The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 17, 2014

Merritt Tierce: IMG Has My Husband Read It?



My first novel, Love Me Back, was published on September 16. Writing the book took seven years, and along the way three chapters were published in... Continue »
  1. $16.77 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Love Me Back

    Merritt Tierce 9780385538077

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$9.95
List price: $13.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Literature- A to Z
1 Hawthorne Literature- A to Z

This title in other editions

Dusklands

by

Dusklands Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A shattering pair of novellas in the tradition of Conrad's Heart of Darkness, Dusklands probes the links between the powerful and the powerless. "Vietnam Project" is narrated by a researcher investigating the effectiveness of United States propaganda and psychological warfare in Vietnam. The question of power is also explored in "The Narrative of Jacobus Coetzee," the story of an eighteenth-century Boer frontiersman who vows revenge on the Hottentot natives because they have failed to treat him with the respect that he thinks a white man deserves.

With striking intensity, J. M. Coetzee penetrates the twilight land of obsession, charting the nature on colonization as it seeks, in 1970 as in 1760, to absorb the wilds into the Western dusklands.

About the Author

Born in Cape Town, South Africa, on February 9, 1940, John Michael Coetzee studied first at Cape Town and later at the University of Texas at Austin, where he earned a Ph.D. degree in literature. In 1972 he returned to South Africa and joined the faculty of the University of Cape Town. His works of fiction include Dusklands, Waiting for the Barbarians, which won South Africa's highest literary honor, the Central News Agency Literary Award, and the Life and Times of Michael K., for which Coetzee was awarded his first Booker Prize in 1983. He has also published a memoir, Boyhood: Scenes From a Provincial Life, and several essays collections. He has won many other literary prizes including the Lannan Award for Fiction, the Jerusalem Prize and The Irish Times International Fiction Prize. In 1999 he again won Britain's prestigious Booker Prize for Disgrace, becoming the first author to win the award twice in its 31-year history. In 2003, Coetzee was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature.

Table of Contents

Vietnam project - The narrative of Jocobus Coetzee.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780140241778
Author:
Coetzee, J. M.
Publisher:
Penguin Books
Author:
Coetzee, J. M.
Location:
London
Subject:
General
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Fiction
Subject:
South Africa
Subject:
Power (philosophy)
Subject:
Psychological fiction
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series Volume:
2161
Publication Date:
19850631
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
144
Dimensions:
7.75x5.10x.58 in. .28 lbs.
Age Level:
17-17

Other books you might like

  1. Life & Times of Michael K Used Trade Paper $7.50
  2. Age of Iron (90 Edition)
    Used Trade Paper $8.00
  3. Speak, Memory: An Autobiography... Used Trade Paper $8.95
  4. Night Frights: Thirteen Scary Stories Used Trade Paper $5.95
  5. Dinotopia Pop-up Book Used Hardcover $4.95
  6. Ramses II: Magnificence on the Nile Used Hardcover $6.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

Dusklands Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$9.95 In Stock
Product details 144 pages Penguin Books - English 9780140241778 Reviews:
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.