25 Women to Read Before You Die
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Lists | September 2, 2015

    Joy Williams: IMG Eight Essential Attributes of the Short Story and One Way It Differs from the Novel



    1) There should be a clean clear surface with much disturbance below. 2) An anagogical level. 3) Sentences that can stand strikingly alone. 4) An... Continue »
    1. $21.00 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$7.99
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
4 Beaverton Children's Middle Readers- General
9 Beaverton Children's- Oregon Reader's Choice Award
9 Burnside Children's Middle Readers- General
4 Hawthorne Children's Middle Readers- General
25 Local Warehouse Children's- General
25 Remote Warehouse Children's- General

Ungifted

by

Ungifted Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Gordon Korman comes a hilarious and heartfelt novel in which one middle-school troublemaker accidentally moves into the gifted and talented program—and changes everything. For fans of Louis Sachar and Jack Gantos, this funny and touching underdog story is a lovable and goofy adventure with robot fights, middle-school dances, live experiments, and statue-toppling pranks!

When Donovan Curtis pulls a major prank at his middle school, he thinks hes finally gone too far. But thanks to a mix-up by one of the administrators, instead of getting in trouble, Donovan is sent to the Academy of Scholastic Distinction, a special program for gifted and talented students.

Although it wasnt exactly what Donovan had intended, the ASD couldnt be a more perfectly unexpected hideout for someone like him. But as the students and teachers of ASD grow to realize that Donovan may not be good at math or science (or just about anything), he shows that his gifts may be exactly what the ASD students never knew they needed. 

Synopsis:

The word gifted has never been applied to a kid like Donovan Curtis.

It's usually more like Don't try this at home. So when the troublemaker pulls a major prank at his middle school, he thinks he's finally gone too far. But thanks to a mix-up, instead of getting in trouble, Donovan is sent to the Academy of Scholastic Distinction (ASD), a special program for gifted and talented students.

It wasn't exactly what Donovan had intended, but there couldn't be a more perfect hideout. That is, if he can manage to fool people whose IQs are above genius level. But after an ongoing experiment with a live human (sister), an unforgettably dramatic middle-school dance, and the most astonishing come-from-behind robot victory ever, Donovan shows that his gifts might be exactly what the ASD students never knew they needed.

About the Author

Gordon Korman has written more than fifty middle-grade and teen novels. Favorites include the #1 New York Times bestseller The 39 Clues: One False Note, Son of the Mob, and Schooled. Though he didn't play football in high school, Gordon's been a lifelong fan and season ticket holder. He says, "I've always been fascinated by the 'culture of collision' in football, and wanted to explore it—not just from the highlight films, but from its darker side as well." Gordon lives with his family on Long Island, New York.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780061742675
Author:
Korman, Gordon
Publisher:
Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
Subject:
Children s-General
Subject:
School & Education
Edition Description:
Paperback
Publication Date:
20140231
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 5
Language:
English
Pages:
288
Dimensions:
7.625 x 5.125 in 8 oz
Age Level:
from 8 up to 12

Other books you might like

  1. Sasquatch
    Used Trade Paper $1.95
  2. Rules (Apple Signature)
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  3. The Fantastic Secret of Owen Jester Used Trade Paper $3.50
  4. A Nest for Celeste: A Story about...
    Used Trade Paper $4.95
  5. Lions of Little Rock Used Trade Paper $4.50
  6. Warriors Series: Into the Wild...
    Used Trade Paper $3.95

Related Subjects

Children's » Awards » Oregon Reader's Choice Award
Children's » General
Children's » Humor
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Oregon Battle of the Books
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Friendship

Ungifted New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$7.99 In Stock
Product details 288 pages Balzer & Bray/Harperteen - English 9780061742675 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , The word gifted has never been applied to a kid like Donovan Curtis.

It's usually more like Don't try this at home. So when the troublemaker pulls a major prank at his middle school, he thinks he's finally gone too far. But thanks to a mix-up, instead of getting in trouble, Donovan is sent to the Academy of Scholastic Distinction (ASD), a special program for gifted and talented students.

It wasn't exactly what Donovan had intended, but there couldn't be a more perfect hideout. That is, if he can manage to fool people whose IQs are above genius level. But after an ongoing experiment with a live human (sister), an unforgettably dramatic middle-school dance, and the most astonishing come-from-behind robot victory ever, Donovan shows that his gifts might be exactly what the ASD students never knew they needed.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

       
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.