Knockout Narratives Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | January 12, 2015

    Christopher Scotton: IMG Five Hundred Mountains Destroyed for a @*&%$! Allegory!



    I found a hole in the perimeter fence on a Sunday when the haul trucks were idle and I could work my way up the shoulder of mountain undetected.... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$7.98
List price: $15.99
Sale Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Christianity- Sexual Issues

More copies of this ISBN

This title in other editions

Unprotected Texts: The Bible's Surprising Contradictions about Sex and Desire

by

Unprotected Texts: The Bible's Surprising Contradictions about Sex and Desire Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Bible scholar Jennifer Wright Knust addresses the big questions that dominate today's discussions and debates when it comes to sex and the Bible: Is premarital sex a sin? When, and in what contexts, is sexual desire appropriate? With whom can I legitimately have sex? Are same-sex relations permissible? In an era where the phrases, "the Bible says," and "God says," are so often exploited, it is time to consider what the Bible actually does—or does not—say about monogamy, polygamy, homosexuality, gender roles, and sex.

Unprotected Texts directly and pointedly takes on widely shared misconceptions about sex, arguing that the Bible cannot—and should not—serve as a rulebook for sexual morality, despite popular claims to the contrary. From the Song of Songs' lyrical eroticism to the rigid sexual rules of Leviticus—and everything in between—Knust parses the Bible's contradictory, often surprising messages.

Skillfully revealing the latest insights from critical scholarship, Knust provides a compassionate and liberating model for navigating these deeply personal issues that affect us all.

Synopsis:

“An explosive, fascinating book that reveals how the Bible cannot be used as a rulebook when it comes to sex. A terrific read by a top scholar.” —Bart Ehrman, author of Misquoting Jesus

Boston Universitys cutting-edge religion scholar Jennifer Wright Knust reveals the Bibles contradictory messages about sex in this thoughtful, riveting, and timely reexploration of the letter of the gospels. In the tradition of Bart Erhmans Jesus Interrupted and John Shelby Spongs Sins of Scripture, Knusts Unprotected Texts liberates us from the pervasive moralizing—the fickle dos and donts—so often dictated by religious demagogues. Knusts powerful reading offers a return to the scripture, away from the mere slogans to which it is so often reduced.

Synopsis:

Think You Know What the Bible Really Says About Sex? Think Again.

Is premarital sex a sin? When, and in what contexts, is sexual desire appropriate? With whom can I legitimately have sex? Are same-sex relations permissible? With fresh scholarship and unflagging compassion, Jennifer Wright Knust addresses the questions that dominate todays debates over sex and the Bible. At a time when the words “the Bible says” are too often wielded for social and political gain, its time to consider what scripture actually does—or does not—say about monogamy, homosexuality, gender roles, and sex.

About the Author

Jennifer Wright Knust is assistant professor of religion at Boston University, specializing in New Testament, biblical studies, and early Christian history. An ordained American Baptist pastor, she has served churches in Philadelphia and Maine. She holds a doctorate in religion from Columbia University and a master of divinity from Union Theological Seminary in New York. She is the author of Abandoned to Lust: Sexual Slander and Ancient Christianity.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780061725395
Subtitle:
The Bible's Surprising Contradictions About Sex and Desire
Author:
Knust, Jennifer Wright
Author:
Wright Knust, Jennifer
Publisher:
HarperOne
Subject:
Bible - Criticism Interpretation - General
Subject:
Christianity-Biblical Criticism
Edition Description:
Trade PB
Publication Date:
20120207
Binding:
Paperback
Language:
English
Pages:
352
Dimensions:
9 x 6 x 0.88 in 17.78 oz

Other books you might like

  1. Haiti After the Earthquake Sale Hardcover $7.95
  2. Frida Kahlo: 1907-1954 Pain and Passion Used Hardcover $4.50

Related Subjects


Children's » Action and Adventure » Adventure Stories
Religion » Christianity » Biblical Reference » Criticism
Religion » Christianity » Christian Living
Religion » Christianity » Sexual Issues
Religion » Comparative Religion » General
Religion » Western Religions » Family and Relationship Issues
Religion » World Religions » Sexuality and Gender Studies
Science and Mathematics » Chemistry » Biochemistry

Unprotected Texts: The Bible's Surprising Contradictions about Sex and Desire Sale Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$7.98 In Stock
Product details 352 pages HarperOne - English 9780061725395 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , “An explosive, fascinating book that reveals how the Bible cannot be used as a rulebook when it comes to sex. A terrific read by a top scholar.” —Bart Ehrman, author of Misquoting Jesus

Boston Universitys cutting-edge religion scholar Jennifer Wright Knust reveals the Bibles contradictory messages about sex in this thoughtful, riveting, and timely reexploration of the letter of the gospels. In the tradition of Bart Erhmans Jesus Interrupted and John Shelby Spongs Sins of Scripture, Knusts Unprotected Texts liberates us from the pervasive moralizing—the fickle dos and donts—so often dictated by religious demagogues. Knusts powerful reading offers a return to the scripture, away from the mere slogans to which it is so often reduced.
"Synopsis" by , Think You Know What the Bible Really Says About Sex? Think Again.

Is premarital sex a sin? When, and in what contexts, is sexual desire appropriate? With whom can I legitimately have sex? Are same-sex relations permissible? With fresh scholarship and unflagging compassion, Jennifer Wright Knust addresses the questions that dominate todays debates over sex and the Bible. At a time when the words “the Bible says” are too often wielded for social and political gain, its time to consider what scripture actually does—or does not—say about monogamy, homosexuality, gender roles, and sex.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.