Minecraft Adventures B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays, Recipes | August 19, 2015

    Cara Nicoletti: IMG Ramona Quimby Yogurt-Marinated Chicken Thighs



    Note: Join us at Powell's Books at Cedar Hills Crossing on Wednesday, September 16, for an author event with Cara Nicoletti. As a kid, I read for... Continue »
    1. $19.60 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$11.50
List price: $15.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Economics- General

The Upside of Irrationality: The Unexpected Benefits of Defying Logic (P.S.)

by

The Upside of Irrationality: The Unexpected Benefits of Defying Logic (P.S.) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

How can large bonuses sometimes make CEOs less productive?
Why is revenge so important to us?
How can confusing directions actually help us?
Why is there a difference between what we think will make us happy and what really makes us happy?

In his groundbreaking book, Predictably Irrational, social scientist Dan Ariely revealed the multiple biases that lead us to make unwise decisions. Now, in The Upside of Irrationality, he exposes the surprising negative and positive effects irrationality can have on our lives. Focusing on our behaviors at work and in relationships, he offers new insights and eye-opening truths about what really motivates us on the job, how one unwise action can become a long-term bad habit, how we learn to love the ones were with, and more. The Upside of Irrationality will change the way we see ourselves at work and at home—and cast our irrational behaviors in a more nuanced light.

Synopsis:

“Dan Ariely is a genius at understanding human behavior: no economist does a better job of uncovering and explaining the hidden reasons for the weird ways we act.” — James Surowiecki, author of The Wisdom of Crowds

Behavioral economist and New York Times bestselling author of Predictably Irrational Dan Ariely returns to offer a much-needed take on the irrational decisions that influence our dating lives, our workplace experiences, and our temptation to cheat in any and all areas. Fans of Freakonomics, Survival of the Sickest, and Malcolm Gladwells Blink and The Tipping Point will find many thought-provoking insights in The Upside of Irrationality.

About the Author

Dan Ariely is the James B. Duke Professor of Psychology and Behavioral Economics at Duke University, and is the founder of the Center for Advanced Hindsight. His work has been featured in the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Boston Globe, and elsewhere. He lives in North Carolina with his family.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780061995040
Author:
Ariely, Dan
Publisher:
Harper Perennial
Subject:
General Business & Economics
Subject:
Business Writing
Subject:
Mathematics | Probability and Statistics
Edition Description:
Trade PB
Series:
P.S.
Publication Date:
20110531
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
368
Dimensions:
9 x 6 x 1.45185 in 17.78 oz

Other books you might like

  1. Write Source 2000: A Guide to... Used Hardcover $1.48
  2. Great Source School to Work:... Used Trade Paper $5.95
  3. Jumbo Book of Teacher Tips and... Used Trade Paper $2.95
  4. One Day in History: July 4, 1776... New Hardcover $23.95
  5. So Each May Learn: Integrating... Used Trade Paper $7.95
  6. Dancing with Digital Natives:... Used Hardcover $8.50

Related Subjects

Business » General
Business » Management
Business » Marketing
Health and Self-Help » Psychology » Cognitive Science
History and Social Science » Economics » General
History and Social Science » Sociology » General
Science and Mathematics » Mathematics » Probability and Statistics » General
Science and Mathematics » Mathematics » Probability and Statistics » Statistics

The Upside of Irrationality: The Unexpected Benefits of Defying Logic (P.S.) Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$11.50 In Stock
Product details 368 pages Harper Perennial - English 9780061995040 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , “Dan Ariely is a genius at understanding human behavior: no economist does a better job of uncovering and explaining the hidden reasons for the weird ways we act.” — James Surowiecki, author of The Wisdom of Crowds

Behavioral economist and New York Times bestselling author of Predictably Irrational Dan Ariely returns to offer a much-needed take on the irrational decisions that influence our dating lives, our workplace experiences, and our temptation to cheat in any and all areas. Fans of Freakonomics, Survival of the Sickest, and Malcolm Gladwells Blink and The Tipping Point will find many thought-provoking insights in The Upside of Irrationality.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

       
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.