Poetry Madness
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | April 8, 2014

Shawn Donley: IMG Gabrielle Zevin: The Powells.com Interview



Gabrielle ZevinThe American Booksellers Association collects nominations from bookstores all over the country for favorite forthcoming titles. The Storied Life of... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry

    Gabrielle Zevin 9781616203214

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$13.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Burnside Economics- General

Bounce: Mozart, Federer, Picasso, Beckham, and the Science of Success

by

Bounce: Mozart, Federer, Picasso, Beckham, and the Science of Success Cover

ISBN13: 9780061723759
ISBN10: 0061723754
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $13.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Why have all the sprinters who have run the 100 meters in under ten seconds been black?

What's one thing Mozart, Venus Williams, and Michelangelo have in common?

Is it good to praise a child's intelligence?

Why are baseball players so superstitious?

Few things in life are more satisfying than beating a rival. We love to win and hate to lose, whether it's on the playing field or at the ballot box, in the office or in the classroom. In this bold new look at human behavior, award-winning journalist and Olympian Matthew Syed explores the truth about our competitive nature—why we win, why we don't, and how we really play the game of life. Bounce reveals how competition—the most vivid, primal, and dramatic of human pursuits—provides vital insight into many of the most controversial issues of our time, from biology and economics, to psychology and culture, to genetics and race, to sports and politics.

Backed by cutting-edge scientific research and case studies, Syed shatters long-held myths about meritocracy, talent, performance, and the mind. He explains why some people thrive under pressure and others choke, and weighs the value of innate ability against that of practice, hard work, and will. From sex to math, from the motivation of children to the culture of big business, Bounce shows how competition provides a master key with which to unlock the mysteries of the world.

Review:

"Syed, sportswriter and columnist for the London Times, takes a hard look at performance psychology, heavily influenced by his own ego-damaging but fruitful epiphany. At the age of 24, Syed became the #1 British table tennis player, an achievement he initially attributed to his superior speed and agility. But in retrospect, he realizes that a combination of advantages — a mentor, good facilities nearby, and lots of time to hone his skills — set him up perfectly to become a star performer. He admits his argument owes a debt to Malcolm Gladwell's Outliers, but he aims to move one step beyond it, drawing on cognitive neuroscience research to explain how the body and mind are transformed by specialized practice. He takes on the myth of the child prodigy, emphasizing that Mozart, the Williams sisters, Tiger Woods, and Susan Polgar, the first female grandmaster, all had live-in coaches in the form of supportive parents who put them through a ton of early practice. Cogent discussions of the neuroscience of competition, including the placebo effect of irrational optimism, self-doubt, and superstitions, all lend credence to a compelling narrative; readers who gobbled up Freakonomics and Predictably Irrational will flock to this one." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

In the vein of the international bestselling Freakonomics, award-winning journalist Matthew Syed reveals the hidden clues to success—in sports, business, school, and just about anything else that youd want to be great at. Fans of Predictably Irrational and Malcolm Gladwells The Tipping Point will find many interesting and helpful insights in Bounce.

About the Author

A two-time Olympian and a graduate of Oxford University, Matthew Syed is a columnist for The Times (London), a commentator for the BBC, and a recipient of the British Press Award for Sports Journalist of the Year, and was named British Sports Feature Writer of the Year by the Sports Journalists' Association.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

pointsource, January 1, 2011 (view all comments by pointsource)
This book is about performance and why even acknowledged experts in their fields can fail and fail miserably. All that aside, it is the first time I've ever encountered a real explanation of "choking" or "clutching" and not only why it happens (in detail) but also how to avoid it. This book will serve anyone who aspires to greatness but fears the pointy end of the pyramid.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780061723759
Subtitle:
Mozart, Federer, Picasso, Beckham, and the Science of Success
Author:
Syed, Matthew
Author:
Syed, Mathew
Publisher:
Harper
Subject:
General
Subject:
Personal Growth - Success
Subject:
General Business & Economics
Subject:
Self-Help : General
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Publication Date:
20100420
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
9 x 6 x 1.05 in 16.64 oz

Other books you might like

  1. How an Economy Grows and Why It Crashes Used Hardcover $12.50
  2. Story of My Life (Vintage... Used Trade Paper $4.50
  3. Not for Profit: Why Democracy Needs... Used Hardcover $12.00
  4. Yves Saint Laurent New Hardcover $65.00
  5. Libertarianism, from A to Z New Trade Paper $15.99

Related Subjects

Health and Self-Help » Self-Help » General
History and Social Science » Economics » General
Sports and Outdoors » Sports and Fitness » Business Aspects
Sports and Outdoors » Sports and Fitness » Coaching

Bounce: Mozart, Federer, Picasso, Beckham, and the Science of Success Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$13.95 In Stock
Product details 320 pages Harper - English 9780061723759 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Syed, sportswriter and columnist for the London Times, takes a hard look at performance psychology, heavily influenced by his own ego-damaging but fruitful epiphany. At the age of 24, Syed became the #1 British table tennis player, an achievement he initially attributed to his superior speed and agility. But in retrospect, he realizes that a combination of advantages — a mentor, good facilities nearby, and lots of time to hone his skills — set him up perfectly to become a star performer. He admits his argument owes a debt to Malcolm Gladwell's Outliers, but he aims to move one step beyond it, drawing on cognitive neuroscience research to explain how the body and mind are transformed by specialized practice. He takes on the myth of the child prodigy, emphasizing that Mozart, the Williams sisters, Tiger Woods, and Susan Polgar, the first female grandmaster, all had live-in coaches in the form of supportive parents who put them through a ton of early practice. Cogent discussions of the neuroscience of competition, including the placebo effect of irrational optimism, self-doubt, and superstitions, all lend credence to a compelling narrative; readers who gobbled up Freakonomics and Predictably Irrational will flock to this one." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by , In the vein of the international bestselling Freakonomics, award-winning journalist Matthew Syed reveals the hidden clues to success—in sports, business, school, and just about anything else that youd want to be great at. Fans of Predictably Irrational and Malcolm Gladwells The Tipping Point will find many interesting and helpful insights in Bounce.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.