Signed Edition Sweepstakes
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | September 2, 2014

Jill Owens: IMG David Mitchell: The Powells.com Interview



David MitchellDavid Mitchell's newest mind-bending, time-skipping novel may be his most accomplished work yet. Written in six sections, one per decade, The Bone... Continue »
  1. $21.00 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Bone Clocks

    David Mitchell 9781400065677

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$8.99
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
4 Beaverton Children's- Science Fiction and Fantasy
6 Burnside Children's Young Adult- General
25 Local Warehouse Children's- Science Fiction and Fantasy
5 Local Warehouse Children's Middle Readers- General
25 Remote Warehouse Children's- Science Fiction and Fantasy

Other titles in the Brotherband Chronicles series:

Brotherband Chronicles #01: The Outcasts

by

Brotherband Chronicles #01: The Outcasts Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

From the author of the global phenomenon Ranger's Apprentice!

They are outcasts. Hal, Stig, and the others - they are the boys the others want no part of. Skandians, as any reader of Ranger's Apprentice could tell you, are known for their size and strength. Not these boys. Yet that doesn't mean they don't have skills. And courage - which they will need every ounce of to do battle at sea against the other bands, the Wolves and the Sharks, in the ultimate race. The icy waters make for a treacherous playing field . . . especially when not everyone thinks of it as playing. John Flanagan, author of the international phenomenon Ranger's Apprentice, creates a new cast of characters to populate his world of Skandians and Araluens, a world millions of young readers around the world have come to know and admire. Full of seafaring adventures and epic battles, Book 1 of The Brotherband Chronicles is sure to thrill readers of Ranger's Apprentice while enticing a whole new generation just now discovering the books.

Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings, T.H. White’s The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon series, and George R. R. Martin’s Game of Thrones/A Song of Ice and Fire series.

Synopsis:

The fourth installment in the New York Times bestselling Brotherband series, for fans of Lord of the Rings and Game of Thrones

 

Hal and his fellow Herons have returned home to Skandia after defeating the pirate captain Zavac and reclaiming Skandia's most prized artifact, the Andomal. With their honor restored, the Herons turn to a new mission: tracking down an old rival turned bitter enemy. Tursgud—leader of the Shark Brotherband and Hal's constant opponent—has turned from a bullying youth into a pirate and slave trader. After Tursgud captures twelve Araluen villagers to sell as slaves, the Heron crew sails into action . . . with the help of one of Araluen's finest Rangers!

Synopsis:

From the author of the mega-selling Ranger's Apprentice!

 

Hal and his fellow Herons have returned home to Skandia after defeating the pirate captain Zavac and reclaiming Skandia's most prized artifact, the Andomal. With their honor restored, the Herons turn to a new mission: tracking down an old rival turned bitter enemy. Tursgud—leader of the Shark Brotherband and Hal's constant opponent—has turned from a bullying youth into a pirate and slave trader. After Tursgud captures twelve Araluen villagers to sell as slaves, the Heron crew sails into action . . . with the help of one of Araluen's finest Rangers!

In this fourth book in the Brotherband Chronicles, a new battle unfolds as old rivalries are renewed, peace treaties are put to the test, and the action builds to a pulse-pounding finale. Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkiens Lord of the Rings, T.H. Whites The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolinis Eragon series, and George R. R. Martins Game of Thrones / A Song of Ice and Fire series.

Praise for Brotherband 4: Slaves of Socorro:

"A sweeping novel of adventure, written with wit and a sure sense of storytelling." —Booklist

About the Author

John Flanagan grew up in Sydney, Australia hoping to be a writer. It wasn’t until he wrote a highly uncomplimentary poem about a senior executive at the agency he worked, however, that his talent was revealed. It turned out one of the company directors agreed with John’s assessment of the executive, and happily agreed to train John in copywriting.

After writing advertising copy for the next two decades, John teamed with an old friend to develop a television sitcom, Hey Dad!, which went on to air for eight years.

John began writing Ranger’s Apprentice for his son, Michael, ten years ago, and is still hard at work on the series. He currently lives in the suburb of Manly, Australia, with his wife. In addition to their son, they have two grown daughters and four grandsons.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780142421949
Author:
Flanagan, John
Publisher:
Puffin Books
Author:
Flanagan, John A.
Subject:
Science Fiction, Fantasy, & Magic
Subject:
Action & Adventure
Subject:
Bedtime & Dreams
Subject:
Children s-Science Fiction and Fantasy
Edition Description:
Hardback
Series:
Brotherband Chronicles
Series Volume:
9
Publication Date:
20120931
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 5
Language:
English
Pages:
432
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in 1 lb
Age Level:
from 10

Other books you might like

  1. The Warlock (Secrets of the Immortal...
    Used Hardcover $9.95
  2. The Magician (Secrets of the...
    Used Trade Paper $6.95
  3. The Enchantress (Secrets of the... Used Trade Paper $7.50
  4. Macbeth New Folger Library Used Mass Market $2.95
  5. The Inferno (Signet Classics) Used Trade Paper $4.00
  6. Night
    Used Mass Market $3.50

Related Subjects

» Children's » Action and Adventure » Adventure Stories
» Children's » Middle Readers » General
» Children's » Sale Books
» Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General
» Children's » Transportation » Boats, Ships and Underwater Craft
» Young Adult » General

Brotherband Chronicles #01: The Outcasts New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$8.99 In Stock
Product details 432 pages Puffin Books - English 9780142421949 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
The fourth installment in the New York Times bestselling Brotherband series, for fans of Lord of the Rings and Game of Thrones

 

Hal and his fellow Herons have returned home to Skandia after defeating the pirate captain Zavac and reclaiming Skandia's most prized artifact, the Andomal. With their honor restored, the Herons turn to a new mission: tracking down an old rival turned bitter enemy. Tursgud—leader of the Shark Brotherband and Hal's constant opponent—has turned from a bullying youth into a pirate and slave trader. After Tursgud captures twelve Araluen villagers to sell as slaves, the Heron crew sails into action . . . with the help of one of Araluen's finest Rangers!

"Synopsis" by ,
From the author of the mega-selling Ranger's Apprentice!

 

Hal and his fellow Herons have returned home to Skandia after defeating the pirate captain Zavac and reclaiming Skandia's most prized artifact, the Andomal. With their honor restored, the Herons turn to a new mission: tracking down an old rival turned bitter enemy. Tursgud—leader of the Shark Brotherband and Hal's constant opponent—has turned from a bullying youth into a pirate and slave trader. After Tursgud captures twelve Araluen villagers to sell as slaves, the Heron crew sails into action . . . with the help of one of Araluen's finest Rangers!

In this fourth book in the Brotherband Chronicles, a new battle unfolds as old rivalries are renewed, peace treaties are put to the test, and the action builds to a pulse-pounding finale. Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkiens Lord of the Rings, T.H. Whites The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolinis Eragon series, and George R. R. Martins Game of Thrones / A Song of Ice and Fire series.

Praise for Brotherband 4: Slaves of Socorro:

"A sweeping novel of adventure, written with wit and a sure sense of storytelling." —Booklist

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.