Star Wars Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN!

Weekly drawing for $100 credit. Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

More at Powell's


Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | June 20, 2014

Lauren Owen: IMG The Other Vampire



It's a wild and thundery night. Inside a ramshackle old manor house, a beautiful young girl lies asleep in bed. At the window, a figure watches... Continue »
  1. $18.90 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Quick

    Lauren Owen 9780812993271

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$17.50
List price: $24.99
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Burnside GN- GRAPHIC NOVELS

Gris Grimly's Frankenstein

by

Gris Grimly's Frankenstein Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

I saw the pale student of unhallowed arts kneeling beside the thing he had put together. I saw the hideous phantasm of a man stretched out, and then, on the working of some powerful engine, show signs of life, and stir with an uneasy, half vital motion.

Thus did Mary Shelley describe the vision that inspired her to compose Frankenstein on a trip to Geneva in the summer of 1816. A tale of science and morality, of love and loss, of hope and despair, the account of Victor Frankenstein's terrifying experiments into the very nature of life and death still echoes two hundred years after its original composition—an enduring reminder of man's ability to create and his ability to destroy. It has inspired generations of writers, artists, and filmmakers, and has borne countless adaptations—in print, on the stage, and on the screen.

But nothing quite like this.

Gris Grimly, another student of unhallowed arts and master of gothic horror, has long considered Frankenstein to be one of his chief inspirations. From the bones and flesh of the original, he has cut and stitched Mary Shelley's text to his own artwork, creating something entirely new: a stunningly original remix both classic and contemporary, sinister and seductive, heartstopping and heartbreaking. It is the first fully illustrated version to use the original 1818 text and is destined to capture the imagination of those new to the story as well as those who know it well.

Beautifully terrifying and terrifyingly beautiful, this is Frankenstein as you've never seen it before.

Review:

"Grimly's fans have been awaiting this reworking of Shelley's 1818 classic for four years, and they will rejoice in the end result. Spidery ink lines and a palette of jaundiced yellows and faded sepias plumb the darkness of the writer's imaginings. Frankenstein's bone-embellished military jacket and pop-star shock of hair turn him into a sort of anachronistic punk scientist, but other elements of the work are more circumspect. Crabbed, tense portraits of Frankenstein's friends and family combine historical detail with theatrical emotion. The images of the dissections that lead to the monster's creation dwell on flesh and bone, yet show, for Grimly, a certain restraint. Even more notable is Grimly's refusal to capitalize on the horror of the iconic scenes for which the movie versions of the story are remembered. The monster's crimes are shown mostly in b&w thumbnails, as if Grimly were hastening through them to probe more carefully the monster's self-loathing and Frankenstein's ruin. Fans will return to these pages obsessively; readers encountering the story for the first time may find Grimly's images rise to view whenever they think of it. Ages 13 — up. Agent: Steven Malk, Writers House. (Aug.)â–" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

Gris Grimly's Frankenstein is a twisted, fresh, and utterly original full-length, full-color graphic-novel adaptation of Mary Shelley's original text, brought to life by acclaimed illustrator Gris Grimly.

This is the first fully illustrated version to use the original 1818 text and is destined to capture the imagination of those new to the story as well as those who know it well.

New York Times bestselling illustrator Gris Grimly has long considered Frankenstein to be one of his chief inspirations. From the bones and flesh of the original, he has cut and stitched Mary Shelley's text to his own artwork, creating something entirely new: a stunningly original remix, both classic and contemporary, sinister and seductive, heart-stopping and heartbreaking.

Perfect for fans of Edgar Allan Poe and Neil Gaiman's Coraline.

About the Author

Gris Grimly used to play in the underground labyrinths of his small hometown. He is an atrocious speller and often puts letters together to create words hes convinced really exist in the human language. He is fond of the letter M, which is the thirteenth letter of the alphabet (the total number of books Gris has written or illustrated) and is the first letter in madcreator.com, where other information about Gris Grimly can be found.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780061862977
Author:
Grimly, Gris
Publisher:
Balzer + Bray
Author:
Mary Shelley
Subject:
Horror & Ghost Stories
Subject:
Childrens classics
Subject:
Graphic Novels-Literary
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Publication Date:
20130827
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
from 8
Language:
English
Pages:
208
Dimensions:
10.25 x 6.625 in 17.78 oz
Age Level:
from 13

Other books you might like

  1. Edgar Allan Poe's Tales of Death and... New Hardcover $19.99
  2. The Legend of Sleepy Hollow New Hardcover $17.99
  3. Edgar Allan Poe's Tales of Mystery...
    Used Hardcover $10.95

Related Subjects

Children's » Classics » General
Children's » General
Children's » Scary Stories » General
Featured Titles » General
Fiction and Poetry » Graphic Novels » Film and TV
Fiction and Poetry » Graphic Novels » General
Fiction and Poetry » Graphic Novels » Horror
Fiction and Poetry » Graphic Novels » Literary

Gris Grimly's Frankenstein Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$17.50 In Stock
Product details 208 pages Balzer & Bray/Harperteen - English 9780061862977 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Grimly's fans have been awaiting this reworking of Shelley's 1818 classic for four years, and they will rejoice in the end result. Spidery ink lines and a palette of jaundiced yellows and faded sepias plumb the darkness of the writer's imaginings. Frankenstein's bone-embellished military jacket and pop-star shock of hair turn him into a sort of anachronistic punk scientist, but other elements of the work are more circumspect. Crabbed, tense portraits of Frankenstein's friends and family combine historical detail with theatrical emotion. The images of the dissections that lead to the monster's creation dwell on flesh and bone, yet show, for Grimly, a certain restraint. Even more notable is Grimly's refusal to capitalize on the horror of the iconic scenes for which the movie versions of the story are remembered. The monster's crimes are shown mostly in b&w thumbnails, as if Grimly were hastening through them to probe more carefully the monster's self-loathing and Frankenstein's ruin. Fans will return to these pages obsessively; readers encountering the story for the first time may find Grimly's images rise to view whenever they think of it. Ages 13 — up. Agent: Steven Malk, Writers House. (Aug.)â–" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by , Gris Grimly's Frankenstein is a twisted, fresh, and utterly original full-length, full-color graphic-novel adaptation of Mary Shelley's original text, brought to life by acclaimed illustrator Gris Grimly.

This is the first fully illustrated version to use the original 1818 text and is destined to capture the imagination of those new to the story as well as those who know it well.

New York Times bestselling illustrator Gris Grimly has long considered Frankenstein to be one of his chief inspirations. From the bones and flesh of the original, he has cut and stitched Mary Shelley's text to his own artwork, creating something entirely new: a stunningly original remix, both classic and contemporary, sinister and seductive, heart-stopping and heartbreaking.

Perfect for fans of Edgar Allan Poe and Neil Gaiman's Coraline.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.