Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | September 30, 2014

    Brian Doyle: IMG The Rude Burl of Our Masks



    One day when I was 12 years old and setting off on my newspaper route after school my mom said will you stop at the doctor's and pick up something... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Hawthorne Classics- Medieval and Renaissance General

Histories of Gargantua & Pantagruel

by

Histories of Gargantua & Pantagruel Cover

ISBN13: 9780140440478
ISBN10: 014044047x
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $4.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A masterly new translation of Rabelais's robust scatalogical comedy

Parodying everyone from classic authors to his own contemporaries, the dazzling and exuberant stories of Rabelais expose human follies with mischievous and often obscene humor. Gargantua depicts a young giant who becomes a cultured Christian knight. Pantagruel portrays Gargantua's bookish son who becomes a Renaissance Socrates, divinely guided by wisdom and by his idiotic, self-loving companion, Panurge.

About the Author

Franois Rabelais (c.1483 &c.1553) was a Franciscan monk turned Benedictine at the center of the sixteenth-century humanist movement.

M. A. Screech is a fellow of All Souls College and an honorary fellow of Wolfson College, Oxford, as well as a fellow of the British Academy. He is a world-renowned Renaissance scholar who has published widely on Rabelais, Montaigne, and Erasmus.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

lukas, March 23, 2014 (view all comments by lukas)
It's rare to find a book that is both gleefully scatological and also highly intellectual. Written by a 16th century French monk, "Gargantua and Pantagruel" is a picaresque, satiric book that embraces and mocks everything from religion to humanism to epics. It's a huge, sprawling, baggy book that may lose some readers with its copious allusions (a better annotated edition would be nice), but will win them over with its exuberance, ambitious and surprisingly bawdy humor. For fans of Erasmus, Cervantes, Chaucer and Thomas More. This is where we get our word gargantuan from.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
lukas, March 23, 2014 (view all comments by lukas)
It's rare to find a book that is both gleefully scatological and also highly intellectual. Written by a 16th century French monk, "Gargantua and Pantagruel" is a picaresque, satiric book that embraces and mocks everything from religion to humanism to epics. It's a huge, sprawling, baggy book that may lose some readers with its copious allusions (a better annotated edition would be nice), but will win them over with its exuberance, ambitious and surprisingly bawdy humor. For fans of Erasmus, Cervantes, Chaucer and Thomas More. This is where we get our word gargantuan from.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780140440478
Subtitle:
The Histories of Gargantua and Pantagruel
Translator:
Cohen, J. M.
Author:
Rabelais, Francois
Author:
Screech, M. A.
Author:
Cohen, J. M.
Publisher:
Penguin Classics
Location:
Harmondsworth, Middlesex ;
Subject:
General
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Classics
Subject:
Novels and novellas
Subject:
Literature
Subject:
Continental european fiction (fictional works
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Mass Market
Series Volume:
46E
Publication Date:
19550630
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
French
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
720
Dimensions:
7.66x5.32x1.16 in. 1.01 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Book of the Courtier Used Mass Market $1.95
  2. Four Plays by Aristophanes: The... Used Trade Paper $4.95
  3. The Inferno Used Trade Paper $2.95
  4. The Aeneid (Vintage Classics) Used Trade Paper $4.95
  5. Dyskolos Used Trade Paper $1.00
  6. The Prince and the Discourses... Used Trade Paper $5.50

Related Subjects

Histories of Gargantua & Pantagruel Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.95 In Stock
Product details 720 pages Penguin Books - English 9780140440478 Reviews:
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.