Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | June 20, 2014

Lisa Howorth: IMG So Many Books, So Many Writers



I'm not a bookseller, but I'm married to one, and Square Books is a family. And we all know about families and how hard it is to disassociate... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$7.95
List price: $15.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Literature- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

Life Among the Savages

by

Life Among the Savages Cover

ISBN13: 9780140267679
ISBN10: 0140267670
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $7.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Shirley Jackson, author of the classic short story The Lottery, was known for her terse, haunting prose. But the writer possessed another side, one which is delightfully exposed in this hilariously charming memoir of her family's life in rural Vermont. Fans of Please Don't Eat the Daisies, Cheaper by the Dozen, and anything Erma Bombeck ever wrote will find much to recognize in Shirley Jackson's home and neighborhood: children who won't behave, cars that won't start, furnaces that break down, a pugnacious corner bully, household help that never stays, and a patient, capable husband who remains lovingly oblivious to the many thousands of things mothers and wives accomplish every single day.

"Our house," writes Jackson, "is old, noisy, and full. When we moved into it we had two children and about five thousand books; I expect that when we finally overflow and move out again we will have perhaps twenty children and easily half a million books." Jackson's literary talents are in evidence everywhere, as is her trenchant, unsentimental wit. Yet there is no mistaking the happiness and love in these pages, which are crowded with the raucous voices of an extraordinary family living a wonderfully ordinary life.

Continuously in print since 1948, Jackson's Haunting of Hill House has been bought by Dreamworks.

Synopsis:

One of America's most celebrated writers takes you home to a family and a small town so funny and unpredictable, you'd wish it were your own. "As warm as it is hilarious and believable . . . Never has the state of domestic chaos been so perfectly illuminated".--"The New York Times Book Review".

About the Author

Shirley Jackson (1919–1965), a celebrated writer of horror, wrote many stories as well as six novels and two works of nonfiction.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

amabre, August 26, 2009 (view all comments by amabre)
I don't have children but that didn't keep me from fully appreciating this story about Jackson raising three children in the 50s. I love the way she endears her family to the reader without being sentimental. Actually, she's writes almost objectively about them. These are really quirky stories told along a timeline... Fantastic things that can only happen in real life; this is really funny at times and completely relatable although it was written over half a century ago.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(3 of 7 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780140267679
Author:
Jackson, Shirley
Publisher:
Penguin Books
Location:
New York, N.Y. :
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Biography
Subject:
American fiction (fictional works by one author)
Subject:
Authors, American -- 20th century -- Biography.
Subject:
American fiction (fictional works by one auth
Subject:
Biography-Literary
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Mass Market
Publication Date:
19971031
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
256
Dimensions:
7.94x5.06x.59 in. .49 lbs.
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. The Haunting Used Trade Paper $5.95
  2. The Haunting of Hill House
    Used Trade Paper $8.00
  3. The Lottery: And Other Stories
    Used Trade Paper $7.95
  4. We Have Always Lived in the Castle Sale Trade Paper $7.98
  5. Beyond the Chocolate War Used Hardcover $8.95

Related Subjects

Biography » Literary
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

Life Among the Savages Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$7.95 In Stock
Product details 256 pages Penguin Books - English 9780140267679 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , One of America's most celebrated writers takes you home to a family and a small town so funny and unpredictable, you'd wish it were your own. "As warm as it is hilarious and believable . . . Never has the state of domestic chaos been so perfectly illuminated".--"The New York Times Book Review".

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.