The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Powell's Q&A | September 3, 2014

Emily St. John Mandel: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Emily St. John Mandel



Describe your latest book. My new novel is called Station Eleven. It's about a traveling Shakespearean theatre company in a post-apocalyptic North... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Station Eleven

    Emily St. John Mandel 9780385353304

spacer

Words and Rules: The Ingredients of Language (P.S.)

by

Words and Rules: The Ingredients of Language (P.S.) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

How does language work? How do we learn to speak? Why do languages change? Why do they have so many quirks? What does language reveal about the mind?

Steven Pinker explores the mysteries of language in this original and hugely entertaining book. Pinker uses a deceptively simple phenomenon—regular and irregular verbs—to illuminate an astonishing array of topics: the history of languages, what we can learn from children's grammatical mistakes, the genetic and neurobiological underpinnings of language, and some of the major themes in Western philosophy. The key idea—that language comprises a mental dictionary of memorized words and a mental grammar of creative rules—extends beyond language, offering insight into the nature of thinking. For fans of The Language Instinct and The Stuff of Thought, here is another cornucopia of ideas about language and mind.

Synopsis:

“Deliciously erudite.” —William Safire, New York Times Magazine

“A riveting detective story.” —Chicago Tribune

Steven Pinker, author of the landmark bestsellers The Language Instinct, How the Mind Works, and The Blank Slate—and one of the worlds leading cognitive scientists—and offers an eye-opening explanation of how human beings learn and use language in Words and Rules. First published in 2000, Words and Rules remains one of Pinkers most provocative and accessible books, illuminating the fascinating relationship between the brain, the mind, and the how language makes us human.

About the Author

The Johnstone Family Professor of Psychology at Harvard University, Steven Pinker has been named one of Timemagazine's "Hundred Most Important People in the World Today," and has been awarded numerous prizes for his research, teaching, and books. He is the author of six books, including How the Mind Worksand The Blank Slate(both Pulitzer Prize finalists and winners of the William James Book Prize), as well as Words and Rulesand The Stuff of Thought. He is a frequent contributor to Time, The New Republic, and the New York Times.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780062011909
Subtitle:
The Ingredients of Language
Author:
Pinker, Steven
Publisher:
Harper Perennial
Subject:
General
Subject:
General Language Arts & Disciplines
Subject:
Linguistics - General
Edition Description:
Trade PB
Series:
P.S.
Publication Date:
20110308
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
384
Dimensions:
7.625 x 5.125 in 6.88 oz

Other books you might like

  1. The Sharper Your Knife, the Less You... Used Trade Paper $4.95
  2. Th1rteen R3asons Why Used Trade Paper $7.00
  3. Knocking on Heaven's Door: How...
    Used Hardcover $9.95
  4. The Stuff of Thought: Language as a...
    Used Hardcover $9.95
  5. How the Mind Works Used Trade Paper $5.50
  6. Zone One Used Trade Paper $10.50

Related Subjects

Health and Self-Help » Psychology » Cognitive Science
History and Social Science » Linguistics » General
Reference » Science Reference » General
Reference » Words Phrases and Language

Words and Rules: The Ingredients of Language (P.S.) New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$15.99 In Stock
Product details 384 pages Harper Perennial - English 9780062011909 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , “Deliciously erudite.” —William Safire, New York Times Magazine

“A riveting detective story.” —Chicago Tribune

Steven Pinker, author of the landmark bestsellers The Language Instinct, How the Mind Works, and The Blank Slate—and one of the worlds leading cognitive scientists—and offers an eye-opening explanation of how human beings learn and use language in Words and Rules. First published in 2000, Words and Rules remains one of Pinkers most provocative and accessible books, illuminating the fascinating relationship between the brain, the mind, and the how language makes us human.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.