It's Raining Books Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 18, 2014

Lin Enger: IMG Knowing vs. Knowing



On a hot July evening years ago, my Toyota Tercel overheated on a flat stretch of highway north of Cedar Rapids, Iowa. A steam geyser shot up from... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The High Divide

    Lin Enger 9781616203757

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$10.95
List price: $17.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Politics- United States Culture
3 Burnside American Studies- Culture Wars
1 Local Warehouse Politics- United States Culture

The Political Mind: A Cognitive Scientist's Guide to Your Brain and Its Politics

by

The Political Mind: A Cognitive Scientist's Guide to Your Brain and Its Politics Cover

ISBN13: 9780143115687
ISBN10: 0143115685
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In Whatas the Matter with Kansas?, Thomas Frank pointed out that a great number of Americans actually vote against their own interests. In The Political Mind, George Lakoff explains why.

As it turns out, human beings are not the rational creatures weave so long imagined ourselves to be. Ideas, morals, and values do not exist somewhere outside the body, ready to be examined and put to use. Instead, they exist quite literally inside the brainaand they take physical shape there. For example, we form particular kinds of narratives in our minds just like we form specific muscle memories such as typing or dancing, and then we fit new information into those narratives. Getting that information out of one narrative type and into anotheraor building a whole new narrative altogetheracan be as hard as learning to play the banjo. Changing your mind isnat like changing your bodyaitas the same thing.

But as long as progressive politicians and activists persist in believing that people use an objective system of reasoning to decide on their politics, the Democrats will continue to lose elections. They must wrest control of the terms of the debate from their opponents rather than accepting their frame and trying to argue within it.

This passionate, erudite, and groundbreaking book will appeal to readers of Steven Pinker and Thomas Frank. It is a fascinating read for anyone interested in how the mind works, how society works, and how they work together.

Synopsis:

The "New York Times"-bestselling author of "Don't Think of an Elephant!" explains the science behind how people make political decisions.

Synopsis:

A groundbreaking scientific examination of the way our brains understand politics from a New York Times bestselling author

One of the world 's best-known linguists and cognitive scientists, George Lakoff has a knack for making science make sense for general readers. In his new book, Lakoff spells out what cognitive science has discovered about reason, and reveals that human reason is far more interesting than we thought it was. Reason is physical, mostly unconscious, metaphorical, emotion-laden, and tied to empathy-and there are biological explanations behind our moral and political thought processes. His call for a New Enlightenment is a bold and striking challenge to the cherished beliefs not only of philosophers, but of pundits, pollsters, and political leaders. The Political Mind is a passionate, erudite, and groundbreaking book that will appeal to anyone interested in how the mind works and how we function socially and politically.

About the Author

George Lakoff is Richard and Rhoda Goldman Distinguished Professor of Cognitive Science and Linguistics at the University of California, Berkeley.

Table of Contents

The Political Mind

Preface

Introduction: Brain Change and Social Change

Part I: How the Brain Shapes the Political Mind

Chapter 1: Anna Nicole on the Brain

Chapter 2: The Political Unconscious

Chapter 3: The Brain's Role in Family Values

Chapter 4: The Brain's Role in Political Ideologies

Part II: Political Challenges for the Twenty-first-Century Mind

Chapter 5: A New Consciousness

Chapter 6: Traumatic Ideas: The War on Terror

Chapter 7: Framing Reality: Privateering

Chapter 8: Fear of Framing

Chapter 9: Confronting Stereotypes: Sons of the Welfare Queen

Chapter 10: Aim Above the Bad Apples

Chapter 11: Cognitive Policy

Chapter 12: Contested Concepts Everywhere

Part III: The Technical Is the Political

Chapter 13: Exploring the Political Brain

Chapter 14: The Problem of Self-interest

Chapter 15: The Metaphors Defining Rational Action

Chapter 16: Why Hawks Win

Chapter 17: The Brain's Language

Chapter 18: Language in the New Enlightenment

Afterword: What If It Works?

Acknowledgments

Notes

Index

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Kristina Mageau, August 19, 2012 (view all comments by Kristina Mageau)
This book starts out strong, and then spends an extraordinary amount of time reiterating the same argument rather than adding to it or making a new one. There are some interesting points in the beginning, and even in the middle. However, by the end, the book became quite dull.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(0 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780143115687
Author:
Lakoff, George
Publisher:
Penguin Books
Subject:
Political Process - General
Subject:
Government - U.S. Government
Subject:
Government - National
Subject:
Political Ideologies - Conservatism & Liberalism
Subject:
Cognitive Psychology
Subject:
Progressivism (united states politics)
Subject:
Thought and thinking
Subject:
Politics - General
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Mass Market
Publication Date:
20090631
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
8.42x5.42x.69 in. .59 lbs.
Age Level:
17-17

Other books you might like

  1. Framing the Debate: Famous...
    Used Trade Paper $7.95
  2. Leadership on the Line: Staying... Used Hardcover $18.00
  3. Metaphors We Live by
    Used Trade Paper $7.95
  4. Anne of Green Gables (Puffin Classics) Used Trade Paper $4.00
  5. Framing the Debate: Famous...
    Used Trade Paper $7.95
  6. Thinking Points: Communicating Our... Used Trade Paper $6.95

Related Subjects

Health and Self-Help » Psychology » Cognitive Science
Health and Self-Help » Psychology » General
History and Social Science » American Studies » Culture Wars
History and Social Science » Politics » General
History and Social Science » Politics » United States » Culture

The Political Mind: A Cognitive Scientist's Guide to Your Brain and Its Politics Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$10.95 In Stock
Product details 320 pages Penguin Books - English 9780143115687 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , The "New York Times"-bestselling author of "Don't Think of an Elephant!" explains the science behind how people make political decisions.
"Synopsis" by ,
A groundbreaking scientific examination of the way our brains understand politics from a New York Times bestselling author

One of the world 's best-known linguists and cognitive scientists, George Lakoff has a knack for making science make sense for general readers. In his new book, Lakoff spells out what cognitive science has discovered about reason, and reveals that human reason is far more interesting than we thought it was. Reason is physical, mostly unconscious, metaphorical, emotion-laden, and tied to empathy-and there are biological explanations behind our moral and political thought processes. His call for a New Enlightenment is a bold and striking challenge to the cherished beliefs not only of philosophers, but of pundits, pollsters, and political leaders. The Political Mind is a passionate, erudite, and groundbreaking book that will appeal to anyone interested in how the mind works and how we function socially and politically.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.