The Good, the Bad, and the Hungry Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | June 20, 2014

Lauren Owen: IMG The Other Vampire



It's a wild and thundery night. Inside a ramshackle old manor house, a beautiful young girl lies asleep in bed. At the window, a figure watches... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$10.50
List price: $14.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Literature- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

The From-Aways

by

The From-Aways Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Fresh talent CJ Hauser makes her literary debut with The From-Aways, an irreverent story of family, love, friendship, and lobsters, in the tradition of J. Courtney Sullivans Maine and Richard Russos Empire Falls.

Two women come to Maine in search of family, and find more love, heartbreak, and friendship, than theyd ever imagined one little fishing town could hold.

When Leah, a young New York reporter, meets Henry, she falls in love with everything about him: his freckles, green thumb, and tales of a Maine childhood. They marry quickly and Leah convinces Henry to move back to Menamon. As Leah builds a life there, reporting for The Menamon Star and vowing to be less of an emotional screw-up, the newlyweds are shocked to discover that they dont know each other nearly so well as they thought they did.

When Quinns mother dies, she tracks down the famous folk-singer father shes never known, in Menamon. Scrappy and smart-mouthed, Quinn gets a job at the local paper, an apartment above the town diner, and tries to shore up the courage to meet her father. But falling in love with her roommate, Rosie, was never part of the plan.

These two unruly womens work relationship at The Star deepens into best-friendship when they stumble onto a story that shakes sleepy Menamon—and holds damaging repercussions for Leahs husband and Quinns roommate both. As the town descends into turmoil, both women must decide what kind of lives they are willing to fight for.

Synopsis:

Two young women come to Maine looking for family and find more love, heartbreak, and friendship than they ever imagined one little fishing town could hold

About the Author

CJ Hauser's fiction has appeared in Tin House, TriQuarterly, The Kenyon Review, Third Coast, SLICE, and Esquire. She is the 2010 recipient of McSweeney's Amanda Davis Highwire Fiction Award, the winner of the 2012 Jaimy Gordon Prize in Fiction, and the A Room of Her Own Foundations Orlando Prize. She was also a finalist in Esquire's Short Short Fiction Competition and shortlisted for the UK's Bridport Prize.

Hauser is a Brooklyn College MFA graduate and is currently a PhD candidate in The Florida State University's Creative Writing Program. Though ever and always a New-Englander in her heart, CJ currently lives in a little white house, beneath a very mossy oak, in Tallahassee, Florida.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780062310750
Author:
Hauser, C J
Publisher:
William Morrow & Company
Author:
Hauser, C. J.
Subject:
Literature-Contemporary Women
Edition Description:
Trade PB
Publication Date:
20140531
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
368
Dimensions:
8 x 5.3125 in 10.4 oz

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Contemporary Women
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Nautical Fiction
Travel » General

The From-Aways Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$10.50 In Stock
Product details 368 pages William Morrow & Company - English 9780062310750 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Two young women come to Maine looking for family and find more love, heartbreak, and friendship than they ever imagined one little fishing town could hold
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.