Summer Reading B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Lists | July 16, 2015

    Annie Liontas: IMG "You Want Me to Smell My Fingers?": Five Unforgettable Greek Idioms



    The word "idiom" originates in the Greek word ídios ("one's own") and means "special feature" or "special phrasing." Idioms are peculiar because,... Continue »
    1. $18.20 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      Let Me Explain You

      Annie Liontas 9781476789088

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$2.95
List price: $9.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Local Warehouse Children's Young Adult- General

Twisted

by

Twisted Cover

ISBN13: 9780142411841
ISBN10: 0142411841
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $2.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

 
When Imogen, a sixteen-year-old black belt in Tae Kwon Do, freezes during a holdup at a local diner, the gunman is shot and killed by the police, and she blames herself for his death. Before the shooting, she believed that her black belt made her stronger than everyone else—more responsible, more capable. But now that her sense of self has been challenged, she must rebuild her life, a process that includes redefining her relationship with her family and navigating first love with the boy who was at the diner with her during the shoot-out. With action, romance, and a complex heroine, Bruised introduces a vibrant new voice to the young adult world—full of dark humor and hard truths.

Praise for Bruised

STARRED REVIEW

"Offering psychological drama and an introduction to martial-arts code of behavior, the book has a meaningful message about power, control, and the internal bruises carried by victims."

Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Her story is compelling, and readers will stick with her as new insights bring about a believable shift in her behavior…This distinctive debut will be appreciated by fans of contemporary fiction."

Kirkus Reviews

"This layered first novel explores the aftereffects of the trauma, convincingly depicting why Imogen blames herself for a situation over which she had no control. Skilton also sensitively depicts the bond and tentative romance that develops between Imogen and Ricky. The main story line about Imogens struggle to come to terms with what she did (and did not do) is nuanced and honest."

Horn Book

"This is a useful exploration of the difference between fantasy-style omnipotence and the complexity of real-life human strength."

Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"Skilton does a fine job capturing how a psychological process after trauma can take time and might manifest in unique, sometimes unexpected, ways."

VOYA Magazine

"Poignant and emotionally raw at times and humorous at others, this debut novel adeptly portrays a shattered life in the wake of an unexpected act of violence and the road back to normalcy."

School Library Journal

"Here is a writer to watch who handles complex issues with sensitivity in the vein of Deb Caletti and Sarah Dessen."

Booklist

Synopsis:

In this debut teen thriller, Tricia Farni was last seen alive the night she fought with Roswell Hart—a night Roz cant remember. Can Roz piece together the events of that night, despite the eye disease that robs her of most of her vision, in order to clear her name and find a murderer?

Synopsis:

Theres none so blind as they that wont see.

Seventeen-year-old Tricia Farnis body floated to the surface of Alaskas Birch River six months after the night she disappeared. The night Roz Hart had a fight with her. The night Roz cant remember. Roz, who struggles with macular degeneration, is used to assembling fragments to make sense of the world around her. But this time its her memory that needs piecing together—to clear her name . . . to find a murderer. This unflinchingly emotional novel is written in the powerful first-person voice of a legally blind teen who just wants to be like everyone else.

Synopsis:

“Dead girl walking,” the boys say in the halls.

“Tell us your secret,” the girls whisper, one toilet to another.

I am that girl.

I am the space between my thighs, daylight shining through.

I am the bones they want, wired on a porcelain frame.

Lia and Cassie are best friends, wintergirls frozen in matchstick bodies, competitors in a deadly contest to see who can be the skinniest. But what comes after size zero and size double-zero? When Cassie succumbs to the demons within, Lia feels she is being haunted by her friend’s restless spirit.

In her most emotionally wrenching, lyrically written book since the multiple-award-winning Speak, Laurie Halse Anderson explores Lia’s descent into the powerful vortex of anorexia, and her painful path toward recovery.

About the Author

Laurie Halse Anderson is the author of the multiple award-winning Speak, Catalyst (an ALA Top Ten Best Book for Young Adults), and the New York Times best-seller, Prom. She lives in northern New York with her husband and a lot of firewood.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 4 comments:

Kricia, June 6, 2009 (view all comments by Kricia)
Ignored and loser Tyler Miller does community service by doing Graffiti on the schol and he has a crush on his dad's boss's daughter... Read It To Find Out...

