The Good, the Bad, and the Hungry Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | July 24, 2014

Jessica Valenti: IMG Full Frontal Feminism Revisited



It is arguably the worst and best time to be a feminist. In the years since I first wrote Full Frontal Feminism, we've seen a huge cultural shift in... Continue »
  1. $11.90 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$12.50
List price: $17.99
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Beaverton Children's- Science Fiction and Fantasy

More copies of this ISBN

Other titles in the Mila 2.0 series:

Mila 2.0

by

Mila 2.0 Cover

 

 Upcoming Event

Thursday, August 14, 2014 07:00 PM
Join us for an evening of young adult fiction featuring a panel discussion with five authors. The sequel to the action-packed Reboot, Amy Tintera's Rebel (Harper Teen) is a can't-miss thrill ride, perfect for fans of James Patterson, Veronica Roth, and Marie Lu. Mila 2.0: Renegade (Katherine Tegen Books), the suspenseful, heart-wrenching follow-up to Debra Driza's Mila 2.0, will leave readers racing to turn the last page. Kasie West's On the Fence (Harper Teen) is a sweet and satisfying read about finding yourself and finding love where you least expect it. Whirlwind romance and breathtaking action continues in Shannon Messenger's Let the Storm Break (Simon Pulse), the sequel to Let the Sky Fall. In Lisa Schroeder's The Bridge from Me to You (Point), new girl Lauren and football hero Colby come together, fall apart, and build something stronger than either of them thought possible. This panel discussion will be moderated by Novel Novice.

See our full selection of signed editions from authors coming to Powell's

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Mila was living with her mother in a small Minnesota town when she discovered she was also living a lie.

She was never meant to learn the truth about her identity. She was never supposed to remember the past — that she was built in a computer science lab and programmed to do things real people would never do.

Now she has no choice but to run — from the dangerous operatives who want her terminated because she knows too much, and from a mysterious group that wants to capture her alive and unlock her advanced technology.

Evading her enemies won't help Mila escape the cruel reality of what she is and cope with everything she has had to leave behind. However, what she's becoming is beyond anyone's imagination, including her own, and that just might save her life.

A compulsively readable sci-fi thriller, Mila 2.0 is Debra Driza's bold debut and the first book in an action-filled, Bourne Identity-style trilogy.

Review:

"Mila believes she's an average 16-year-old girl who has moved to a new town following the death of her father. An accident reveals that Mila is actually an android — specifically, a super-covert robot spy developed by a shadowy government project — and her 'mother' is a scientist who stole her from the lab to save her from being destroyed after Mila developed human emotions. Hunted by both the government and an organization seeking to sell her tech to the highest bidder, Mila and her mother flee, and Mila will have to embrace both her abilities and her humanity to survive. Driza's debut is likely to hit the sweet spot for YA fans — it's SF set in the modern world with just enough romance, angst, and action to balance the improbably amazing technology. Many plot elements are laid out in this trilogy opener, but character development is skimpy. Cinematic and overly dramatic ('Why? Why even steal me in the first place if you were never really going to let me live?' Mila whispers), it's not surprising that Driza's novel is already in development as a TV series. Ages 13 — up. Agent: Taylor Martindale, Full Circle Literary. (Mar.)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

Debra Driza's MILA 2.0 is the first book in a gripping Bourne Identity-style trilogy about a girl who discovers she is actually an android.

Mila was never supposed to remember her past, or know what lurked beneath her synthetic skin. She was never meant to learn that she was "born" in a secret computer science lab and programmed with superhuman skills. But when a group of hooded men show up on her doorstep, hoping to strip her of her advanced technology, she has no choice but to run for her life. In every direction there are dangerous people, hunting her down. They will do whatever it takes to capture Mila, including hurting the people she cares about most.

Filled with secrets, action, and even romance, MILA 2.0 is perfect for readers who love sci-fi thrillers like the Partials series and I Am Number Four.

About the Author

Debra Driza is the author of MILA 2.0. She is a member of the teen lit blogging group the Bookanistas and a former practicing physical therapist who discovered that tormenting her characters was infinitely more enjoyable. These days you can find her at home in California, wrangling one husband, two kids, and an assortment of Rhodesian ridgebacks.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780062090362
Author:
Driza, Debra
Publisher:
Katherine Tegen Books
Subject:
Action & Adventure
Subject:
Children s-Adventure Stories
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Publication Date:
20130331
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 8
Language:
English
Pages:
480
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 x 1.45 in 22.8 oz
Age Level:
from 13

Other books you might like

  1. The Encyclopedia of Me New Hardcover $16.99
  2. The Raven Boys
    New Trade Paper $14.69
  3. Splintered
    Used Hardcover $12.50
  4. The Mighty Miss Malone Used Book Club Paperback $2.50
  5. The Whole Story of Half a Girl New Mass Market $6.99
  6. The Survivors New Trade Paper $9.99

Related Subjects

Children's » Action and Adventure » Adventure Stories
Children's » General
Children's » New Arrivals
Children's » Robots
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Science Fiction
Young Adult » General

Mila 2.0 Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$12.50 In Stock
Product details 480 pages Katherine Tegen Books - English 9780062090362 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Mila believes she's an average 16-year-old girl who has moved to a new town following the death of her father. An accident reveals that Mila is actually an android — specifically, a super-covert robot spy developed by a shadowy government project — and her 'mother' is a scientist who stole her from the lab to save her from being destroyed after Mila developed human emotions. Hunted by both the government and an organization seeking to sell her tech to the highest bidder, Mila and her mother flee, and Mila will have to embrace both her abilities and her humanity to survive. Driza's debut is likely to hit the sweet spot for YA fans — it's SF set in the modern world with just enough romance, angst, and action to balance the improbably amazing technology. Many plot elements are laid out in this trilogy opener, but character development is skimpy. Cinematic and overly dramatic ('Why? Why even steal me in the first place if you were never really going to let me live?' Mila whispers), it's not surprising that Driza's novel is already in development as a TV series. Ages 13 — up. Agent: Taylor Martindale, Full Circle Literary. (Mar.)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by , Debra Driza's MILA 2.0 is the first book in a gripping Bourne Identity-style trilogy about a girl who discovers she is actually an android.

Mila was never supposed to remember her past, or know what lurked beneath her synthetic skin. She was never meant to learn that she was "born" in a secret computer science lab and programmed with superhuman skills. But when a group of hooded men show up on her doorstep, hoping to strip her of her advanced technology, she has no choice but to run for her life. In every direction there are dangerous people, hunting her down. They will do whatever it takes to capture Mila, including hurting the people she cares about most.

Filled with secrets, action, and even romance, MILA 2.0 is perfect for readers who love sci-fi thrillers like the Partials series and I Am Number Four.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.