Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | August 21, 2014

Richard Bausch: IMG Why Literature Can Save Us



Our title is, of course, a problem. "Why Literature Can Save Us." And of course the problem is one of definition: what those words mean. What is... Continue »
  1. $18.87 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Before, During, After

    Richard Bausch 9780307266262

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$24.99
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Religion Western- Christology
2 Burnside Christianity- Theology
25 Local Warehouse Christianity- General
4 Remote Warehouse Christianity- New Testament General

Simply Jesus: A New Vision of Who He Was, What He Did, and Why He Matters

by

Simply Jesus: A New Vision of Who He Was, What He Did, and Why He Matters Cover

ISBN13: 9780062084392
ISBN10: 0062084399
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

We have grown used to the battles over Jesus—whether he was human or divine, whether he could do miracles or just inspire them, whether he even existed. Much of the church defends tradition, while critics take shots at the institution and its beliefs. But what if these debates have masked the real story of Jesus? What if even Jesuss defenders have been so blinded by their focus on defending the churchs traditions that they have failed to grapple with what the New Testament really teaches?

Bible scholar, Anglican bishop, and bestselling author N. T. Wright summarizes a lifetime of study of Jesus and the New Testament in order to present for a general audience who Jesus was and is. In Simply Jesus, we are invited to hear one of our leading scholars introduce the story of the carpenters son from Nazareth as if we were hearing it for the first time.

“Jesus—the Jesus we might discover if we really looked,” explains Wright, “is larger, more disturbing, more urgent than we had ever imagined. We have successfully managed to hide behind other questions and to avoid the huge, world-shaking challenge of Jesuss central claim and achievement. It is we, the churches, who have been the real reductionists. We have reduced the kingdom of God to private piety; the victory of the cross to comfort for the conscience; Easter itself to a happy, escapist ending after a sad, dark tale. Piety, conscience, and ultimate happiness are important, but not nearly as important as Jesus himself.” As the church faces the many challenges of the twenty-first century, Wright has presented a vision of Jesus that more than meets them.

Synopsis:

In Simply Jesus, bestselling author and leading Bible scholar N.T. Wright summarizes 200 years of modern Biblical scholarship and models how Christians can best retell the story of Jesus today. In a style similar to C.S. Lewiss popular works, Wright breaks down the barriers that prevent Christians from fully engaging with the story of Jesus. For believers confronting the challenge of connecting with their faith today, and for readers of Timothy Kellers The Reason for God, Wrights Simply Jesus offers a provocative new picture of how to understand who Jesus was and how Christians should relate to him today. 

Synopsis:

“The worlds leading New Testament scholar.” —Newsweek

In the tradition of C. S. Lewiss Mere Christianity and his own classic book Simply Christian, N. T. Wright invokes 200 years of Biblical scholarship to show us how we should best retell the story of Jesus today. For believers confronting the challenge of connecting with their faith today, and for readers of Timothy Kellers The Reason for God, Wright offers a provocative new picture of how to understand who Jesus was and how we should relate to him today.

About the Author

N. T. Wright is the former bishop of Durham in the Church of England and one of the world's leading Bible scholars. He is now severing as the Chair of New Testament and Early Christianity at the School of Divinity at the University of St. Andrews; he has been featured on ABC News, Dateline, The Colbert Report, and Fresh Air. Wright is the award-winning author of The Case for the Psalms, How God Became King, Simply Jesus, After You Believe, Surprised by Hope, Simply Christian, Scripture and the Authority of God, and The Meaning of Jesus (coauthored with Marcus Borg), as well as translator for The Kingdom New Testament.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

zuniphile, January 1, 2013 (view all comments by zuniphile)
A fine work by a leading New Testament scholar on Jesus, doing exactly what the subtitle says: making Jesus intelligible in his historical context and trying to show why he matters for us today. It is the result of excellent scholarship but the reader is not burdened with footnotes and long-winded disagreements with other scholars. Although some background helps, this book is accessible to the non-specialist and is quite balanced in its interpretations.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780062084392
Author:
Wright, N T
Publisher:
HarperOne
Author:
Wright, N. T.
Subject:
General Religion
Subject:
Religion Comparative-General
Subject:
Christianity
Subject:
Christianity - General
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Publication Date:
20111031
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
256
Dimensions:
9 x 6 x 0.77 in 22.8 oz

Other books you might like

  1. The Big Book of Scandal Used Trade Paper $10.95
  2. Message Remix 2.0 Bible-MS Used Hardcover $14.95
  3. Night of the Living Dead Christian:...
    Used Trade Paper $5.95

Related Subjects

Religion » Christianity » Bible Studies » Jesus, the Gospels and Acts
Religion » Christianity » Christian Life » Spiritual Growth
Religion » Christianity » Christology
Religion » Christianity » General
Religion » Christianity » Theology » General
Religion » Comparative Religion » General

Simply Jesus: A New Vision of Who He Was, What He Did, and Why He Matters New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$24.99 In Stock
Product details 256 pages HarperOne - English 9780062084392 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , In Simply Jesus, bestselling author and leading Bible scholar N.T. Wright summarizes 200 years of modern Biblical scholarship and models how Christians can best retell the story of Jesus today. In a style similar to C.S. Lewiss popular works, Wright breaks down the barriers that prevent Christians from fully engaging with the story of Jesus. For believers confronting the challenge of connecting with their faith today, and for readers of Timothy Kellers The Reason for God, Wrights Simply Jesus offers a provocative new picture of how to understand who Jesus was and how Christians should relate to him today. 
"Synopsis" by , “The worlds leading New Testament scholar.” —Newsweek

In the tradition of C. S. Lewiss Mere Christianity and his own classic book Simply Christian, N. T. Wright invokes 200 years of Biblical scholarship to show us how we should best retell the story of Jesus today. For believers confronting the challenge of connecting with their faith today, and for readers of Timothy Kellers The Reason for God, Wright offers a provocative new picture of how to understand who Jesus was and how we should relate to him today.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.