor invokes a magisterial discussion of how much—and how little—has changed through the centuries. 

"Synopsis" by , With the death of Edward VI in 1553, England, for the first time, would have a reigning queen. The question was: Who?

Four women stood upon the crest of history: Katherine of Aragons daughter, Mary; Anne Boleyns daughter, Elizabeth; Mary, Queen of Scots; and Lady Jane Grey. But over the centuries, other exceptional women had struggled to push the boundaries of their authority and influence—and been vilified as “she-wolves” for their ambitions. Revealed in vivid detail, the stories of Eleanor of Aquitaine, Isabella of France, Margaret of Anjou, and the Empress Matilda expose the paradox that Englands next female leaders would confront as the Tudor throne lay before them—man ruled woman, but these women sought to rule a nation.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.