This is Real Life Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | February 26, 2015

    Megan Kruse: IMG Being John: On Sorrow, Writing, and Transmigration



    November was cold that year. I dreamed of a blue snow closing around me like a fist. I was 12 and had few friends; I wore tragically misguided... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$3.50
List price: $6.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Beaverton Children's- Classics
1 Burnside Children's Middle Readers- General

Stuart Little

by

Stuart Little Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Newbery Award-winning author Richard Peck is at his very best in this fast-paced mystery adventure. Fans of The Tale of Desperaux, A Little Princess, and Stuart Little will all be captivated by this memorable story of a lovable orphan mouse on an amazing quest.

The smallest mouse in London’s Royal Mews is such a little mystery that he hasn't even a name. And who were his parents? His Aunt Marigold, Head Needlemouse, sews him a uniform and sends him off to be educated at the Royal Mews Mouse Academy. There he's called "Mouse Minor" (though it's not quite a name), and he doesn't make a success of school. Soon he's running for his life, looking high and low through the grand precincts of Buckingham Palace to find out who he is and who he might become.

Queen Victoria ought to be able to help him, if she can communicate with mice. She is all-seeing, after all, and her powers are unexplainable. But from her, Mouse Minor learns only that you do not get all your answers from the first asking. And so his voyage of self-discovery takes him onward, to strange and wonderful places.

Synopsis:

In the tradition of E. B. White and Kate DiCamillo comes the magical and moving story of a bird-like boy who longs to fly

Ten-year-old Nashville doesnt feel like he belongs with his family, in his town, or even in this world. He was hatched from an egg his father found on the sidewalk and has grown into something not quite boy and not quite bird. Despite the support of his loving parents and his adoring sister, Junebug, Nashville wishes more than anything that he could join his fellow birds up in the sky. After all, what's the point of being part bird if you can't even touch the clouds?

With an ear for language and a gift for storytelling, Michelle Cuevas will remind fans of Stuart Little and Where the Mountain Meets the Moon that anything is possible. Even flying.

Synopsis:

The adorable tale of a family of mice stowaways on an adventurous ship's journey

In the beloved tradition of The Borrowers, The Tale of Despereaux, and The Cricket in Times Square, here is an irresistible adventure story about the tiny creatures who secretly live among us humans, as only Newbery Medal winner Richard Peck could imagine it. Set on a grand cruise ship to England in 1887, this beautifully illustrated tale of a charming family of mice is full of laughs, near misses, and surprises. Multiple-award-winning author Richard Peck at his best and most playful!

About the Author

E. B. White (1899-1985) was born in Mount Vernon, New York, and graduated from Cornell University. His work appeared for many years in The New Yorkermagazine. He received the Laura Ingalls Wilder Award for his children's books Charlotte's Web, a Newbery Honor Book, and Stuart Little. The Trumpet of the Swanalso won several awards. Mr. White, the author of seventeen books of prose and poetry, was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Letters in 1973.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780064400565
ill.:
Williams, Garth,
Publisher:
HarperCollins
Author:
Cuevas, Michelle
Author:
Peck, Richard
Author:
Morstad, Julie
Author:
White, E. B.
Author:
Wh
Author:
Williams, Garth
Author:
ite, E. B.
Author:
by E. B White and Garth Williams
Location:
New York :
Subject:
Fiction
Subject:
Children's fiction
Subject:
Classics
Subject:
Action & Adventure
Subject:
Animals - Mice Hamsters Guinea Pigs etc.
Subject:
Children's 9-12 - Literature - Classics / Contemporary
Subject:
Mice
Subject:
Mice -- Fiction.
Subject:
Action & Adventure - General
Subject:
Family - General
Subject:
Childrens classics
Subject:
Animals - Birds
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Paperback
Series:
Stuart Little
Series Volume:
66-1
Publication Date:
20050201
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
from 3 to 7
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
144
Dimensions:
7.84x5.18x.37 in. .22 lbs.
Age Level:
100

Other books you might like

  1. The Mouse and the Motorcycle (Avon...
    Used Trade Paper $3.50
  2. Stuart Little 60th Anniversary... Used Trade Paper $4.50
  3. The Mouse and the Motorcycle: A J.... New Hardcover $16.99
  4. The Boxcar Children (Boxcar Children #1)
    Used Trade Paper $3.50
  5. Charlotte's Web (Trophy Newbery)
    Used Trade Paper $3.95
  6. Bridge to Terabithia
    Used Trade Paper $1.95

Related Subjects

Children's » Action and Adventure » Adventure Stories
Children's » Animals » Mice, Hamsters, Guinea Pigs, etc.
Children's » Classics » General
Children's » Middle Readers » General

Stuart Little Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$3.50 In Stock
Product details 144 pages HarperTrophy - English 9780064400565 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
In the tradition of E. B. White and Kate DiCamillo comes the magical and moving story of a bird-like boy who longs to fly

Ten-year-old Nashville doesnt feel like he belongs with his family, in his town, or even in this world. He was hatched from an egg his father found on the sidewalk and has grown into something not quite boy and not quite bird. Despite the support of his loving parents and his adoring sister, Junebug, Nashville wishes more than anything that he could join his fellow birds up in the sky. After all, what's the point of being part bird if you can't even touch the clouds?

With an ear for language and a gift for storytelling, Michelle Cuevas will remind fans of Stuart Little and Where the Mountain Meets the Moon that anything is possible. Even flying.

"Synopsis" by ,
The adorable tale of a family of mice stowaways on an adventurous ship's journey

In the beloved tradition of The Borrowers, The Tale of Despereaux, and The Cricket in Times Square, here is an irresistible adventure story about the tiny creatures who secretly live among us humans, as only Newbery Medal winner Richard Peck could imagine it. Set on a grand cruise ship to England in 1887, this beautifully illustrated tale of a charming family of mice is full of laughs, near misses, and surprises. Multiple-award-winning author Richard Peck at his best and most playful!

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.