Poetry Madness
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | April 8, 2014

Shawn Donley: IMG Gabrielle Zevin: The Powells.com Interview



Gabrielle ZevinThe American Booksellers Association collects nominations from bookstores all over the country for favorite forthcoming titles. The Storied Life of... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry

    Gabrielle Zevin 9781616203214

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$9.99
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Children's Young Adult- Paranormal
1 Burnside Children's Young Adult- General
25 Local Warehouse Children's- Scary Stories
25 Remote Warehouse Children's- Scary Stories

This title in other editions

Ten

by

Ten Cover

ISBN13: 9780062118790
ISBN10: 006211879x
All Product Details

 

Staff Pick

Looking for a good fright? This book has all the hallmarks of a horror film, and a great twist at the end. McNeil gets all the details of the Puget Sound spot on, making it spooky in how familiar it feels.
Recommended by Erin D., Powells.com

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

From Possess author Gretchen McNeil comes this teen horror novel inspired by Agatha Christies And Then There Were None. Perfect for fans of Christopher Pikes Chain Letter and Lois Duncans I Know What You Did Last Summer, Ten will keep readers on the edge of their seats until the very last page!

It was supposed to be the weekend of their lives—an exclusive house party on Henry Island. Best friends Meg and Minnie are looking forward to two days of boys, booze, and fun-filled luxury. But what starts out as fun turns twisted after the discovery of a DVD with a sinister message: Vengeance is mine. And things only get worse from there.

With a storm raging outside, the teens are cut off from the outside world . . . so when a mysterious killer begins picking them off one by one, theres no escape. As the deaths become more violent and the teens turn on one another, can Meg find the killer before more people die? Or is the killer closer to her than she could ever imagine?

Synopsis:

It was supposed to be the weekend of their lives—three days on Henry Island at an exclusive house party. Best friends Meg and Minnie each have their own reasons for wanting to be there, which involve their school's most eligible bachelor, T.J. Fletcher, and look forward to three glorious days of boys, bonding, and fun-filled luxury.

But what they expect is definitely not what they get. Suddenly, people are dying, and with a storm raging outside, the teens are cut off from the rest of the world. No electricity, no phones, no internet, and a ferry that isn't scheduled to return for days. As the deaths become more violent and the teens turn on one another, can Meg find the killer before more people die? Or is the killer closer to her than she ever imagined?

About the Author

Gretchen McNeil is the author of Ten and Possess. She is also a former coloratura soprano, is the voice of Mary on G4's Code Monkeys, and currently sings with the L.A.-based circus troupe Cirque Berzerk. She is a founding member of vlog group the YARebels—where she can be seen as "Monday"—and is an active member of the Enchanted Inkpot, a group blog of YA and middle-grade fantasy writers.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Cayden W, December 15, 2013 (view all comments by Cayden W)
Ten teenagers are on an island that is completely isolated from the rest of the world. To them, it sounds like a perfect weekend. However, the unexpecting teens are dying one by one. As the deaths become more violent, the teens start blaming each other. With extremely gripping twists and turns, Meg, the main character, tries to track down the killer.
I loved this book because it was gripping and it was very hard to keep from reading. Ten was also complicated, yet I could still understand it. The author, Gretchen McNeil, includes details that are so vivid, I can see the story in my head. I would recommend this book to someone who likes fast moving, gripping, horror books or movies. I would also recommend this book to someone who wants a good scare.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780062118790
Author:
Mcneil, Gretchen
Publisher:
Balzer + Bray
Subject:
Horror & Ghost Stories
Subject:
Children s-Scary Stories
Edition Description:
Paperback
Publication Date:
20130917
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
from 8
Language:
English
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
8 x 5.3125 x 0.720721 in 10.4 oz
Age Level:
from 13

Other books you might like

  1. Mink River
    Used Trade Paper $10.00
  2. Last Go Round Used Trade Paper $9.00
  3. Sometimes a Great Notion
    Used Mass Market $2.95

Related Subjects

Children's » General
Children's » Scary Stories » General
Young Adult » Fiction » Paranormal
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Friendship
Young Adult » General

Ten New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$9.99 In Stock
Product details 320 pages Balzer & Bray/Harperteen - English 9780062118790 Reviews:
"Staff Pick" by ,

Looking for a good fright? This book has all the hallmarks of a horror film, and a great twist at the end. McNeil gets all the details of the Puget Sound spot on, making it spooky in how familiar it feels.

"Synopsis" by , It was supposed to be the weekend of their lives—three days on Henry Island at an exclusive house party. Best friends Meg and Minnie each have their own reasons for wanting to be there, which involve their school's most eligible bachelor, T.J. Fletcher, and look forward to three glorious days of boys, bonding, and fun-filled luxury.

But what they expect is definitely not what they get. Suddenly, people are dying, and with a storm raging outside, the teens are cut off from the rest of the world. No electricity, no phones, no internet, and a ferry that isn't scheduled to return for days. As the deaths become more violent and the teens turn on one another, can Meg find the killer before more people die? Or is the killer closer to her than she ever imagined?

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.