Mega Dose
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 30, 2014

Benjamin Parzybok: IMG A Brief History of Video Games Played by Mayors, Presidents, and Emperors



Brandon Bartlett, the fictional mayor of Portland in my novel Sherwood Nation, is addicted to playing video games. In a city he's all but lost... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$14.50
List price: $15.00
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
8 Remote Warehouse US History- General

Cotton: The Biography of a Revolutionary Fiber

by

Cotton: The Biography of a Revolutionary Fiber Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A Pollan-esque look at the truth about wheat: meal or menace?

No controversy in nutrition is bigger than wheat. While mega-sellers like Grain Brain and Wheat Belly suggest that wheat may be the new asbestos, Stephen Yafa finds that it has been wrongly demonized. His revealing book sets the record straight, breaking down the botany of the wheat plant weve hijacked for our own use, the science of nutrition and digestion, the effects of mass production on our health, and questions about gluten and fiber— all to point us towards a better, richer diet.

Wheat may be the most important food in human history, reaching from ancient times to General Mills. Yafa tours commercial factories where the needs of mass production trump the primacy of nutrition, and reports on the artisan grain revolution. From a Woodstock-like Kneading Conference to nutrition labs to a boutique bakery and pasta makers workshop in Brooklyn, he also finds that there may in fact be a perfect source of wheat-based nutrition. Its name is sourdough.

Smoothly blending science, history, biology, economics, nutrition, The Truth About Wheat gives us back our daily bread.

Synopsis:

In the tradition of Mark Kurlansky's Cod and Salt, this endlessly revealing book reminds us that the fiber we think of as ordinary is the world's most powerful cash crop, and that it has shaped the destiny of nations. Ranging from its domestication 5,500 years ago to its influence in creating Calvin Klein's empire and the Gap, Stephen Yafa's Cotton gives us an intimate look at the plant that fooled Columbus into thinking he'd reached India, that helped start the Industrial Revolution as well as the American Civil War, and that made at least one bugandmdash;the boll weevilandmdash;world famous. A sweeping chronicle of ingenuity, greed,and#160; conflict, and opportunism, Cotton offers "a barrage of fascinating information" (Los Angeles Times).

Synopsis:

Ranging from its domestication 5,500 years ago to its influence in creating fashion empires, this volume is a detailed look at the plant that fooled Columbus into thinking he'd reached India, that helped start the Industrial Revolution and the American Civil War, and made one bug--the boll weevil--world famous.

About the Author

Stephen Yafa, a novelist, playwright, and award-winning screenwriter, has written for Playboy, Details, Rolling Stone, and the San Francisco Chronicle.

Table of Contents

Preface ix

Introduction 1

1. Spun in All Directions 9

2. Star Turns 25

3. The Barber from Preston 39

4. Revolutionary Fiber 70

5. Camelot on the Merrimack 91

6. Looming Conflicts 118

7. Southern Exposure 147

8. Changing Fortunes 173

9. Two-Horse Power 202

10. Boll Weevil Blues 233

11. The Shirt on Your Back 270

12. Fields of Conflict 305

Afterword 338

Glossary 345

Notes 349

Bibliography 375

Acknowledgments 381

Index 385

Product Details

ISBN:
9780143037224
Author:
Yafa, Stephen
Publisher:
Penguin Books
Subject:
History
Subject:
United States - General
Subject:
Cotton textile industry.
Subject:
World
Subject:
Cotton textile industry -- United States.
Subject:
Cotton manufacture -- United States -- History.
Subject:
US History-General
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series Volume:
The Biography of a R
Publication Date:
20060631
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Illustrations:
16-page b/w photo insert
Pages:
272
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. The Potpourrific Great Big Grab Bag... Used Trade Paper $11.50
  2. A Field Guide to Animal Tracks... Used Trade Paper $11.00
  3. Get Fuzzy #05: Say Cheesy: A Get... Used Trade Paper $4.50
  4. Rose Is Rose Running on Alter Ego New Trade Paper $18.99
  5. Bizarre Books: A Compendium of... Used Trade Paper $4.50
  6. Funny Cryptograms New Trade Paper $6.95

Related Subjects

Business » General
Business » History and Biographies
History and Social Science » American Studies » General
History and Social Science » Economics » General
History and Social Science » US History » General
Science and Mathematics » Agriculture » Crop Science
Science and Mathematics » Agriculture » General

Cotton: The Biography of a Revolutionary Fiber New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$14.50 In Stock
Product details 272 pages Penguin Books - English 9780143037224 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,

In the tradition of Mark Kurlansky's Cod and Salt, this endlessly revealing book reminds us that the fiber we think of as ordinary is the world's most powerful cash crop, and that it has shaped the destiny of nations. Ranging from its domestication 5,500 years ago to its influence in creating Calvin Klein's empire and the Gap, Stephen Yafa's Cotton gives us an intimate look at the plant that fooled Columbus into thinking he'd reached India, that helped start the Industrial Revolution as well as the American Civil War, and that made at least one bugandmdash;the boll weevilandmdash;world famous. A sweeping chronicle of ingenuity, greed,and#160; conflict, and opportunism, Cotton offers "a barrage of fascinating information" (Los Angeles Times).

"Synopsis" by , Ranging from its domestication 5,500 years ago to its influence in creating fashion empires, this volume is a detailed look at the plant that fooled Columbus into thinking he'd reached India, that helped start the Industrial Revolution and the American Civil War, and made one bug--the boll weevil--world famous.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.