Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | July 22, 2014

Nick Harkaway: IMG The Florist-Assassins



The three men lit up in my mind's eye, with footnotes. They were converging on me — and on the object I was carrying — in a way that had... Continue »
  1. $18.87 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Tigerman

    Nick Harkaway 9780385352413

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.95
List price: $8.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Children's Young Adult- General

The Sky Is Everywhere

by

The Sky Is Everywhere Cover

ISBN13: 9780142417805
ISBN10: 0142417807
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $4.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey's boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie's own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they are the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can't collide without the whole wide world exploding.

This remarkable debut is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block. Just as much a celebration of love as it is a portrait of loss, Lennie's struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often hilarious, and ultimately unforgettable.

Review:

"This honest, complex debut is distinguished by a dreamy California setting and poetic images that will draw readers in to Lennie's world." Publishers Weekly, starred review

Review:

"It's romantic without being gooey and tear jerking without being campy — what more could a reader want?" BCCB, starred review

Review:

"[U]nusually rich with both insight and breathless romance." Los Angeles Times

Review:

"An intimate story about coping with loss, Nelson's first novel is tender, romantic, and loaded with passion." The Horn Book

Review:

"Debut author Nelson expertly and movingly chronicles the myriad, roller-coaster emotions that follow a tragedy, including Lennie's reluctance to box up her sister's belongings and her guilt over bursts of happiness....This is a heartfelt and appealing tale. School Library Journal

Synopsis:

Lennie Walker, a 17-year-old bookworm and band geek, spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey suddenly dies, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life.

Synopsis:

Lennie plays second clarinet in the school orchestra and has always happily been second fiddle to her charismatic older sister, Bailey. Then Bailey dies suddenly, and Lennie is left at sea without her anchor. Overcome by emotion, Lennie soon finds herself torn between two boys: Bailey's boyfriend, Toby, and Joe, the charming and musically gifted new boy in town. While Toby can't see her without seeing Bailey and Joe sees her only for herself, each offers Lennie something she desperately needs. But ultimately, it's up to Lennie to find her own way toward what she really needs — without Bailey. A remarkable debut novel perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block.

About the Author

Jandy Nelson is a literary agent and a published poet. The Sky Is Everywhere is her first novel. She lives in San Francisco, California.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 3 comments:

Jillian St. John, August 24, 2013 (view all comments by Jillian St. John)
"But what if music is what eacapes when your heart breaks?" One of the most beautiful lines in a book I've read in a long time. Even for a YA book this book is absolutely amazing. I loved it so much. I felt her heart break and confusion. I have 4 sisters and I felt myself wondering howni would react of anything happened to any one of them. This is a beautifully story and I highly recommend it to any reader.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Jenjen, January 3, 2013 (view all comments by Jenjen)
I've read this book about three times, and I NEVER read books more than once! This is a must read for teenage girls.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Joelle Anthony, August 31, 2012 (view all comments by Joelle Anthony)
This is my favourite book of last year. I read it twice...once from the library, and again when I got this copy from Powells. Beautiful, lyrical, musical, hopeful, painful, and laugh-out-loud funny. Don't miss this one.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(0 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 3 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780142417805
Author:
Nelson, Jandy
Publisher:
Speak
Subject:
Love & Romance
Subject:
Performing Arts - Music
Subject:
Family - General
Subject:
Children s-General
Edition Description:
Paperback / softback
Publication Date:
20110331
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 7 up to AND UP
Language:
English
Pages:
304
Dimensions:
8.21 x 5.52 x 0.81 in 0.6 lb
Age Level:
14-17

Other books you might like

  1. The Elegance of the Hedgehog
    Used Trade Paper $8.95
  2. The Secret Scripture
    Used Trade Paper $5.50
  3. Persepolis: The Story of a Childhood
    Used Trade Paper $8.95
  4. Kafka on the Shore
    Used Book Club Paperback $6.50

Related Subjects


Children's » Featured Titles
Children's » General
Children's » Performing Arts » Music
Children's » Sale Books
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Death and Dying
Young Adult » General

The Sky Is Everywhere Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.95 In Stock
Product details 304 pages Speak - English 9780142417805 Reviews:
"Review" by , "This honest, complex debut is distinguished by a dreamy California setting and poetic images that will draw readers in to Lennie's world."
"Review" by , "It's romantic without being gooey and tear jerking without being campy — what more could a reader want?"
"Review" by , "[U]nusually rich with both insight and breathless romance."
"Review" by , "An intimate story about coping with loss, Nelson's first novel is tender, romantic, and loaded with passion."
"Review" by , "Debut author Nelson expertly and movingly chronicles the myriad, roller-coaster emotions that follow a tragedy, including Lennie's reluctance to box up her sister's belongings and her guilt over bursts of happiness....This is a heartfelt and appealing tale.
"Synopsis" by , Lennie Walker, a 17-year-old bookworm and band geek, spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey suddenly dies, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life.
"Synopsis" by , Lennie plays second clarinet in the school orchestra and has always happily been second fiddle to her charismatic older sister, Bailey. Then Bailey dies suddenly, and Lennie is left at sea without her anchor. Overcome by emotion, Lennie soon finds herself torn between two boys: Bailey's boyfriend, Toby, and Joe, the charming and musically gifted new boy in town. While Toby can't see her without seeing Bailey and Joe sees her only for herself, each offers Lennie something she desperately needs. But ultimately, it's up to Lennie to find her own way toward what she really needs — without Bailey. A remarkable debut novel perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.