Poetry Madness
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | April 8, 2014

Shawn Donley: IMG Gabrielle Zevin: The Powells.com Interview



Gabrielle ZevinThe American Booksellers Association collects nominations from bookstores all over the country for favorite forthcoming titles. The Storied Life of... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry

    Gabrielle Zevin 9781616203214

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$9.95
List price: $17.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Economics- General

Nudge: Improving Decisions about Health, Wealth, and Happiness

by

Nudge: Improving Decisions about Health, Wealth, and Happiness Cover

ISBN13: 9780143115267
ISBN10: 014311526x
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $9.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

For readers of Drive, Outliers, and Daring Greatly, a counterintuitive, paradigm-shifting new take on what makes people and companies succeed

Most new products fail. So do most small businesses. And most of us, if we are honest, have experienced a major setback in our personal or professional lives. So what determines who will bounce back and follow up with a home run? If you want to succeed in business and in life, Megan McArdle argues in this hugely thought-provoking book, you have to learn how to harness the power of failure.

McArdle has been one of our most popular business bloggers for more than a decade, covering the rise and fall of some the worlds top companies and challenging us to think differently about how we live, learn, and work. Drawing on cutting-edge research in science, psychology, economics, and business, and taking insights from turnaround experts, emergency room doctors, venture capitalists, child psychologists, bankruptcy judges, and mountaineers, McArdle argues that America is unique in its willingness to let people and companies fail, but also in its determination to let them pick up after the fall. Failure is how people and businesses learn. So how do you reinvent yourself when you are down?

Dynamic and punchy, McArdle teaches us how to recognize mistakes early to channel setbacks into future success. The Up Side of Down marks the emergence of an author with her thumb on the pulse whose book just might change the way you lead your life.

Synopsis:

Citing decades of cutting-edge behavioral science research, the authors demonstrate that sensible choice architecture can successfully nudge people towards the best decisions without restricting their freedom.

Synopsis:

For fans of Malcolm Gladwellandrsquo;s Blink and Nobel Prize winner Daniel Kahnemanandrsquo;s Thinking Fast and Slow, a revelatory new look at how we make decisions

A New York Times bestseller
An Economist Best Book of the Year
A Financial Times Best Book of the Year

Nudge is about choicesandmdash;how we make them and how we can make better ones. Drawing on decades of research in the fields of behavioral science and economics, authors Richard H. Thaler and Cass R. Sunstein offer a new perspective on preventing the countless mistakes we makeandmdash;ill-advised personal investments, consumption of unhealthy foods, neglect of our natural resourcesandmdash;and show us how sensible andldquo;choice architectureandrdquo; can successfully nudge people toward the best decisions. In the tradition of The Tipping Point and Freakonomics, Nudge is straightforward, informative, and entertainingandmdash;a must-read for anyone interested in our individual and collective well-being.

Synopsis:

For fans of Malcolm Gladwells Blink and Nobel Prize winner Daniel Kahnemans Thinking Fast and Slow, a revelatory new look at how we make decisions

 

More than 750,000 copies sold

 

New York Times bestseller

An Economist Best Book of the Year

Financial Times Best Book of the Year

Nudge is about choices—how we make them and how we can make better ones. Drawing on decades of research in the fields of behavioral science and economics, authors Richard H. Thaler and Cass R. Sunstein offer a new perspective on preventing the countless mistakes we make—ill-advised personal investments, consumption of unhealthy foods, neglect of our natural resources—and show us how sensible “choice architecture” can successfully nudge people toward the best decisions. In the tradition of The Tipping Point and Freakonomics, Nudge is straightforward, informative, and entertaining—a must-read for anyone interested in our individual and collective well-being.

About the Author

Richard H. Thaler is the Ralph and Dorothy Keller Distinguished Service Professor of Behavioral Science and Economics and the director of the Center for Decision Research at the University of Chicago's Graduate School of Business.

Cass R. Sunstein is Felix Frankfurter Professor of Law at Harvard Law School.

Table of Contents

Nudge Acknowledgments

Introduction

Part I: Humans and Econs

1. Biases and Blunders

2. Resisting Temptation

3. Following the Herd

4.When Do We Need a Nudge?

