25 Books to Read Before You Die
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | August 18, 2014

Ian Leslie: IMG Empathic Curiosity



Today, we wonder anxiously if digital media is changing our brains. But if there's any time in history when our mental operations changed... Continue »
  1. $18.89 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$11.50
List price: $16.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Mystery- A to Z
2 Burnside Mystery- A to Z
1 Local Warehouse Mystery- A to Z

This title in other editions

Revelation (Matthew Shardlake Mysteries)

by

Revelation (Matthew Shardlake Mysteries) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The first three Shardlake mysteries have won over critics and readers alike. In Revelation, Sansomas newest book in the series, the year is 1543 and King Henry VIII is wooing Lady Catherine Parr, a woman sympathetic to reform, whom he wants for his sixth wifea much to the dismay of Archbishop Cranmer and the embattled Protestant faction at court. Meanwhile, Matthew Shardlake is working to defend a teenage boy, a religious fanatic who is being held in the infamous Bedlam hospital for the insane. When an old friend of Shardlakeas is murdered, he vows to bring the killer to justice. His search leads him back to Bedlam but also to Catherine Parraand the dark prophecies of the Book of Revelation. As Bishop Bonner prepares to purge London of Protestants, Shardlake, with his assistant Jack Barak, uncovers a series of horrific murders that shake them all to the core. Revelationathe strongest novel in the series to dateais sure to delight Sansomas many fans and bring him to a wider audience.

Synopsis:

The fourth book in the Shardlake mystery series takes place in 1543. When an old friend of Matthew Shardlake's is murdered, he vows to bring the killer to justice. His search leads him back to the dark prophecies of the Book of Revelation--and a series of horrific murders.

Synopsis:

The Matthew Shardlake Tudor Mystery series continues with this fourth suspenseful installment by the bestselling author of Winter in Madrid and Dominion In 1543, while Tudor England is abuzz with King Henry VIII's wooing of Lady Catherine Parr, Matthew Shardlake is working to defend a teenage boy, a religious fanatic being held in the infamous Bedlam hospital for the insane. Then, when an old friend is murdered, Shardlake's search for the killer leads him back not only to Bedlam but also to Catherine Parr-and the dark prophecies of the Book of Revelation.

Hailed as a "virtuoso performance" (The Denver Post) and "historical fiction writing at its best" (The Tampa Tribune), Revelation is a must-read for fans of Hilary Mantel, Margaret George, and Philippa Gregory.

Synopsis:

Having sunk the first ship he commanded off the coast of Ireland, Captain Matthew Quinton is determined to complete his second mission without loss of life or honor. Rebellion is stirring in the Scottish Isles, and King Charles II needs loyal officers to sail north and face the threat. But aboard His Majesty's Ship the Jupiter, the young “gentleman captain” leads a resentful crew and has but few on whom he can rely. As they approach the wild coast of Scotland, Matthew begins to learn the ropes and win the respect of his fellow officers and sailors. 

But he has other worries: a suspicion that the previous captain of the Jupiter was murdered, a feeling that several among his crew have something to hide, and a growing conviction that betrayal lies closer to home than he had thought.

About the Author

J. D. DAVIES was born in Llanelli, Carmarthenshire. Educated at Jesus College, Oxford, he is one of the foremost authorities on the seventeenth-century British navy and has written widely on the subject, most recently in Pepyss Navy: Ships, Men and Warfare, 1649–1689, winner of the Samuel Pepys Award

 

Product Details

ISBN:
9780143116240
Author:
Sansom, C J
Publisher:
Penguin Books
Author:
Davies, J. D.
Author:
Sansom, C. J.
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - General
Subject:
Historical - General
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - Historical
Subject:
Historical
Subject:
Mystery Historical
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Paperback / softback
Series:
Matthew Shardlake Mysteries
Publication Date:
20100231
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
560
Dimensions:
8 x 5.31 in
Age Level:
17-17

Other books you might like

  1. Cruel Intent
    Used Hardcover $1.95
  2. Her Royal Spyness
    Used Mass Market $4.95
  3. Murder at the Academy Awards: A Red... Used Mass Market $2.95
  4. The Given Day: A Novel
    Used Hardcover $3.50
  5. The Enchantress of Florence
    Used Trade Paper $2.50
  6. Innocent Traitor: A Novel of Lady... Used Trade Paper $2.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » Historical

Revelation (Matthew Shardlake Mysteries) Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$11.50 In Stock
Product details 560 pages Penguin Books - English 9780143116240 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , The fourth book in the Shardlake mystery series takes place in 1543. When an old friend of Matthew Shardlake's is murdered, he vows to bring the killer to justice. His search leads him back to the dark prophecies of the Book of Revelation--and a series of horrific murders.
"Synopsis" by ,

The Matthew Shardlake Tudor Mystery series continues with this fourth suspenseful installment by the bestselling author of Winter in Madrid and Dominion In 1543, while Tudor England is abuzz with King Henry VIII's wooing of Lady Catherine Parr, Matthew Shardlake is working to defend a teenage boy, a religious fanatic being held in the infamous Bedlam hospital for the insane. Then, when an old friend is murdered, Shardlake's search for the killer leads him back not only to Bedlam but also to Catherine Parr-and the dark prophecies of the Book of Revelation.

Hailed as a "virtuoso performance" (The Denver Post) and "historical fiction writing at its best" (The Tampa Tribune), Revelation is a must-read for fans of Hilary Mantel, Margaret George, and Philippa Gregory.

"Synopsis" by ,
Having sunk the first ship he commanded off the coast of Ireland, Captain Matthew Quinton is determined to complete his second mission without loss of life or honor. Rebellion is stirring in the Scottish Isles, and King Charles II needs loyal officers to sail north and face the threat. But aboard His Majesty's Ship the Jupiter, the young “gentleman captain” leads a resentful crew and has but few on whom he can rely. As they approach the wild coast of Scotland, Matthew begins to learn the ropes and win the respect of his fellow officers and sailors. 

But he has other worries: a suspicion that the previous captain of the Jupiter was murdered, a feeling that several among his crew have something to hide, and a growing conviction that betrayal lies closer to home than he had thought.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.