Minecraft Adventures B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Q&A | August 26, 2015

    Christopher Moore: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Christopher Moore



    Note: Join us this Thursday, August 27, at Powell's Books at Cedar Hills Crossing for an author event with Christopher Moore. Describe your latest... Continue »
    1. $18.89 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      Secondhand Souls

      Christopher Moore 9780061779787

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$9.50
List price: $16.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Mystery- A to Z
3 Burnside Mystery- A to Z

This title in other editions

Never End (Chief Inspector Erik Winter Novels)

by

Never End (Chief Inspector Erik Winter Novels) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Detective Erik Winter is back, chasing a copycat murderer in a gritty procedural from one of Europe's most popular crime writers

With twelve Erik Winter novels published in countries as diverse as Italy, Norway, France, Japan, Spain, the United Kingdom, and Germany — where the series has sold more than 700,000 copies — it's only a matter of time before an American readership discovers what Europe has already declared: Åke Edwardson is a European master of the stylish and gritty crime novel.

In Never End, the second Erik Winter novel to be translated into English, a heat wave is smothering the Swedish coastal city of Gothenburg. School is out, and parks and beaches are teeming with people. But a spate of unsolved rape/murders casts a disturbing shadow on this particular summer. Chief Inspector Erik Winter, now forty-one and a father, assembles the scant but grisly details of the crimes, and begins to see an eerie connection to a five-year-old unsolved rape/murder, a case he, in typically obsessive fashion, has refused to let go cold. Has the same rapist reemerged to taunt the police and flaunt his stolen freedom, or are these copycat crimes? In the absence of any hard leads, and haunted by the case he could not solve, Winter desperately hunts for a link bridging the victims, convinced that each crime holds the key to the others. Someone knows more than they are letting on, and Winter knows they are running out of time. Never End is a chilling, moody novel replete with Hitchcockian depictions of Gothenburg's vibrant summer spaces and seamy dark corners, that will appeal to readers of George Pelecanos and Elizabeth George.

Review:

"A novel with the most exhilarating final 50 pages in recent crime fiction." Toronto Star

Review:

"Edwardson's series is as much about character interaction as it is about story, but he is no slouch at building suspense, and his ability to make the sweltering heat a kind of secondary character — as in Hitchcock's Rear Window — only adds to the tension." Booklist

Review:

"This series is a tough, smart police procedural....Edwardson is a masterful storyteller....This is crime writing at its most exciting, with great atmosphere and superb characters." The Globe and Mail, Toronto

Synopsis:

A gritty, bone-chilling masterpiece from the most acclaimed Scandinavian crime writer since Henning Mankell.

It's summer in Sweden. As the coastal city of Gothenburg suffers through a heat wave, Chief Inspector Erik Winter broods over a series of unsolved rape-murders. The crimes bear an eerie resemblance to a five-year-old case that the mercurial detective has refused to let go cold. Has the same rapist reemerged to taunt him, or is a copycat at work? And can Winter find a common thread among the victims before there are more of them? With Never End, Åke Edwardson brings American readers another installment of the smart, suspenseful, atmospheric series that has won him legions of fans all over the world.

About the Author

Åke Edwardson is one of Scandinavia’s most successful crime writers. He has won numerous awards, including the Swedish Academy of Crime Writers’ Award three times.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780143112433
Author:
Edwardson, Ake
Publisher:
Penguin Books
Translator:
Thompson, Laurie
Author:
Thompson, Laurie
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - Hard-Boiled
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - Series
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - Police Procedural
Subject:
Sweden
Subject:
Detectives - Sweden
Subject:
Mystery-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Mass Market
Series:
Chief Inspector Erik Winter Novels
Publication Date:
20070931
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
8.36x5.56x.73 in. .63 lbs.
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. Two for Texas Used Trade Paper $5.50
  2. The Rabbit Factory: A Lomax & Biggs... Used Trade Paper $6.95
  3. Find Me Used Mass Market $4.95
  4. The Ottoman Cage Used Trade Paper $8.95
  5. Homicide My Own Used Trade Paper $5.21
  6. Voices (Reykjavik Thriller)
    Used Trade Paper $8.95

Related Subjects


Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » Scandinavian Mysteries Sale

Never End (Chief Inspector Erik Winter Novels) Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$9.50 In Stock
Product details 320 pages Penguin Books - English 9780143112433 Reviews:
"Review" by , "A novel with the most exhilarating final 50 pages in recent crime fiction."
"Review" by , "Edwardson's series is as much about character interaction as it is about story, but he is no slouch at building suspense, and his ability to make the sweltering heat a kind of secondary character — as in Hitchcock's Rear Window — only adds to the tension."
"Review" by , "This series is a tough, smart police procedural....Edwardson is a masterful storyteller....This is crime writing at its most exciting, with great atmosphere and superb characters."
"Synopsis" by , A gritty, bone-chilling masterpiece from the most acclaimed Scandinavian crime writer since Henning Mankell.

It's summer in Sweden. As the coastal city of Gothenburg suffers through a heat wave, Chief Inspector Erik Winter broods over a series of unsolved rape-murders. The crimes bear an eerie resemblance to a five-year-old case that the mercurial detective has refused to let go cold. Has the same rapist reemerged to taunt him, or is a copycat at work? And can Winter find a common thread among the victims before there are more of them? With Never End, Åke Edwardson brings American readers another installment of the smart, suspenseful, atmospheric series that has won him legions of fans all over the world.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

       
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.