5. Choice Architecture

Part II: Money

6. Save More Tomorrow

7. Naive Investing

8. Credit Markets

9. Privatizing Social Security: Smorgasbord Style

Part III: Health

10. Prescription Drugs: Part D for Daunting

11. How to Increase Organ Donations

12. Saving the Planet

Part IV: Freedom

13. Improving School Choices

14. Should Patients Be Forced to Buy Lottery Tickets?

15. Privatizing Marriage

Part V: Extensions and Objections

16. A Dozen Nudges

17. Objections

18. The Real Third Way

19. Bonus Chapter: Twenty More Nudges

Postscript: November 2008

Notes

Bibliography

Index

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

Elena Adamo, May 25, 2013 (view all comments by Elena Adamo)
Fascinating from the first few pages! This book sucks you in with offbeat examples that had me striking up conversations with everyone I came into contact with. It was practical too! Many of us have responsibilities in our work and home lives that require us to assist others in making decisions. This book lays out some of the ways that we do that so that we can be more conscientious and effective at it.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
curmudgeon, January 1, 2011 (view all comments by curmudgeon)
Good book. Keeps you talking back to it, arguing, agreeing, thinking about how you'd present its ideas to others.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780143115267
Subtitle:
Improving Decisions About Health, Wealth, and Happiness
Author:
Thaler, Richard H
Author:
Thaler, Richard H.
Author:
Sunstein, Cass R.
Author:
McArdle, Megan
Publisher:
Penguin Books
Subject:
General
Subject:
Decision Making & Problem Solving
Subject:
Sociology - General
Subject:
Consumer behavior
Subject:
Economics -- Psychological aspects.
Subject:
Making & Problem Solving
Subject:
Psychology : General
Subject:
Leadership
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20090224
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Illustrations:
b/w illustrations throughout
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in 1 lb
Age Level:
18-17

Other books you might like

  1. Sway: The Irresistible Pull of... Used Hardcover $10.95
  2. Buying In: The Secret Dialogue...
    Used Trade Paper $13.00
  3. Traffic: Why We Drive the Way We Do... Used Hardcover $5.95
  4. Predictably Irrational: The Hidden...
    Used Hardcover $9.95
  5. Animal Spirits: How Human Psychology...
    Used Hardcover $4.50
  6. Snoop: What Your Stuff Says about...
    Used Hardcover $7.95

Related Subjects


Business » Strategy
Health and Self-Help » Psychology » General
Health and Self-Help » Self-Help » General
History and Social Science » Economics » General
History and Social Science » Sociology » General

Nudge: Improving Decisions about Health, Wealth, and Happiness Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$9.95 In Stock
Product details 320 pages Penguin Books - English 9780143115267 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Citing decades of cutting-edge behavioral science research, the authors demonstrate that sensible choice architecture can successfully nudge people towards the best decisions without restricting their freedom.
"Synopsis" by ,
For fans of Malcolm Gladwellandrsquo;s Blink and Nobel Prize winner Daniel Kahnemanandrsquo;s Thinking Fast and Slow, a revelatory new look at how we make decisions

A New York Times bestseller
An Economist Best Book of the Year
A Financial Times Best Book of the Year

Nudge is about choicesandmdash;how we make them and how we can make better ones. Drawing on decades of research in the fields of behavioral science and economics, authors Richard H. Thaler and Cass R. Sunstein offer a new perspective on preventing the countless mistakes we makeandmdash;ill-advised personal investments, consumption of unhealthy foods, neglect of our natural resourcesandmdash;and show us how sensible andldquo;choice architectureandrdquo; can successfully nudge people toward the best decisions. In the tradition of The Tipping Point and Freakonomics, Nudge is straightforward, informative, and entertainingandmdash;a must-read for anyone interested in our individual and collective well-being.

"Synopsis" by ,
For fans of Malcolm Gladwells Blink and Nobel Prize winner Daniel Kahnemans Thinking Fast and Slow, a revelatory new look at how we make decisions

 

More than 750,000 copies sold

 

New York Times bestseller

An Economist Best Book of the Year

Financial Times Best Book of the Year

Nudge is about choices—how we make them and how we can make better ones. Drawing on decades of research in the fields of behavioral science and economics, authors Richard H. Thaler and Cass R. Sunstein offer a new perspective on preventing the countless mistakes we make—ill-advised personal investments, consumption of unhealthy foods, neglect of our natural resources—and show us how sensible “choice architecture” can successfully nudge people toward the best decisions. In the tradition of The Tipping Point and Freakonomics, Nudge is straightforward, informative, and entertaining—a must-read for anyone interested in our individual and collective well-being.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and eBooks — here at Powells.com.