The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | September 2, 2014

Jill Owens: IMG David Mitchell: The Powells.com Interview



David MitchellDavid Mitchell's newest mind-bending, time-skipping novel may be his most accomplished work yet. Written in six sections, one per decade, The Bone... Continue »
  1. $21.00 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Bone Clocks

    David Mitchell 9781400065677

spacer

The Upside of Irrationality: The Unexpected Benefits of Defying Logic (P.S.)

by

The Upside of Irrationality: The Unexpected Benefits of Defying Logic (P.S.) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

How can large bonuses sometimes make CEOs less productive?
Why is revenge so important to us?
How can confusing directions actually help us?
Why is there a difference between what we think will make us happy and what really makes us happy?

In his groundbreaking book, Predictably Irrational, social scientist Dan Ariely revealed the multiple biases that lead us to make unwise decisions. Now, in The Upside of Irrationality, he exposes the surprising negative and positive effects irrationality can have on our lives. Focusing on our behaviors at work and in relationships, he offers new insights and eye-opening truths about what really motivates us on the job, how one unwise action can become a long-term bad habit, how we learn to love the ones were with, and more. The Upside of Irrationality will change the way we see ourselves at work and at home—and cast our irrational behaviors in a more nuanced light.

Synopsis:

“Dan Ariely is a genius at understanding human behavior: no economist does a better job of uncovering and explaining the hidden reasons for the weird ways we act.” — James Surowiecki, author of The Wisdom of Crowds

Behavioral economist and New York Times bestselling author of Predictably Irrational Dan Ariely returns to offer a much-needed take on the irrational decisions that influence our dating lives, our workplace experiences, and our temptation to cheat in any and all areas. Fans of Freakonomics, Survival of the Sickest, and Malcolm Gladwells Blink and The Tipping Point will find many thought-provoking insights in The Upside of Irrationality.

About the Author

Dan Ariely is the James B. Duke Professor of Psychology and Behavioral Economics at Duke University. He is the founder and director of the Center for Advanced Hindsight. His work has been featured in many outlets, including the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, the Boston Globe, and others. He lives in Durham, North Carolina, with his wife, Sumi, and their two creative children, Amit and Neta.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780061995040
Author:
Ariely, Dan
Publisher:
Harper Perennial
Subject:
General Business & Economics
Subject:
Business Writing
Subject:
Mathematics | Probability and Statistics
Edition Description:
Trade PB
Series:
P.S.
Publication Date:
20110531
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
368
Dimensions:
9 x 6 x 1.45185 in 17.78 oz

Other books you might like

  1. Write Source 2000: A Guide to... Used Hardcover $1.48
  2. Great Source School to Work:... Used Trade Paper $5.95
  3. Jumbo Book of Teacher Tips and... Used Trade Paper $2.95
  4. One Day in History: July 4, 1776... Sale Hardcover $7.98
  5. So Each May Learn: Integrating... Used Trade Paper $7.95
  6. Dancing with Digital Natives:... Used Hardcover $11.95

Related Subjects

Business » General
Business » Management
Business » Marketing
Health and Self-Help » Psychology » Cognitive Science
History and Social Science » Economics » General
History and Social Science » Sociology » General
Science and Mathematics » Mathematics » Probability and Statistics » General
Science and Mathematics » Mathematics » Probability and Statistics » Statistics

The Upside of Irrationality: The Unexpected Benefits of Defying Logic (P.S.) Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$11.50 In Stock
Product details 368 pages Harper Perennial - English 9780061995040 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , “Dan Ariely is a genius at understanding human behavior: no economist does a better job of uncovering and explaining the hidden reasons for the weird ways we act.” — James Surowiecki, author of The Wisdom of Crowds

Behavioral economist and New York Times bestselling author of Predictably Irrational Dan Ariely returns to offer a much-needed take on the irrational decisions that influence our dating lives, our workplace experiences, and our temptation to cheat in any and all areas. Fans of Freakonomics, Survival of the Sickest, and Malcolm Gladwells Blink and The Tipping Point will find many thought-provoking insights in The Upside of Irrationality.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.