The Good, the Bad, and the Hungry Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | July 22, 2014

Nick Harkaway: IMG The Florist-Assassins



The three men lit up in my mind's eye, with footnotes. They were converging on me — and on the object I was carrying — in a way that had... Continue »
  1. $18.87 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Tigerman

    Nick Harkaway 9780385352413

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$25.99
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
3 Beaverton Religion Western- Apologetics
2 Burnside Christianity- Apologetics
1 Hawthorne Christianity- General
25 Local Warehouse Christianity- General
25 Remote Warehouse Religion Western- Theology

This title in other editions

Unapologetic: Why, Despite Everything, Christianity Can Still Make Surprising Emotional Sense

by

Unapologetic: Why, Despite Everything, Christianity Can Still Make Surprising Emotional Sense Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Francis Spufford's Unapologetic is a wonderfully pugnacious defense of Christianity. Refuting critics such as Richard Dawkins, Sam Harris, and the "new atheist" crowd, Spufford, a former atheist and Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, argues that Christianity is recognizable, drawing on the deep and deeply ordinary vocabulary of human feeling, satisfying those who believe in it by offering a ruthlessly realistic account of the grown-up dignity of Christian experience.

Fans of C. S. Lewis, N. T. Wright, Marilynne Robinson, Mary Karr, Diana Butler Bass, Rob Bell, and James Martin will appreciate Spufford's crisp, lively, and abashedly defiant thesis.

Unapologetic is a book for believers who are fed up with being patronized, for non-believers curious about how faith can possibly work in the twenty-first century, and for anyone who feels there is something indefinably wrong, literalistic, anti-imaginative and intolerant about the way the atheist case is now being made.

Review:

"Unapologetic rhymes with splenetic, and that's one aspect of British writer Spufford's (Red Plenty) rhetorical tour de force, in which he not only takes on the new atheists but also the secularism of his own culture (6% of Britons regularly attend church, the author notes early on). Spufford stakes out ground for arguing the value of Christianity that is neither ontological, teleological, or any-ological. God, he asserts, is the ground of being, experienced emotionally, as one might experience Mozart's Clarinet Concerto. Having moved the boundaries of the argument, Spufford has at it, swearing, skewering, and bringing a sense of humor to bear on the question, 'Why bother to be Christian?' A gifted writer, the author is closer to the American William James, who grasped the psychological payoff of religious belief, than he is to fellow Englishman and revered Christian apologist C.S. Lewis. The rhetorical pileup is wearing at times, as are so many contemporary arguments about religion. Spufford's style is as bracing as a cup of real English breakfast tea — strong enough to satisfy believers. (Oct.)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

First published in the United Kingdom to great acclaim, Unapologetic is a wonderfully pugnacious defense of Christianity. But it isn't an argument that Christianity is true—because how could anyone know that (or indeed its opposite)? It's an argument that Christianity is recognizable, drawing on the deep and deeply ordinary vocabulary of human feeling, satisfying those who believe in it by offering a ruthlessly realistic account of the grown-up dignity of Christian experience.

Unhampered by niceness, this is a book for believers who are fed up with being patronized, for non-believers curious about how faith can possibly work in the twenty-first century, and for anyone who feels there is something indefinably wrong, literalistic, anti-imaginative, and intolerant about the way the atheist case is now being made.

About the Author

Francis Spufford, a former Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year (1997), has edited two acclaimed literary anthologies and a collection of essays about the history of technology. His first book, I May Be Some Time, won the Writers' Guild Award for Best Non-Fiction Book of 1996, the Banff Mountain Book Prize, and a Somerset Maugham Award. His second, The Child That Books Built, gave Neil Gaiman "the peculiar feeling that there was now a book I didn't need to write." His third book, Backroom Boys, was called "as nearly perfect as makes no difference" by the Daily Telegraph, and Red Plenty was one of Dwight Garner's New York Times 10 Favorite Books of 2012. Spufford is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and teaches at Goldsmiths College in London.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780062300454
Subtitle:
Why, Despite Everything, Christianity Can Still Make Surprising Emotional Sense
Author:
Spufford, Francis
Publisher:
HarperOne
Subject:
Biography-Religious
Subject:
Christianity - General
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Publication Date:
20131015
Binding:
Hardback
Language:
English
Pages:
240
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 x 0.85 in 22.8 oz

Other books you might like

  1. Matthew in the Messianic Tradition New Trade Paper $26.95
  2. A History of Black Baptists Used Trade Paper $9.95
  3. Defining Moments: The Harlem... New Trade Paper $21.25
  4. Creative Word Used Trade Paper $7.50
  5. High-Performance Sports Conditioning Used Trade Paper $14.00
  6. The Heroic Client: Doing... Used Hardcover $14.00

Related Subjects

Biography » Religious
Religion » Christianity » Apologetics
Religion » Christianity » Featured Titles
Religion » Christianity » General
Religion » Western Religions » Apologetics
Religion » Western Religions » Theology
Religion » World Religions » Religion and Science

Unapologetic: Why, Despite Everything, Christianity Can Still Make Surprising Emotional Sense New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$25.99 In Stock
Product details 240 pages HarperOne - English 9780062300454 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Unapologetic rhymes with splenetic, and that's one aspect of British writer Spufford's (Red Plenty) rhetorical tour de force, in which he not only takes on the new atheists but also the secularism of his own culture (6% of Britons regularly attend church, the author notes early on). Spufford stakes out ground for arguing the value of Christianity that is neither ontological, teleological, or any-ological. God, he asserts, is the ground of being, experienced emotionally, as one might experience Mozart's Clarinet Concerto. Having moved the boundaries of the argument, Spufford has at it, swearing, skewering, and bringing a sense of humor to bear on the question, 'Why bother to be Christian?' A gifted writer, the author is closer to the American William James, who grasped the psychological payoff of religious belief, than he is to fellow Englishman and revered Christian apologist C.S. Lewis. The rhetorical pileup is wearing at times, as are so many contemporary arguments about religion. Spufford's style is as bracing as a cup of real English breakfast tea — strong enough to satisfy believers. (Oct.)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by , First published in the United Kingdom to great acclaim, Unapologetic is a wonderfully pugnacious defense of Christianity. But it isn't an argument that Christianity is true—because how could anyone know that (or indeed its opposite)? It's an argument that Christianity is recognizable, drawing on the deep and deeply ordinary vocabulary of human feeling, satisfying those who believe in it by offering a ruthlessly realistic account of the grown-up dignity of Christian experience.

Unhampered by niceness, this is a book for believers who are fed up with being patronized, for non-believers curious about how faith can possibly work in the twenty-first century, and for anyone who feels there is something indefinably wrong, literalistic, anti-imaginative, and intolerant about the way the atheist case is now being made.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.