The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Powell's Q&A | September 3, 2014

Emily St. John Mandel: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Emily St. John Mandel



Describe your latest book. My new novel is called Station Eleven. It's about a traveling Shakespearean theatre company in a post-apocalyptic North... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Station Eleven

    Emily St. John Mandel 9780385353304

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$14.50
List price: $15.00
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
2 Remote Warehouse US History- General

Cotton: The Biography of a Revolutionary Fiber

by

Cotton: The Biography of a Revolutionary Fiber Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In the tradition of Mark Kurlansky's Cod and Salt, this endlessly revealing book reminds us that the fiber we think of as ordinary is the world's most powerful cash crop, and that it has shaped the destiny of nations. Ranging from its domestication 5,500 years ago to its influence in creating Calvin Klein's empire and the Gap, Stephen Yafa's Cotton gives us an intimate look at the plant that fooled Columbus into thinking he'd reached India, that helped start the Industrial Revolution as well as the American Civil War, and that made at least one bug—the boll weevil—world famous. A sweeping chronicle of ingenuity, greed,  conflict, and opportunism, Cotton offers "a barrage of fascinating information" (Los Angeles Times).

Synopsis:

Ranging from its domestication 5,500 years ago to its influence in creating fashion empires, this volume is a detailed look at the plant that fooled Columbus into thinking he'd reached India, that helped start the Industrial Revolution and the American Civil War, and made one bug--the boll weevil--world famous.

About the Author

Stephen Yafa, a novelist, playwright, and award-winning screenwriter, has written for Playboy, Details, Rolling Stone, and the San Francisco Chronicle.

Table of Contents

Preface ix

Introduction 1

1. Spun in All Directions 9

2. Star Turns 25

3. The Barber from Preston 39

4. Revolutionary Fiber 70

5. Camelot on the Merrimack 91

6. Looming Conflicts 118

7. Southern Exposure 147

8. Changing Fortunes 173

9. Two-Horse Power 202

10. Boll Weevil Blues 233

11. The Shirt on Your Back 270

12. Fields of Conflict 305

Afterword 338

Glossary 345

Notes 349

Bibliography 375

Acknowledgments 381

Index 385

Product Details

ISBN:
9780143037224
Author:
Yafa, Stephen
Publisher:
Penguin Books
Subject:
History
Subject:
United States - General
Subject:
Cotton textile industry.
Subject:
World
Subject:
Cotton textile industry -- United States.
Subject:
Cotton manufacture -- United States -- History.
Subject:
US History-General
Edition Description:
Paperback / softback
Series Volume:
The Biography of a R
Publication Date:
20060631
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Illustrations:
16-page b/w photo insert
Pages:
416
Dimensions:
7.70x5.32x.77 in. .67 lbs.
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. The Potpourrific Great Big Grab Bag... Used Trade Paper $11.50
  2. A Field Guide to Animal Tracks... Used Trade Paper $12.95
  3. Get Fuzzy #05: Say Cheesy: A Get... Used Trade Paper $4.50
  4. Rose Is Rose Running on Alter Ego New Trade Paper $18.99
  5. Don D. Nibbelink's Fearsome Folklore... New Trade Paper $12.75
  6. Bizarre Books: A Compendium of... Used Trade Paper $4.50

Related Subjects

Business » General
Business » History and Biographies
History and Social Science » American Studies » General
History and Social Science » Economics » General
History and Social Science » US History » General
Science and Mathematics » Agriculture » Crop Science
Science and Mathematics » Agriculture » General

Cotton: The Biography of a Revolutionary Fiber New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$14.50 In Stock
Product details 416 pages Penguin Books - English 9780143037224 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Ranging from its domestication 5,500 years ago to its influence in creating fashion empires, this volume is a detailed look at the plant that fooled Columbus into thinking he'd reached India, that helped start the Industrial Revolution and the American Civil War, and made one bug--the boll weevil--world famous.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.