Everybody told him to be a man. Nobody Told Him How.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(4 of 8 readers found this comment helpful)
Jena, May 27, 2009 (view all comments by Jena)
More readable than Catalyst (which took a little bit of patience) but not as good as Speak, I would still recommend Twisted to any teen looking for an intense and involved reading experience. Books that are (kind of) in the same vein? Sharon Draper's Tears of a Tiger and Paul Fleischman's Whirligig.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(3 of 5 readers found this comment helpful)
Sharon Skinner, May 26, 2008 (view all comments by Sharon Skinner)
Everything I read by Laurie Halse Anderson ends up being measured against Speak, which is an excellent book. Unfortunately, in my opinion, Twisted doesn't quite measure up. I found it difficult at times to relate to and care about the protagonist, and I didn't quite believe his epiphany. However, I do think that Halse Anderson did capture a lot of the essence of teenage boy in this book.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(7 of 10 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 4 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780142411841
Author:
Anderson, Laurie
Publisher:
Speak
Author:
Ellen, Laura
Author:
Skilton, Sarah
Author:
Anderson, Laurie Halse
Author:
Asher, Jay
Subject:
Boys / Men
Subject:
Social Issues - New Experience
Subject:
Social Issues - Adolescence
Subject:
Family problems
Subject:
High schools
Subject:
Schools
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction-Adolescence
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction
Subject:
Girls & Women
Subject:
Situations / Adolescence
Subject:
General Juvenile Fiction
Subject:
Mysteries & Detective Stories
Subject:
Situations / Physical & Emotional Abuse
Subject:
Martial arts
Subject:
Thriller; Suspense; Mystery; Blindness; Murder; Special Needs
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20080531
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 7
Language:
English
Pages:
336
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 x 1 in
Age Level:
12-17

Other books you might like

  1. The Absolutely True Diary of a...
    Used Trade Paper $6.50
  2. Your Own, Sylvia: A Verse Portrait... Used Hardcover $7.95
  3. The Quillan Games (Pendragon Book 7)
    Used Hardcover $7.50
  4. Looking for Alaska Used Trade Paper $6.00
  5. Thirteen Reasons Why
    Used Hardcover $8.50
  6. Someone Like You (Reissue)
    Used Trade Paper $4.50

Related Subjects

» Children's » General
» Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Adolescence
» Young Adult » General

Twisted Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$2.95 In Stock
Product details 336 pages Puffin Books - English 9780142411841 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , In this debut teen thriller, Tricia Farni was last seen alive the night she fought with Roswell Hart—a night Roz cant remember. Can Roz piece together the events of that night, despite the eye disease that robs her of most of her vision, in order to clear her name and find a murderer?
"Synopsis" by ,

Theres none so blind as they that wont see.

Seventeen-year-old Tricia Farnis body floated to the surface of Alaskas Birch River six months after the night she disappeared. The night Roz Hart had a fight with her. The night Roz cant remember. Roz, who struggles with macular degeneration, is used to assembling fragments to make sense of the world around her. But this time its her memory that needs piecing together—to clear her name . . . to find a murderer. This unflinchingly emotional novel is written in the powerful first-person voice of a legally blind teen who just wants to be like everyone else.

"Synopsis" by ,

“Dead girl walking,” the boys say in the halls.

“Tell us your secret,” the girls whisper, one toilet to another.

I am that girl.

I am the space between my thighs, daylight shining through.

I am the bones they want, wired on a porcelain frame.

Lia and Cassie are best friends, wintergirls frozen in matchstick bodies, competitors in a deadly contest to see who can be the skinniest. But what comes after size zero and size double-zero? When Cassie succumbs to the demons within, Lia feels she is being haunted by her friend’s restless spirit.

In her most emotionally wrenching, lyrically written book since the multiple-award-winning Speak, Laurie Halse Anderson explores Lia’s descent into the powerful vortex of anorexia, and her painful path toward recovery.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.