Brain Candy Sale

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores

    Recently Viewed clear list

    Contributors | September 15, 2015

    Mary Karr: IMG Memoir Tutorials with Mary Karr, Lena Dunham, and Gary Shteyngart

    Editor's note: It's been 20 years since the groundbreaking memoir The Liars' Club sent Mary Karr into the literary spotlight with its phenomenal... Continue »
    1. $17.49 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      The Art of Memoir

      Mary Karr 9780062223067

Qualifying orders ship free.
List price: $15.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Child Care and Parenting- Pregnancy and Birth
3 Burnside Child Care and Parenting- Midwifery
2 Burnside Child Care and Parenting- Pregnancy and Birth
2 Hawthorne Child Care and Parenting- Midwifery and Breastfeeding

More copies of this ISBN

Call the Midwife #03: Call the Midwife, Volume 3: Farewell to the East End


Call the Midwife #03: Call the Midwife, Volume 3: Farewell to the East End Cover


Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The last book in the trilogy begun by Jennifer Worth's New York Times bestseller and the basis for the PBS series Call the Midwife

When twenty-two-year-old Jennifer Worth, from a comfortable middle-class upbringing, went to work as a midwife in the poorest section of postwar London, she not only delivered hundreds of babies and touched many lives, she also became the neighborhood's most vivid chronicler. Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End is the last book in Worth's memoir trilogy, which the Times Literary Supplement described as "powerful stories with sweet charm and controlled outrage" in the face of dire circumstances.

Here, at last, is the full story of Chummy's delightful courtship and wedding. We also meet Megan'mave, identical twins who share a browbeaten husband, and return to Sister Monica Joan, who is in top eccentric form. As in Worth's first two books, Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times and Call the Midwife: Shadows of the Workhouse, the vividly portrayed denizens of a postwar East End contend with the trials of extreme poverty—unsanitary conditions, hunger, and disease—and find surprising ways to thrive in their tightly knit community.

A rich portrait of a bygone era of comradeship and midwifery populated by unforgettable characters, Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End will appeal to readers of Frank McCourt, Katherine Boo, and James Herriot, as well as to the fans of the acclaimed PBS show based on the trilogy.

About the Author

Jennifer Worth trained as a nurse at the Royal Berk-shire Hospital in Reading, and was later ward sister at the Elizabeth Garrett Anderson Hospital in London, then the Marie Curie Hospital, also in London. Music had always been her passion, and in 1973 she left nursing in order to study music intensively, teaching piano and singing for about twenty-five years. Jennifer died in May 2011 after a short illness, leaving her husband, Philip; two daughters; and three grandchildren. Her books have all been bestsellers in England.

Product Details

Worth, Jennifer
Biography - General
Edition Description:
Trade PB
Publication Date:
8 x 5.3125 in 10.4 oz

Other books you might like

  1. Far from the Tree: Parents, Children...
    Sale Trade Paper $10.98
  2. The Diving Bell and the Butterfly: A...
    Used Trade Paper $3.50
  3. Still Points North: One Alaskan... Used Hardcover $14.00
  4. Over my head :a doctor's own story...
    Used Hardcover $5.95
  5. Canada
    Used Trade Paper $8.95

Related Subjects

Biography » General
Biography » Medical
Biography » Women
Children's » Sale Books
Health and Self-Help » Child Care and Parenting » Midwifery
Health and Self-Help » Child Care and Parenting » Midwifery and Breastfeeding
Health and Self-Help » Child Care and Parenting » Pregnancy and Birth
History and Social Science » Gender Studies » Womens Studies

Call the Midwife #03: Call the Midwife, Volume 3: Farewell to the East End Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$10.95 In Stock
Product details 336 pages Ecco Press - English 9780062270061 Reviews:
  • back to top


Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at