Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Best Books of the Year | December 9, 2014

    Aubrey: IMG Best YA Fiction of 2014



    So what is with all the hullabaloo about young adult literature these days? Do we have John Green to blame for getting us sucked in to the tragic... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$6.99
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
4 Beaverton Children's Middle Readers- General
15 Burnside Children's Middle Readers- General
25 Local Warehouse Children's- Science Fiction and Fantasy
25 Remote Warehouse Children's- Scary Stories

Books of Elsewhere #01: The Books of Elsewhere, Volume 1: The Shadows

by

Books of Elsewhere #01: The Books of Elsewhere, Volume 1: The Shadows Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

For fans of Pseudonymous Bosch, Coraline, and Septimus Heap comes the first book in the award-winning, New York Times bestselling Books of Elsewhere series.

This house is keeping secrets . . .

When eleven-year-old Olive and her parents move into the crumbling mansion on Linden Street and find it filled with mysterious paintings, Olive knows the place is creepy—but it isnt until she encounters its three talking cats that she realizes theres something darkly magical afoot. Then Olive finds a pair of antique spectacles in a dusty drawer and discovers the most peculiar thing yet: She can travel inside the houses spooky paintings to a world thats strangely quiet . . . and eerily sinister. But in entering Elsewhere, Olive has been ensnared in a mystery darker and more dangerous than she could have imagined, confronting a power that wants to be rid of her by any means necessary. With only the cats and an unusual boy she meets in Elsewhere on her side, its up to Olive to save the house from the shadows, before the lights go out for good.

Synopsis:

From two-time Newbery honoree and Printz honoree, Gary D. Schmidt, comes a tale of high fantasy, where a peaceful civilization of a faraway planet has been besieged by a dark lord, and in a desperate attempt for survival send their most precious gift across the cosmos, hurtling past a trillion lighted stars . . . all the way into the lunchbox of Tommy Pepper, sixth grader, of Plymouth, Massachusetts.

Synopsis:

The first book in aand#160;fast-paced newand#160;historical fantasyand#160;series narrated by a daring dachshund and brimming with mad science.

Synopsis:

Welcome to the Amazing Automated Inn, home of twelve-year-old inventor Wally Kennewickett, his genius scientist parents, and hisand#160;dashing dog, Noodles. From the lightning harvester on the roof to the labs full of experiments in the dungeon, the inn is a wonderful place for a curious boy and his loyal dog to live. That is, until President Theodore Roosevelt himself calls the elder Kennewicketts away, leaving Wally and Noodles to face the evil Mesmers, horrible hypnotists bent on controlling the minds of powerful people. It seems the inn is their first stop on the way to world domination . . . and only an ingenious boy, a staff of automatons,and#160;and a brave dachshund stand in their way!

Synopsis:

The Valorim are about to fall to a dark lord when they send a necklace containing their planet across the cosmos, hurtling past a trillion stars . . . all the way into the lunchbox of Tommy Pepper, sixth grader, of Plymouth, Mass. Mourning his late mother, Tommy doesn't notice much about the chain he found, but soon he is drawing the twin suns and humming the music of a hanorah. As Tommy absorbs the art and language of the Valorim, their enemies target him. When a creature begins ransacking Plymouth in search of the chain, Tommy learns he must protect his family from villains far worse than he's ever imagined.

About the Author

A two-time Pushcart nominee for poetry, Jacqueline West lives in Red Wing, Minnesota.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780142418727
Author:
West, Jacqueline
Publisher:
Puffin Books
Author:
Hamilton, James
Author:
Wexler, Django
Author:
Schmidt, Gary D.
Author:
Hamilton, Kersten
Subject:
Horror & Ghost Stories
Subject:
Fantasy & Magic
Subject:
Children s-Science Fiction and Fantasy
Subject:
Action & Adventure
Edition Description:
Cloth
Series:
Gadgets and Gears
Series Volume:
The Books of Elsewhe
Publication Date:
20110631
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 5 up to 9
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Black-and-white illustrations
Pages:
160
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
08-12

Other books you might like

  1. Big Nate Boredom Buster (Big Nate) Used Hardcover $5.50
  2. The Return of Depression Economics...
    Used Trade Paper $3.95
  3. The Price of Civilization:... Used Hardcover $14.00
  4. The Mind's Eye (Vintage) Used Trade Paper $8.95
  5. Boomerang: Travels in the New Third...
    Used Hardcover $6.95

Related Subjects

Children's » Featured Titles
Children's » General
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Sale Books
Children's » Scary Stories » General
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General
Children's » Staff Picks
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Friendship

Books of Elsewhere #01: The Books of Elsewhere, Volume 1: The Shadows New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$6.99 In Stock
Product details 160 pages Puffin Books - English 9780142418727 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,

From two-time Newbery honoree and Printz honoree, Gary D. Schmidt, comes a tale of high fantasy, where a peaceful civilization of a faraway planet has been besieged by a dark lord, and in a desperate attempt for survival send their most precious gift across the cosmos, hurtling past a trillion lighted stars . . . all the way into the lunchbox of Tommy Pepper, sixth grader, of Plymouth, Massachusetts.

"Synopsis" by , The first book in aand#160;fast-paced newand#160;historical fantasyand#160;series narrated by a daring dachshund and brimming with mad science.
"Synopsis" by ,
Welcome to the Amazing Automated Inn, home of twelve-year-old inventor Wally Kennewickett, his genius scientist parents, and hisand#160;dashing dog, Noodles. From the lightning harvester on the roof to the labs full of experiments in the dungeon, the inn is a wonderful place for a curious boy and his loyal dog to live. That is, until President Theodore Roosevelt himself calls the elder Kennewicketts away, leaving Wally and Noodles to face the evil Mesmers, horrible hypnotists bent on controlling the minds of powerful people. It seems the inn is their first stop on the way to world domination . . . and only an ingenious boy, a staff of automatons,and#160;and a brave dachshund stand in their way!
"Synopsis" by ,
The Valorim are about to fall to a dark lord when they send a necklace containing their planet across the cosmos, hurtling past a trillion stars . . . all the way into the lunchbox of Tommy Pepper, sixth grader, of Plymouth, Mass. Mourning his late mother, Tommy doesn't notice much about the chain he found, but soon he is drawing the twin suns and humming the music of a hanorah. As Tommy absorbs the art and language of the Valorim, their enemies target him. When a creature begins ransacking Plymouth in search of the chain, Tommy learns he must protect his family from villains far worse than he's ever imagined.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.