Nonficionado Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | May 5, 2015

    Leonard Mlodinow: IMG The Fragility of Grand Discoveries



    When I was in graduate school at Berkeley I was offered a prestigious fellowship to study for a year in Germany, but I decided it would be a... Continue »
    1. $19.57 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$18.00
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
2 Remote Warehouse World History- European History General
2 Remote Warehouse Military- Naval History

More copies of this ISBN

This title in other editions

Nelson's Trafalgar: The Battle That Changed the World

by

Nelson's Trafalgar: The Battle That Changed the World Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

“A meticulous, adrenaline-filled account of the earliest days of the Continental Navy.”—New York Times Bestselling Author Laurence Bergreen

America in 1775 was on the verge of revolution—or, more likely, disastrous defeat. After Englands King George sent hundreds of ships to bottle up American harbors and prey on American shipping, John Adams of Massachusetts proposed a bold solution: The Continental Congress should raise a navy.

The idea was mad. The Royal Navy was the mightiest floating arsenal in history, and the British were confident that His Majestys warships would quickly bring the rebellious Colonials to their knees. But they were wrong. Americas sailors became formidable warriors, matching their wits, skills, and courage against the best of the British fleet. Victories led by captains such as John Barry, Nicholas Biddle, and James Nicholson gave the patriots hope, while, along the British coastline, daring raids by John Paul Jones and the “Dunkirk Pirate,” Gustavus Conyngham, sent fear throughout England. In the end, the adventures of men on both sides of the struggle contributed greatly to American independence.

Meticulously researched and masterfully told, Give Me a Fast Ship is a rousing, epic tale of war on the high seas—and the definitive history of the American Navy during the Revolutionary War.

Synopsis:

An explosive chronicle of historys greatest sea battle

In the tradition of Antony Beevors Stalingrad, Nelsons Trafalgar presents the definitive blow-by-blow account of the worlds most famous naval battle, when the British Royal Navy under Lord Horatio Nelson dealt a decisive blow to the forces of Napoleon. The Battle of Trafalgar comes boldly to life in this definitive work that re-creates those five momentous, earsplitting hours with unrivaled detail and intensity.

Synopsis:

On the Battle of Trafalgar's 200th anniversary, Adkins offers a brutally vivid, gunport-level account of the British victory that changed the world. Two photo inserts. 3 maps.

About the Author

Roy Adkins is a historian, archaeologist, and fellow of the Society of Antiquaries of London. His previous books include The Keys of Egypt.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780143037958
Author:
Adkins, Roy
Publisher:
Penguin Books
Author:
McGrath, Tim
Subject:
Military - Naval
Subject:
Military - Napoleonic Wars
Subject:
Europe - Great Britain - General
Subject:
Military - General
Subject:
Great Britain History, Naval 19th century.
Subject:
Napoleonic wars, 1800-1815
Subject:
World History-Napoleon
Subject:
Military-Naval History
Subject:
United States / Revolutionary Period (1775-1800)
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series Volume:
The Continental Navy
Publication Date:
20061131
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Two 8-page b/w inserts; b/w maps and ill
Pages:
560
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in 1.23 lb
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. The Pentagon's New Map Used Trade Paper $5.50
  2. Warriors: Portraits from the Battlefield Used Hardcover $4.95
  3. Catapult: Harry and I Build a Siege... Used Trade Paper $6.95
  4. A Savage War of Peace: Algeria...
    New Trade Paper $19.95
  5. Everyman's Library #236: Molloy,... Used Hardcover $14.00
  6. La Belle France: A Short History Used Hardcover $19.95

Related Subjects

History and Social Science » Europe » Great Britain » General History
History and Social Science » Military » Naval History
History and Social Science » World History » 1650 to Present
History and Social Science » World History » England » General
History and Social Science » World History » European History General
History and Social Science » World History » France » General

Nelson's Trafalgar: The Battle That Changed the World New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$18.00 In Stock
Product details 560 pages Penguin Books - English 9780143037958 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , An explosive chronicle of historys greatest sea battle

In the tradition of Antony Beevors Stalingrad, Nelsons Trafalgar presents the definitive blow-by-blow account of the worlds most famous naval battle, when the British Royal Navy under Lord Horatio Nelson dealt a decisive blow to the forces of Napoleon. The Battle of Trafalgar comes boldly to life in this definitive work that re-creates those five momentous, earsplitting hours with unrivaled detail and intensity.

"Synopsis" by , On the Battle of Trafalgar's 200th anniversary, Adkins offers a brutally vivid, gunport-level account of the British victory that changed the world. Two photo inserts. 3 maps.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.