Poetry Madness
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | April 6, 2015

    Mary Norris: IMG Voracious



    In the summer of 2012, I got a contract for a book about language, based on my experiences of more than 30 years as a copy editor at The New Yorker.... Continue »
    1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$2.95
List price: $9.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
3 Local Warehouse Children's Young Adult- General

A Countess Below Stairs

by

A Countess Below Stairs Cover

ISBN13: 9780142408650
ISBN10: 0142408654
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 3 left in stock at $2.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A delicious historical romance perfect for fans of Downton Abbey and Upstairs, Downstairs

After the Russian Revolution turns her world topsy-turvy, Anna, a young Russian countess, has no choice but to flee to England. Penniless, Anna hides her aristocratic background and takes a job as servant in the household of the esteemed Westerholme family, armed only with an outdated housekeeping manual and sheer determination. Desperate to keep her past a secret, Anna is nearly overwhelmed by her new duties — not to mention her instant attraction to Rupert, the handsome Earl of Westerholme. to make matters worse, Rupert appears to be falling for her as well. As their attraction grows stronger, Anna finds it more and more difficult to keep her most dearly held secrets from unraveling. And then there's the small matter of Rupert's beautiful and nasty fiancee....

Synopsis:

After the Russian revolution, Russian countess Anna flees to England and takes a job as servant in the household of the Westerholme family. Desperate to keep her past a secret, Anna is nearly overwhelmed by her new duties — not to mention her instant attraction to Rupert, the handsome Earl of Westerholme.

About the Author

Eva Ibbotson, born Maria Charlotte Michelle Wiesner (21 January 1925 - 20 October 2010), was an Austrian-born British novelist, known for her children's books. Some of her novels for adults have been successfully reissued for the young adult market in recent years. For the historical novel Journey to the River Sea (Macmillan, 2001), she won the Smarties Prize in category 9-11 years, garnered unusual commendation as runner up for the Guardian Prize, and made the Carnegie, Whitbread, and Blue Peter shortlists. She was a finalist for the 2010 Guardian Prize at the time of her death. Her last book, The Abominables, was one of eight books on the longlist for the same award in 2012.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

Pamela Barton, July 7, 2009 (view all comments by Pamela Barton)
The synopsis and publisher's comments do not describe how delightful this book was to read! I laughed out loud at some of Anna's efforts, but also took great joy in the way the author used language to tell so much with few words. This is one to keep for a second and third reading.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
jumpergirl3005, October 3, 2008 (view all comments by jumpergirl3005)
An absolutley wonderful book. It is as amazining and captivating as all her other books. It tells the tale of a fallen Russian girl whose family was driven out by the revolution. Her family had ties to the Czars family, and their maid ran off with the family jewels. Now she must work as a servent, but fall for her boss. A wonder story and a must read for every teenage girl.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(4 of 8 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780142408650
Author:
Ibbotson, Eva
Publisher:
Puffin Books
Subject:
Historical - Europe
Subject:
England
Subject:
Historical fiction
Subject:
Children s-Historical Fiction-Europe
Subject:
Love & Romance
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20070531
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 7 up to AND UP
Language:
English
Pages:
400
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 x 1.06 in 1 lb
Age Level:
09-12

Other books you might like

  1. Hardy Boys #183: Warehouse Rumble New Trade Paper $5.25
  2. Awakening (Chasing Yesterday #01)
    Used Trade Paper $2.95
  3. Pup and Hound Play Copycats (Kids... New Trade Paper $3.95
  4. Ringo Saves the Day!: A True Story... New Trade Paper $3.99
  5. The Twister Trap (Zone Books) New Trade Paper $4.95
  6. Franklin and the Stopwatch (Kids Can... New Trade Paper $3.95

Related Subjects

Children's » Historical Fiction » Europe
Fiction and Poetry » Romance » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Romance » Featured Titles
Fiction and Poetry » Romance » General
Young Adult » General

A Countess Below Stairs Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$2.95 In Stock
Product details 400 pages Puffin Books - English 9780142408650 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , After the Russian revolution, Russian countess Anna flees to England and takes a job as servant in the household of the Westerholme family. Desperate to keep her past a secret, Anna is nearly overwhelmed by her new duties — not to mention her instant attraction to Rupert, the handsome Earl of Westerholme.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.