25 Books to Read Before You Die
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | August 6, 2014

Graham Joyce: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Graham Joyce



The Ghost in the Electric Blue Suit is set on the English coast in the hot summer of 1976, so the music in this playlist is pretty much all from the... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$18.50
List price: $26.99
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Christianity- Biblical Criticism

This title in other editions

Forged: Writing in the Name of God--Why the Bible's Authors Are Not Who We Think They Are

by

Forged: Writing in the Name of God--Why the Bible's Authors Are Not Who We Think They Are Cover

ISBN13: 9780062012616
ISBN10: 0062012614
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $18.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

It is often said, even by critical scholars whoshould know better, that “writing in the nameof another” was widely accepted in antiquity.But New York Times bestselling author Bart D.Ehrman dares to call it what it was: literaryforgery, a practice that was as scandalous then as itis today. In Forged, Ehrmans fresh and originalresearch takes readers back to the ancient world,where forgeries were used as weapons by unknownauthors to fend off attacks to their faith andestablish their church. So, if many of the books inthe Bible were not in fact written by Jesuss innercircle—but by writers living decades later, withdiffering agendas in rival communities—whatdoes that do to the authority of Scripture?

Ehrman investigates ancient sources to:

  • Reveal which New Testament books wereoutright forgeries.
  • Explain how widely forgery was practiced byearly Christian writers—and how strongly it wascondemned in the ancient world as fraudulentand illicit.

  • Expose the deception in the history of theChristian religion.

Ehrmans fascinating story of fraud and deceit isessential reading for anyone interested in the truthabout the Bible and the dubious origins ofChristianitys sacred texts.

Review:

"The evocative title tells it all and hints at the tone of sensationalism that pervades this book. Those familiar with the earlier work of Ehrman, a distinguished professor of religious studies at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, and author of more than 20 books including Misquoting Jesus, will not be surprised at the content of this one. Written in a manner accessible to nonspecialists, Ehrman argues that many books of the New Testament are not simply written by people other than the ones to whom they are attributed, but that they are deliberate forgeries. The word itself connotes scandal and crime, and it appears on nearly every page. Indeed, this book takes on an idea widely accepted by biblical scholars: that writing in someone else's name was common practice and perfectly okay in ancient times. Ehrman argues that it was not even then considered acceptable — hence, a forgery. While many readers may wish for more evidence of the charge, Ehrman's introduction to the arguments and debates among different religious communities during the first few centuries and among the early Christians themselves, though not the book's main point, is especially valuable. (Apr.)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright PWyxz LLC)

Synopsis:

Bart D. Ehrman, the New York Times bestselling author of Jesus, Interrupted and Gods Problem reveals which books in the Bibles New Testament were not passed down by Jesuss disciples, but were instead forged by other hands—and why this centuries-hidden scandal is far more significant than many scholars are willing to admit. A controversial work of historical reporting in the tradition of Elaine Pagels, Marcus Borg, and John Dominic Crossan, Ehrmans Forged delivers a stunning explication of one of the most substantial—yet least discussed—problems confronting the world of biblical scholarship.

About the Author

Bart D. Ehrman is one of the most renowned and controversial Bible scholars in the world today. A master explainer of Christian history, texts, and traditions, his work continues to drive debate among supporters and detractors alike. Ehrman is the James A. Gray Distinguished Professor of Religious Studies at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, and is the author of more than twenty books, including the New York Times bestselling Misquoting Jesus; God's Problem; Jesus, Interrupted; and Forged. Ehrman has appeared on Dateline NBC, The Daily Show with Jon Stewart, CNN, the History Channel, and top NPR programs, and he has been featured in Time, the New York Times, The New Yorker, The Washington Post, and more.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Daniel Hatch, September 24, 2011 (view all comments by Daniel Hatch)
Ehrman's latest work is an excellent introduction to the authorship of some of the more questionable books in the New Testament. The book is packed with references for further study. One of the more impressive points Ehrman makes in this book is that scholars, just like the rest of us, often believe something because they've heard it rather than because they've investigated it for themselves. Ehrman has once again delivered an interesting and thought provoking volume on biblical scholarship.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780062012616
Subtitle:
Writing in the Name of God--Why the Bible's Authors Are Not Who We Think They Are
Author:
Ehrman, Bart D
Author:
Ehrman, Bart D.
Publisher:
HarperOne
Subject:
General
Subject:
General Religion
Subject:
Biblical Studies - New Testament
Subject:
Christianity-Biblical Criticism
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Publication Date:
20110322
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
9 x 6 x 1.05 in 16.8 oz

Other books you might like

  1. The World as I See It Used Trade Paper $7.50
  2. The End of Faith: Religion, Terror &...
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  3. Letter to a Christian Nation
    Used Hardcover $6.95
  4. Why I Am Not a Christian: And Other... Used Trade Paper $7.50
  5. Don't Sleep, There Are Snakes: Life...
    Used Trade Paper $9.95
  6. God Is Not Great: How Religion...
    Used Trade Paper $7.95

Related Subjects


Reference » Writing » General
Religion » Christianity » Bibles » History and Criticism
Religion » Christianity » Bibles » Reference
Religion » Christianity » Biblical Reference » Criticism
Religion » Christianity » General
Religion » Christianity » New Testament » General
Religion » Comparative Religion » General

Forged: Writing in the Name of God--Why the Bible's Authors Are Not Who We Think They Are Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$18.50 In Stock
Product details 320 pages HarperOne - English 9780062012616 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "The evocative title tells it all and hints at the tone of sensationalism that pervades this book. Those familiar with the earlier work of Ehrman, a distinguished professor of religious studies at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, and author of more than 20 books including Misquoting Jesus, will not be surprised at the content of this one. Written in a manner accessible to nonspecialists, Ehrman argues that many books of the New Testament are not simply written by people other than the ones to whom they are attributed, but that they are deliberate forgeries. The word itself connotes scandal and crime, and it appears on nearly every page. Indeed, this book takes on an idea widely accepted by biblical scholars: that writing in someone else's name was common practice and perfectly okay in ancient times. Ehrman argues that it was not even then considered acceptable — hence, a forgery. While many readers may wish for more evidence of the charge, Ehrman's introduction to the arguments and debates among different religious communities during the first few centuries and among the early Christians themselves, though not the book's main point, is especially valuable. (Apr.)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright PWyxz LLC)
"Synopsis" by , Bart D. Ehrman, the New York Times bestselling author of Jesus, Interrupted and Gods Problem reveals which books in the Bibles New Testament were not passed down by Jesuss disciples, but were instead forged by other hands—and why this centuries-hidden scandal is far more significant than many scholars are willing to admit. A controversial work of historical reporting in the tradition of Elaine Pagels, Marcus Borg, and John Dominic Crossan, Ehrmans Forged delivers a stunning explication of one of the most substantial—yet least discussed—problems confronting the world of biblical scholarship.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.