Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | August 20, 2014

Julie Schumacher: IMG Dear Professor Fitger



Saint Paul, August 2014 Dear Professor Fitger, I've been asked to say a few words about you for Powells.com. Having dreamed you up with a ball-point... Continue »
  1. $16.07 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Dear Committee Members

    Julie Schumacher 9780385538138

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.50
List price: $14.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Literature- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

The King's Daughter

by

The King's Daughter Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The daughter of James I, the Princess Elizabeth would not be merely her father's pawn in the royal marriage market.

The court of James I is a dangerous place, with factions led by warring cousins Robert Cecil and Francis Bacon. While Europe seethes with conflict between Protestants and Catholics, James sees himself as a grand peacemaker—and wants to make his mark by trading his children for political treaties.

Henry, Prince of Wales, and his sister, Elizabeth, find themselves far more popular than their distrusted father, a perilous position for a child of a jealous king. When Elizabeth is introduced to one suitor, Frederick, the Elector Palatine, she feels the unexpected possibility of happiness. But her fate is not her own to choose—and when her parents brutally withdraw their support for the union, Elizabeth must take command of her own future, with the help of an unexpected ally, the slave girl Tallie, who seeks her own, very different freedom.

Review:

"In Dickason's (The Memory Palace) epic story of royal secrets and love, the court of James I is a tumultuous place, with warring factions and a mercurial ruler creating a heady climate for the king's eldest children, Henry and Elizabeth. Henry is the golden heir, wildly popular with the people and painfully noble. And while Elizabeth is groomed for her role as a marriageable pawn fit only to secure English interests abroad, she is also a willful girl out to secure her own destiny and have a say in her choice of mate. The story comes alive when Elizabeth recruits Thalia, a freed slave, to gather intelligence from the king about her pending nuptials, finding herself embroiled in a dangerous game; unfortunately this most compelling thread is quickly dropped. When Henry dies, however, Elizabeth's marriage becomes of even greater concern to England. With a delightful touch, Dickason immerses readers into a difficult period of English history. Her Elizabeth is a powerful, compelling character, equal parts vulnerability and nobility, and other characters are drawn with respect. Fans of historical novels will enjoy her newest and eagerly await the next. (Nov.)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright PWyxz LLC)

Synopsis:

In the vein of Philippa Gregory, The Kings Daughter is a superb historical novel of the Jacobean court that will thrill historical fiction fans everywhere. Combining fascinating fact with ingenious fiction, Christie Dickason, the acclaimed author of The Firemasters Mistress, tells the spellbinding story of Princess Elizabeth, daughter of James I, and her determined efforts to avoid becoming her fathers pawn in the royal marriage market.

About the Author

Christie Dickason was born in Indiana, but as a child, she lived in Thailand, Mexico, and Switzerland. She is Harvard-educated and a former theater director and choreographer with the Royal Shakespeare Company, and she lives in London with her family.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780061976278
Author:
Dickason, Christie
Publisher:
Harper Paperbacks
Subject:
General
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Edition Description:
Trade PB
Publication Date:
20101131
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
480
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 x 0.57 in 8.56 oz

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

The King's Daughter Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.50 In Stock
Product details 480 pages Harper Paperbacks - English 9780061976278 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "In Dickason's (The Memory Palace) epic story of royal secrets and love, the court of James I is a tumultuous place, with warring factions and a mercurial ruler creating a heady climate for the king's eldest children, Henry and Elizabeth. Henry is the golden heir, wildly popular with the people and painfully noble. And while Elizabeth is groomed for her role as a marriageable pawn fit only to secure English interests abroad, she is also a willful girl out to secure her own destiny and have a say in her choice of mate. The story comes alive when Elizabeth recruits Thalia, a freed slave, to gather intelligence from the king about her pending nuptials, finding herself embroiled in a dangerous game; unfortunately this most compelling thread is quickly dropped. When Henry dies, however, Elizabeth's marriage becomes of even greater concern to England. With a delightful touch, Dickason immerses readers into a difficult period of English history. Her Elizabeth is a powerful, compelling character, equal parts vulnerability and nobility, and other characters are drawn with respect. Fans of historical novels will enjoy her newest and eagerly await the next. (Nov.)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright PWyxz LLC)
"Synopsis" by ,

In the vein of Philippa Gregory, The Kings Daughter is a superb historical novel of the Jacobean court that will thrill historical fiction fans everywhere. Combining fascinating fact with ingenious fiction, Christie Dickason, the acclaimed author of The Firemasters Mistress, tells the spellbinding story of Princess Elizabeth, daughter of James I, and her determined efforts to avoid becoming her fathers pawn in the royal marriage market.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.